Dance Images
Ruth St. Denis in Radha (1906)
from the New York Public Library
Digital Gallery.
- Digital DressIn this two-year project, Wayne State University in collaboration with the Detroit Historical Museums, Henry Ford Museum & Greenfield Village, and Meadow Brook Hall created a unique, research quality web portal for increasing access to a multi-institutional collection of 5,000 digital images of men's, women's, and children's clothing and accessories representing fashion during the period of urban transformation.
- History of CostumeOver 1,300 images cover the time period from 3100 BC to the early 1990s. The collection is part of WSU's Visual Resources Collection.
- New York Public Library (NYPL) Digital Gallery"Dance in Photographs and Prints" section.
Part of the Jerome Robbins Dance Division at the Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center at Lincoln Center.
Includes digitized historical prints and photographs of dancers.
- Visual Resources Collection This link opens in a new windowThe WSU Visual Resources Collection is a combination of licensed as well as purchased images, and houses over 100,000 images relevant to the study of art, architecture, history, literature, anthropology, science and more. Includes approximately 1,200 images related to dance.
Video Resources
Doing research papers can be difficult. How do you choose a topic to research?
How do you choose which resources to use? There are so many decisions to make along the way.
The videos below lend insight into the processes involved in making good choices - whether they be academic, professional or even personal.
"THE ART OF CHOOSING" VIDEOS
Dr. Sheena Iyengar is considered an expert on the the idea of CHOICE.
What do we choose, and why and how do we choose one thing and not another,
and how do we feel about our choices?
Dr. Iyengar has written a very popular book called The Art of Choosing, and in the videos below she discusses the book's basic concepts.
In this short video (2:37), she discusses her book:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1p-QWwYMsB4
In this longer video (27:18), she speaks at a conference which features talks by the world's leading thinkers:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDq9-QxvsNU
"DANCE IN VIDEO" DATABASE
This database of online videos contains 250 dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioners of modern concert dance. Included are clasic performances from the top ballet companies, experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes, documentaries by and about leading choreographers, videos on dance training and other items covering a wide erange of 20th century dance styles. From Alexander Street Press.
Use the link below to get to the database.
Use the following links to get to individual dance videos from the famous "Dancing" series...
Wayne State Libraries Licensed Streaming Video
- Kanopy Streaming Video: DanceKanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions.
There are almost 200 videos available online for Dance. Some of the areas covered include Ballet, Traditional Dance, Choreography, Performance, and Documentary.
More Dance Videos
- Jacob's Pillow Dance InteractiveIncludes video clips of Festival artists from 1937 to today. Judith Jamison, Bill T. Jones, Savion Glover, Cynthia Gregory etc. are featured. Browse by artist, era or genre.
- Dance On: The Dance Video NetworkA new dance channel, presented via You Tube. Provides the latest dance news. Lots to see.
Music Resources
- Oxford Music Online / Grove Music This link opens in a new windowThis gateway offers access to several music reference sources, including "Grove Music Online", "Encyclopedia of Popular Music", "The Oxford Companion to Music", "The Oxford Dictionary of Music" and the "Grove Dictionary of American Music." A search of the Keyword "Dance" provides over 6,000 results.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowThis licensed database is a comprehensive collection of classical music online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues of over 75,000 tracks, including Classical music, Historical recordings, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music.While listening, users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database. Access Information: maximum of 10 simultaneous users.