The Essential Pocket Guide for Clinical Nutrition

"The Essential Pocket Guide for Clinical Nutrition, Third Edition is a quick-reference guide for dietitians, students, and other health professionals actively engaged in clinical nutrition, providing them with immediate access to evidence-based information on nutritional assessment, nutrition support, and nutrition considerations for specific diseases such as cancer, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and pulmonary disease."

Handbook of Food Science and Technology 1

This book serves as a general introduction to food science and technology, based on the academic courses presented by the authors as well as their personal research experiences. The authors' main focus is on the biological and physical-chemical stabilization of food, and the quality assessment control methods and normative aspects of the subsequent processes. Presented across three parts, the authors offer a detailed account of the scientific basis and technological knowledge needed to understand agro-food transformation. From biological analyses and process engineering, through to the development of food products and biochemical and microbiological changes, the different parts cover all aspects of the control of food quality.

Evidence-Based Nutrition and Clinical Evidence of Bioactive Foods in Human Health and Disease

Evidence-Based Nutrition and Clinical Evidence of Bioactive Foods in Human Health and Disease explores a wide range of studies from clinical investigations to mechanistic research, covering the actions of bioactives on specific tissues and cells in intestinal, neurological, immunological and cardiovascular health and disease, including cancers. The book also focuses on metabolism, mechanisms of actions, tissue-specific effects, and the structure-function relationships between clinical trial, ex vivo and in vitro data. Written for nutrition researchers, clinical researchers, dieticians, and others working in and studying health-related fields, this book highlights the concepts surrounding the preventive and therapeutic impacts of bioactive foods. Presents information on the prevention of disease using bioactive compounds Consolidates the research outcome from a variety of sources on specific bioactive foods Contains coverage of bioactive lipids and lipid mediators, bioactive phytochemicals, probiotics, bioactive proteins, peptides, polysaccharides, fibers and sphingolipids

Present Knowledge in Nutrition: Volume 1: Basic Nutrition and Metabolism

Present Knowledge in Nutrition: Basic Nutrition and Metabolism, Eleventh Edition, provides an accessible, referenced source on the most current information in the broad field of nutrition. Now broken into two volumes and updated to reflect scientific advancements since the publication of the last edition, the book includes expanded coverage on basic nutrition, metabolism and clinical and applied topics. This volume provides coverage of macronutrients, vitamins, minerals and other dietary components and concludes with new approaches in nutrition science that apply to many, if not all, of the nutrients and dietary components presented throughout the reference. Advanced undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate students in nutrition, public health, medicine and related fields will find this resource useful. In addition, professionals in academia and medicine, including clinicians, dietitians, physicians, health professionals, academics and industrial and government researchers will find the content extremely useful. The book was produced in cooperation with the International Life Sciences Institute (https://ilsi.org/). Provides an accessible source of the most current, reliable and comprehensive information in the broad field of nutrition Features new chapters on topics of emerging importance, including the microbiome, eating disorders, nutrition in extreme environments, and the role of nutrition and cognition in mental status Covers topics of clinical relevance, including the role of nutrition in cancer support, ICU nutrition, supporting patients with burns, and wasting, deconditioning and hypermetabolic conditions

Food Process Engineering Principles and Data

Food Packaging: Advanced Materials, Technologies, and Innovations

IFIS Dictionary of Food Science and Technology