Research Guides: Open Textbooks/Open Educational Resources (OER): OER Repositories & Resources

Request Permalinks to Library Resources

Submit your course reading list and receive persistent, copyright compliant links for your course. Distribute the links to your students in Blackboard, via e-mail, as embedded links in your syllabus--however you choose.

If you prefer DIY, see our informational page on Creating Permalinks Wayne State Library Resources

Permalink Request Form
Click here to submit your request

Discover & Select

This Course Development Toolkit is designed to assist faculty and subject matter experts (SMEs) with finding learning materials and creating assignments as they develop or redesign courses. Designed for Excelsior University, it has lots of resources and tips to help anyone get starting with locating and adapting OER.

Course Development Toolkit (Excelsior University)

Out-of-Print Monograph Resources

Wayne Open
59 out-of-print titles from WSU Press related to Jewish and regional studies. Funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH). Full access and PDF download.
Cornell Open
A open access portal for out-of-print titles from the catalog of Cornell University Press.
Internet Archive: Books
Over 4 million digitzed books. Some books can be freely read and downloaded. Others can be borrowed and read in our online book reader, for a limited time period.

Streaming Documentaries and Films

Kanopy Streaming
(WSU licensed resource). A licensed streaming video service, available through the library system. Access to more than 26,000 films including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Education: Streaming Video
A link to the library's Education Multimedia guide page of streaming video related to Education.
EVIA Digital Archive
The EVIA (Ethnographic Video for Instruction & Analysis) Digital Archive Project is a joint effort of Indiana Univ and the U of M. A digital archive of unedited ethnographic video for use by scholars and instructors. Media in the EVIA Project consists of video collections that have been selected for inclusion by an editorial committee, and annotations have gone through a scholarly review process.

You will need to create a free account to use videos for educational purposes.
Films for Action
Films for Action catalogs over 3000 independently produced documentaries that can be watched free online. They also have films that are pay-per-view--those are easily identifiable by an amount immediately following the title.
Netflix Documentaries
Some Original educational documentaries are available for one-time educational screenings in a public environment (not for on-demand streaming in an online class).
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
More than 7,000 historic public radio and television programs available for streaming . Includes national and locally produced content.
PBS Learning Media
Searchable database of freely available streaming video from Masterpiece Theatre, Nova, American Experience and Ken Burns Collection.
POV Classroom Clips
Sets of clips from documentary films that can be streamed online or viewed in F2F classes.
POV Documentary Films
Join the American Documentary community to host your own POV screening. You will need to register and fill out an event application, and they will send you a copy of the film. After your screening, you will need to report on the event and return the film.

Note there are a limited number of titles that are NOT available for public universities.

Please sign up for your event at least one month in advance to ensure that your film arrives in a timely fashion.

Additional FREE Streaming Video sites

Annenberg/CPB Video Collection

Annenberg offers free "Video on Demand" online access to hundreds of their programs via a broadband connection. The programs focus primarily on teacher education resources. Accessible through their web site, or directly through WSU's Libary Catalog - search by title. From their web site: "Simply select a program and go to the individual program description listing and click on the icon. Free sign up required for first-time users. To hear the sound and view video, you should have Windows Media Player, DSL, a cable modem, or a LAN connection to a T1 line or greater, and have Javascript enabled. For more information, please visit our broadband FAQ."

NOTE: 154 ANNENBERG/CPB VIDEOS ARE ACCESSIBLE VIA THE WSU LIBRARY CATALOG

Frontline Online Video

"Since 1983, FRONTLINE has served as American public television's flagship public affairs series. Hailed upon its debut on PBS as "the last best hope for broadcast documentaries," FRONTLINE's stature over 25 seasons is reaffirmed each week through incisive documentaries covering the scope and complexity of the human experience." (from their web site) 70 FRONTLINE documentaries have been made available online for free viewing.

NOTE: 75 FRONTLINE VIDEOS ARE ACCESSIBLE VIA THE WSU LIBRARY CATALOG

Google Video

Television footage covering a wide range of topics.Includes some video footage and some closed caption text/images.
Search by subject. Includes videos from YouTube, as well as news sources around the world.

Intelligent Video: The Top Cultural and Educational Video Sites

A list of 35 sites that feature intelligent videos such as Academic Earth, Best Online Documentaries, Europa Film Treasures etc.

Internet Moving Image Archive

"The Internet Archive was founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format... The Moving Image Archive contains thousands of digital movies which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to videos of every genre uploaded by Archive users. Many of these movies are available for download." (from their web site)

PBS Video
Includes access to numerous classic PBS series.

PBS Independent Lens

"Airing weekly on PBS, the four-time Emmy Award-winning series Independent Lens is like an independent film festival in your living room. Each episode introduces new documentaries and dramas made by independent thinkers: filmmakers who are taking creative risks, calling their own shots and finding untold stories in unexpected places." (from their web site)

YouTube EDU videos online

Brings learners and educators together in a global video classroom. On YouTube EDU, you have access to a broad set of educational videos that range from academic lectures to inspirational speeches and everything in between. Includes lessons from top teachers around the world, course lectures from top-tier universities, or inspiring videos to spark your imagination. (from their web site)

C-SPAN Video Library
C-SPAN programs by frequently searched categories, a selection of most popular searches, some well-received "fast finds", and a look into the archive at the most popular programs (by online views) for each day of the year.

Digital Resources: Images, Graphs, Charts & More

Digital Public Library of America
An all-digital library that aggregates metadata and thumbnails for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States
Flickr Creative Commons
Use the "See More" link following each listed license to find images that can be reused in a copyright compliant way under the Creative Commons license.
Pindex
A self-funded online platform that creates and curates educational videos and infographics for teachers and students. Includes the ability to earn badges.

Data Visualization Tools for the Classroom

data Basic
DataBasic is a suite of easy-to-use web tools for beginners that introduce concepts of working with data. These simple tools make it easy to work with data in fun ways, so you can learn how to find great stories to tell.
DIY Data Art
Lesson plans and classroom activities for creating data visualizations, including a great activity using gummy bears to illustrate networks. Yum!

Online Games and Game Generators

Jeopardy!
Use this free tool to create a simple online "jeopardy" like game. Freely accessible, students do not need to create accounts to play.

Find Open Textbooks

American Institute of Mathematics
AIM presents a list of open textbooks they have reviewed and approved as quality open textbooks, for subjects ranging from Liberal Arts Math and Precalculus to Number Theory and Statistics.
CK-12 Standards Aligned K-12 Textbooks
College Open Textbooks
Criteria for Evaluating an Open Textbook
P2PU provides a set of evaluation criteria to help you begin your evaluation of an open textbook.
Global Text Project
H2O
H2O is a suite of online classroom tools developed and provided by the Berkman Center for Internet & Society in collaboration with the Harvard Law School Library. H2O allows professors to freely develop, remix, and share online textbooks under a Creative Commons BY-NC-SA license.
MERLOT Open Textbooks
Michigan State University Open Textbook Publishing
Textbooks published by MSU faculty and through open pedagogy directed student projects.
MIT OCW Online Textbooks
Noba Project
Open Educational Resources Commons Open Textbook Hub
Open Oregon State Open Textbooks
Textbooks published by OSU faculty members.
OpenStax
Open Stax, developed and maintained by Rice University, is still the gold standard in Open Textbook offerings. Focused on general education and basic business topics, all books in this collection are CC-BY, and include a low-price print purchase option for students who prefer print.
You can easily integrate OpenStax into your Canvas course using the formatted modules available in Canvas Commons. Contact Veronica Bielat for more information on integrating Open Stax into your course,
Open Textbook Library
One of the best places to get started on your search. University of Minnesota's Open Textbook Library has curated a selection of quality open textbooks, and provides faculty reviews for many of the titles.
Orange Grove Open Textbooks
Pressbooks Directory
Directory of over 5,000 Creative Commons licensed books published across 140 Pressbooks networks.
Rebus Press
Saylor Academy Open Textbooks
Search for open resources by discipline and course level.
Textbook Review Criteria from the Open Textbook Library
This interactive graphic explains the 10
criteria used to review open textbooks in the OTN Library.
WikiBooks

OER Repositories Multidisciplinary

#GoOpen Michigan
A library of OER. Much is geared to K12, but valuable resources for basic disciplinary instruction and K-12 education.
Crash Course (YouTube)
The playlists for introductory physics, astronomy and chemistry are appropriate for lower undergraduate courses. Also include topics like philosophy, psychology and world history.
HippoCampus
Create playlists of content for your own course. The User's Guide contains direct links to subjects and collections.
Khan Academy
An extensive library of content, including interactive challenges, assessments, and videos.
Mason OER Metafinder
A real-time, simultaneous search across 22* different sources of open educational materials from George Mason University.
Merlot II (Multimedia Education Resource for Learning and Online Teaching)
Merlot II is a free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services. You can search by learning material type and collection. Create an account to create your own collections in Merlot, and use the content builder to create mash-ups of existing materials for your classroom.
Michigan Colleges Online (OER Commons Hub)
A growing set of high-quality OER curated by the Michigan Community College Association and its member colleges.
OER Commons
Videos, lesson plans, texts and more. Most Creative Commons licensed. Includes resources like Khan Academy. Includes post-secondary materials.
The Orange Grove
Florida's digital repository of OER, this link takes you to the listing of Higher Education resources, searchable by discpline.
OSU ecampus OER
Listing of open textbooks, courses and learning objects.
PBS Learning Media
You will need to create a free account to use these resources. Search by subject and media type.
Teaching Commons
The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.
TEDEd Lessons
Shared repository of lesson plans created using TED Talks.
VASE: Value Sensitive Design in Higher Education
This is an open educational resource (OER) targeting teachers in design and engineering programs in higher education who aim to give their students the tools and skills to become responsible designers. It offers a collection of 28 teaching activities, 12 assessment activities and a series of inspiring case descriptions illustrating how these activities can be put into practice in the classroom. The collection is accompanied by learning outcomes structured in a curriculum compass outlining some of the core competencies to become a responsible designer.

Sciences, Engineering & Mathematics

Design for Conservation: Toolkit
Design for Conservation is a systemic approach to innovation that draws from design methodologies to find solutions to challenges that arise from the interaction
between people and the natural environment.
Ecology & Environmental Science Materials for Teaching Online
ENGINEERING.com Videos
Videos on engineering that are informative, inspiring and entertaining.
Geosciences materials for teaching online
Links and resources including lectures, demos and animations.
InTeGrate
Teaching about Earth for a Sustainable Future: Materials for Faculty and Instructors that has been classroom tested and peer reviewed. Lesson Plans, Activities, Visualization Tools and more.
MyOpenMath
MyOpenMath a free, open source, online course management system for mathematics and other quantitative fields that can be used to create and deploy online homework and assessment, making it an alternative to tools like MyMathLab or WebAssign. Learn more about how MyOpenMath from this blog post.
National Science Digital Library
Environmental and Geo-science resources for Higher Education. Use the Education Level to limit to Lower Undergraduate, Upper Undergraduate or Graduate Resources.
PhET Simulations
PhET simulations animate what is invisible to the eye on topics related to biology, physics and more. Searchable by education level and topic.
QUBES (A BioQUEST Project)
An open and inclusive virtual space for sharing STEM classroom activities and resources,
Seeing Theory
This website makes statistics more accessible through interactive visualizations on probability, distributions, inference and regression analysis.
STEM Literacy Hub in OER Commons
Learning resources, news and connections to other educators.
Virtual Compound Microscope
Learn the parts and how to use the microscope. View and a Lettuce Onion Lab.

Social Sciences & Humanities

Library of Congress Classroom Materials
Primary source sets, themed resources and lesson plans.
Annenberg Classroom Resources for Civics Education
Videos, lesson plans and games.
BritishPathe News Reels
From Pathe News. Includes War Archives (military footage and rare war reels from the archive British Pathe), Vintage Fashion and Sporting History.
Primary Source Sets: Digital Public Library of America
These sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more. Each set includes a topic overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide, appropriate for undergraduate level inquiry.
The Public Domain Review
Curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas, available in the public domain. Includes such interesting artifacts as W. E. B. Du Bois' Hand-Drawn Infographics of African-American Life.

OER for Political Science
Handout developed for Wayen State Political Science OER resources

Teaching Psychology Ideas Exchange
Compiled by APA Division 2: The Society for the Teaching of Psychology
Getty Research Portal
Access to over 100,000 digitized art history texts from a range of institutions. Search and download complete digital copies of publications devoted to art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
Onda Latina The Mexican American Experience
226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982.
Teaching with Data
An collaborative ICPSR project that includes lesson plans and activities for data analysis and visualization. Items that are available by subscription will require you to go to the WSU Libraries ICPSR site. If you are accessing subscription resources off-campus, you will need to create an account (free). Also see Teaching and Learning with ICPSR, a set of materials created especially for undergraduate faculty and student.

82nd & Fifth

Languages

Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning (COERLL)
The Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL) is funded by the U.S. Department of Education. COERLL's mission is to produce and disseminate Open Educational Resources (OER). In addition, COERLL aims to reframe foreign language education in terms of bilingualism and/or multilingualism. As such, all COERLL resources strive to represent more accurately language development and performance along dialectal and proficiency continua.

Fine and Performing Arts

VASE: Value Sensitive Design in Higher Education
This is an open educational resource (OER) targeting teachers in design and engineering programs in higher education who aim to give their students the tools and skills to become responsible designers. It offers a collection of 28 teaching activities, 12 assessment activities and a series of inspiring case descriptions illustrating how these activities can be put into practice in the classroom. The collection is accompanied by learning outcomes structured in a curriculum compass outlining some of the core competencies to become a responsible designer.

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

Open Textbooks/Open Educational Resources (OER)

OER Webinars

Michigan OER Network

OER Creation Platforms

Request Permalinks to Library Resources

Discover & Select

Out-of-Print Monograph Resources

Streaming Documentaries and Films

Additional FREE Streaming Video sites

Digital Resources: Images, Graphs, Charts & More

Data Visualization Tools for the Classroom

Online Games and Game Generators

Find Open Textbooks

OER Repositories Multidisciplinary

Sciences, Engineering & Mathematics

Social Sciences & Humanities

Languages

Fine and Performing Arts

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

Community

Sign In

Open Textbooks/Open Educational Resources (OER)

Request Permalinks to Library Resources

Discover & Select

Out-of-Print Monograph Resources

Streaming Documentaries and Films

Additional FREE Streaming Video sites

Digital Resources: Images, Graphs, Charts & More

Data Visualization Tools for the Classroom

Online Games and Game Generators

Find Open Textbooks

OER Repositories Multidisciplinary

Sciences, Engineering & Mathematics

Social Sciences & Humanities

Languages

Fine and Performing Arts

Community

Sign In