Featured Book in Print
Apollo's Angels: A History of Ballet by Call Number: GV 1787 .H58 2010ISBN: 9781400060603Publication Date: 2010Located at the Undergraduate Library.
Named one of the best books of the year by numerous book reviewers.
"...From ballet's origins in the Renaissance and the codification of its basic steps and positions under France's Louis XIV (himself an avid dancer), the art form wound its way through the courts of Europe, from Paris and Milan to Vienna and St. Petersburg." --From publisher description.
Book Not at Wayne? Search the Michigan Electronic Library (MeLCat)
- MeLCatGet books quickly through this statewide network of libraries.
Search for Books @ WSU
Wayne State University Libraries have many books relevant to the study of Dance. Much of the Dance book collection is located in Purdy Kresge Library. In general, Dance books have Library of Congress call numbers ranging from
LIBRARY CALL NUMBER RANGE FOR DANCE BOOKS:
GV1580-1799.4
You can find books by searching the University Libraries online catalog, right from the Libraries' home page
Search for Online (Electronic) Books @ WSU
You can read online electronic books right from your desktop.
The library owns approximately 200 electronic books covering a variety of dance topics.
A simple way to find out which books are available online...
Do a regular library catalog search from the library's home page
at www.lib.wayne.edu and your list of results.
To the left of your results find the box titled FORMAT.
Then look at the list below it. The number of EBOOKS
will appear toward the bottom of the list, with the
exact number in parentheses.
Click on EBOOK to see the list of titles.
Search Google Books
Featured Online Book
Dancing From Past to Present: Nation, Culture, Identities by ISBN: 9780299218508Includes a variety of chapters on dance from an anthropological and ethnographical perspectives. Highlighted are dances of India, Korea, Indonesia, Tonga, Macedonia and the former Yugoslavia, New Mexico and England.
Historic EBook Collections
- Gale Primary Sources Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowConsisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas onThe American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution.
- Gale Primary Sources Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowNineteenth Century Collections Online is a digitized collection of primary sources related to the nineteenth century. Materials within the collection consist of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Four archives are available: "British Politics and Society;" "European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection;" "Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange;" and "British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture."