Select Databases
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowTracking citations is the most important feature of this scholarly interdisciplinary index (1980 - ). Arts & Humanities Search is one component of the database, Web of Science.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication and Mass Media Complete covers communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
- ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU has perpetual access to the Arts and Sciences I-XV, Hebrew Journals and Sustainability Collections.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowLINGUISTICS AND LANGUAGE BEHAVIOR ABSTRACTS, LLBA (online) provides selective access to the world's literature on language and language behavior. Corresponds to the printed index of the same name.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) is the largest and most comprehensive database covering current scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, and folklore. MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) corresponds to the printed annual bibliography of the Modern Language Association.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowA searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
Specialized Databases (Primary Sources, Grey Literature, Streaming Media, etc.)
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowEarly English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Gale Primary Sources Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowConsisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas onThe American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution.
- Gale Primary Sources Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowNineteenth Century Collections Online is a digitized collection of primary sources related to the nineteenth century. Materials within the collection consist of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Four archives are available: "British Politics and Society;" "European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection;" "Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange;" and "British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture."
- Complete List of Library DatabasesThe resources listed here have been licensed by Wayne State University for the exclusive use of WSU affiliates.
Catalog Search
Search Google Scholar
Searching Google Scholar through the library's connection provides you free access to our full-text articles.
Search Google Books
Seach WorldCat.org
Search for an item in libraries near you.
Watch this workshop video to learn more about searching for resources in Worldcat, including other language resources, and requesting through Interlibrary Loan.
Professional Organizations
Fair Use, Canvas & Reserves
Faculty can create links to a majority of online library resources in Blackboard or other instructional documents. Using permalinks is an easy way to assure student access to resources even when off campus. It is also a good way to ensure copyright compliance when using copyright protected materials.
The libraries can easily create a list of permalinks for you from your course reading list using our Permalink Request Form.
Faculty who require assistance with Canvas are encouraged to contact lmsadmin@wayne.edu. Those requiring assistance with digitization of materials or copyright concerns should contact Veronica Bielat, English Subject Specialist.
- Traditional (Print) Materials on ReserveDescribes procedure and provides online form for placing print materials on reserve.
- Traditional Reserves Request FormUse this form to request traditional print materials be placed on reserve.
Scholarly Publishing & Communication
- What Journal Editors Wish Authors Knew About Academic PublishingThis edited collection is written by journal editors who share the goal of supporting authors. Each chapter is penned by editors of a specific journal, providing that journal’s mission and purpose, an explanation of the submission and review process, and advice for authors. Chapters include a best practices section where editors describe what they wish authors knew and considered prior to submission of a manuscript to the journal.
- Calls for PapersLiterature and Humaniteis call for papers. Provided by the Department of English at the University of Pennsylvania.
- TransposeA database of peer review, co-reviewing and preprint policies relating to media coverage, licensing, versions and citation for almost 3000 journals.
- Scholarly Communications @ WSUInformation for authors, how to deposit your publication in Digital Commons, the WSU Institutional Repository, NIH information, predatory publishers, ORCHID and more.
Retired Faculty
Services available for Retired Faculty and Staff are listed below. For questions, please email Veronica Bielat or call at 313-577-4217.
BrowZine
Teaching Resources
- Teaching Resources from the MLA Style CenterFree resources include videos, interviews, and lesson plans such as "Addressing Misconceptions about Plagiarism in Writing by L2 Writers"