Creative Commons
Creative Commons Licensed Images
- Google ImagesEnter keyword(s) for your search, then click on Tools (at top), then Usage Rights, then Creative Commons Licenses.
- PowerPoint - Video "Inserting an online image in PowerPoint and adding an attribution" by TLC ITCarlowWithin a Powerpoint presentation, open the Insert Tab, and click on Online Pictures. Search by keyword(s) for an image, and check the Creative Commons Only box.
- Flickr (Creative Commons Filter)Enter a keyword(s), then use the "Any license" dropdown menu to select "All creative commons."
- Creative Commons SearchSearch for images from within several open archives that use Creative Commons Licenses.
Other Image Repositories (Check for Creative Commons or other license statements)
- Flickr - The CommonsImages from the world's public photography archives. NOTE: Includes, but is not limited to, Creative Commons Licensed images.
- UnsplashA large collection of freely usable images. NOTE: Includes, but is not limited to, Creative Commons Licensed images.
- Wikimedia CommonsA large collection of freely usable media files. You may wish to search only Images, which can be indicated before you search. NOTE: Includes, but is not limited to, Creative Commons Licensed images.
- Photos for ClassImages for classroom and educational purposes, that include image citations. NOTE: Includes, but is not limited to, Creative Commons Licensed images.
Librarian's Statement
Please note that I am not a Copyright, or Intellectual Property Attorney; nor do I play one on TV. The information on this page is intended to provide common guidance, and is not a substitute for legal counsel. Thank you, -Karen Liston
Subject Librarian
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Citing images in MLA Citation Style (with Thanks to Veronica Bielat)
When using MLA Style 8th Ed. for citing images, you should try to include these core elements
- Author, Artist or Creator
- "Title of the item."
- Source (website) name,
- Publication or Created date Formatted as DD MMM. YEAR (example: 18 Aug. 2015,) Use n.d. if there is no date.
- Location (URL/link.)
- Accessed DD MMM YEAR (example: Accessed 1 Oct. 2017.)
Examples of citing an image in MLA style (8th Ed.)
An image found using an internet search or photograph search site
Mike Boening Photography. "Douglas MacArthur Bridge - Belle Isle". Fotor.com, n.d. http://foter.com/ff/photo/7999839743/e9061b6683/. Accessed 6 Oct. 2017.
Note: Creative Commons images should also include the Photo Credit information provided on the website directly under the image in your presentation or paper, in addition to your citation in your references page.
An image found in an e-book (like the Images of America books)
Poremba, David Lee. "The 1886 Detroit Wolverines". Baseball In Detroit, 1998. Charleston, SC: Arcadia Publishing. p. 9. Images in America.
An image found on an organizational website (such as the Library of Congress)
Detroit Publishing Company. "Water parade, Belle Isle [Park], Detroit, Mich." Library of Congress, 1908. http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/det1994020592/PP/. Accessed 31 Oct. 2017.