Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
This resource provides superior coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
Publication Date: Canton, MI: African American Publications, 2015
Chronicling 400 years of African American history, this comprehensive resource explores the past, the progress, and the present of African Americans in four volumes: 1: 400 Years of Achievement, 2: Notable Firsts, 3: Heroes and Heroines, 4: Civil Rights Feats and Facts. Use the "Search within book" feature to locate specific information.
The essays in this volume move us beyond social media. They offer critical analyses and representations of the multiplicities of Black femmes’, girls’, and women’s lived experiences. Together the chapters demonstrate how Black girl magic is embodied by four elements enacted both on- and offline: building community, challenging dehumanizing representations, increasing visibility, and offering restorative justice for violence.
This book examines how black women have identified challenges in major social institutions across history and demonstrated adaptive leadership in mobilizing people to tackle those challenges facing black communities.
In three magnificent volumes, Black Women in America, Second Edition celebrates the remarkable achievements of black women throughout history, highlights their ongoing contributions in America today, and covers the new research the first edition helped to generate.
Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers has entries on 168 African American (and some Caribbean) female authors who published works from 1746 to 2006. The coverage of literary genres is broad and makes this an important contribution to the field. Editor Page is a former assistant dean and associate professor of English. The contributors include faculty and graduate students in the fields of literature and writing as well as writers with advanced degrees. The intended audience includes advanced high-school through undergraduate students as well as graduate students and researchers in the preliminary research stages.
Exploring the impact of slavery, violence, racism, sexism, classism, and other isms on the self of the Black woman. This examination of the complexity of pain speaks to the multidimensional reality of some Black women and the necessity for a therapeutic technique that invites the fullness of the Black woman’s historical narrative. Dr. Thurmond-Malone’s work exposes hidden pain in a safe and sacred space that speaks to the deep-rooted anguish experienced through generations of Black women and invites her readers to understand the necessity for a rebirthing to occur.
A qualitative inquiry into the lives and experiences of nine African-American women during various stages of the tenure process, this book partly explores general, practical considerations such as the tenure process; requirements for tenure; and negotiating the balance among teaching, research, service, and collegiality. Yet it delves further into the statistics of African-American women faculty in the academy; issues of isolation, mentoring, and networking; African-American women faculty and the tenure process; African-American feminist thought; and racism, sexism, and the politics of singularity.
Records of the U.S. government agency established after the American Civil War (1865 to 1872). Originally charged to direct "provisions, clothing, and fuel...for the immediate and temporary shelter and supply of destitute and suffering refugees and freedmen and their wives and children," these records contain a wide range of data about the African American experience during slavery and Reconstruction,