Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Works
BEST BET for beginning your research: Oxford Music Online/Grove Music Online
Scholarly versus Popular articles
Another place to start your search for full-text articles.
Finding a Specific Article
If you are looking for a specific article and you know its Title, the Publication it appeared in and other citation information, you can enter that information into our Citation Linker to see if Wayne State has a copy of it.
A 19th Century Primary Resource for Music
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
NCCO is a digitized collection of primary sources related to the 19th century. Materials consist of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, etc.Twelve archives are available, including "British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture."
Sourcebook for Research in Music (ONLINE ACCESS AVAILABLE)
BEST BETS for finding articles: RILM and Music Index
RILM abstracts of music literature This link opens in a new window
Over 200,000 citations on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. This file is produced by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale. It includes all data from the RILM printed year 1969 to the present.
Music index. This link opens in a new window
Index of 725 international music periodicals from over 40 countries and in 23 languages. Covers all styles and genres of classical and popular music, sorted by subject and geographic location.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Helpful for Music Education students.
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Content Delivery and Interlibrary Loan
Popular Online Journals for Music Education
Library Resources for Music Analysis
For musical analysis, you can search the library catalog by the composer's name, and "criticism and interpretation".
You can also search the author's last name, and add "analysis".
Haydn: criticism and interpretation
Beethoven and analysis