The Community of Science (COS) Pivot platform provides a full range of Internet-based services for the world’s researchers to find funding, promote their work, identify experts, manage resources, and collaborate with colleagues

The Sponsored Program Administration (SPA) Office within the Division of Research is responsible for the institutional oversight for Wayne State University's external sponsored programs. In this capacity, SPA provides service to three distinct groups: 1) faculty, 2) the University, and 3) the sponsors. SPA plays a role throughout the lifecycle of the project that includes:

Proposal preparation and submission.
Award acceptance.
Successful completion of the project objectives.

The Office of the Vice President for Research is pleased to offer the Research Development seminar series, a FREE research/academic career-development seminar series for WSU faculty, chairs and directors, postdoctoral trainees and graduate students, and administrators. All seminars are posted at events.wayne.edu and are free!

Provides assistance with the design of research projects and the statistical analysis of data. The service is available free of charge to Wayne State University faculty, staff, post-doctoral students, and graduate students.

Find internal funding opportunities, limited submission funding opportunities, and search for external funding opportunities.

The Community of Science (COS) Pivot platform provides a full range of Internet-based services for the world’s researchers to find funding, promote their work, identify experts, manage resources, and collaborate with colleagues

Responsible for the coordination of private funding requests on behalf of Wayne State University. Their team works with faculty and staff to coordinate and submit requests for private funding. The office can help find prospective funders, write/edit letters and proposals, develop budgets, set up accounts and fulfill reporting requirements.

This office supports interdisciplinary research and can help you search for funding, make connections with faculty who have shared interests, participate in training, and form and enhance collaborations.

Find internal funding opportunities, limited submission funding opportunities, and search for external funding opportunities.

Wayne State University (WSU) – Henry Ford Health System (HFHS) consortium committed to establishing the academic discipline of Clinical and Translational Research Science. The consortium has been built upon long-standing relationships for educational and research collaborations with HFHS, the Dingell Veterans Administration Hospital, and with the hospitals that compose the Southeast Michigan Center for Medical Education (SEMCME).

Children's Bridge Action Groups involve community members together with faculty and students from multiple WSU centers, institutes, departments and training programs whose research and outreach activities focus on specific issues in child health and development.

The URC is an alliance of Michigan’s three leading research institutions: Michigan State University, the University of Michigan and Wayne State University. The URC is playing a key role in creating a vibrant Michigan economy through leveraging their intellectual capital and working proactively to attract knowledge economy business.

Healthy Urban Waters (HUW) is a program at Wayne State University that promotes and delivers research, education, technology development and public engagement on water resources in the urban environment. Our focus area is the Huron to Erie corridor, although our expertise and application extends throughout the Great Lakes watershed. Our mission is to engage and empower the public in creating a sustainable urban environment based on sound science.

WSU’s centers and institutes embrace the multidisciplinary nature of scholarship and research within the university, and expand university boundaries by fostering collaborations with government, industry and organizations to enhance economic growth and the quality of life locally, nationally and globally.

Main portal to all Division of Research web sites that provides links to these key web sites, research events, and research news and announcements.

Includes contact information for OVPR administrators, a divisional organization chart, the research strategic plan, research fast facts and other important links.

The Office of Undergraduate Research (OUR) invites students from disciplines across the university to participate in undergraduate research. Undergraduate research puts theory into practice as you work on projects and are mentored by full-time faculty who are leaders in their field.

The Office of the Vice President for Research is pleased to offer the Research Development seminar series, a FREE research/academic career-development seminar series for WSU faculty, chairs and directors, postdoctoral trainees and graduate students, and administrators. All seminars are posted at events.wayne.edu and are free!

WSU offers professional and faculty development opportunities related to advancing the research programs of our faculty, postdoctoral trainees, and senior grant officers.

Water@Wayne is a seminar series organized by the Urban Watershed Environmental Research Group.

The Sponsored Program Administration (SPA) Office within the Division of Research is responsible for the institutional oversight for Wayne State University's external sponsored programs. In this capacity, SPA provides service to three distinct groups: 1) faculty, 2) the University, and 3) the sponsors. SPA plays a role throughout the lifecycle of the project that includes:

Proposal preparation and submission.
Award acceptance.
Successful completion of the project objectives.

This site guides WSU grant preparers and administrators through the grant process from the beginning stages of generating an idea to finding funding sources to managing grants once funding is received; also offers guidance, tips, and a step-by-step tutorial videos on how to develop a proposal on WSU's electronic proposal development and submission program eProp and our grants management program Researcher’s Dashboard.

WSU’s award-winning Researcher’s Dashboard is an easy-to-use intuitive tool that streamlines and enhances the pre-award and post-award grant processes for both researchers and administrators, providing a secure, easily accessible gateway to researchers' proposal and grant information. To access the Dashboard login to Pipeline and click on the Research tab.

This site provides WSU faculty, staff, and students with the resources to facilitate their efforts in the identification of submission of proposals, and administration of sponsored programs, private grants, and gifts. A quarterly, informational, online newsletter is, also, available.

Promotes quality biomedical research through humane and responsible veterinary, technical and husbandry support of all animals used in research and teaching at WSU, and through education, training, and professional consultation to surpass goals and standards mandated by state and federal law, accrediting bodies, and the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee.

Ensures a safe and healthy environment at WSU through biosafety, the control of hazardous materials, and compliance with public health codes and regulations, and provides informational, consultative, and educational services.

Ensures that all research and teaching protocols using live vertebrate animals are designed and carried out in a humane manner that complies with all applicable laws, policies, and guidelines.

WSU operates its human participant research programs under a Federal Wide Assurance with the Department of Health and Human Services. In accordance with this FWA, HIC is the primary Institutional Review Board for WSU and its affiliated heath care institutions.

A uniform policy, required for universities that receive Public Health Service (PHS) funds, that outlines procedure for investigating and reporting instances of alleged or apparent misconduct involving research at WSU.

Oversees compliance with federal regulations for research involving humans, animals, rDNA, radiation safety, and chemical safety, and coordinates conflict of interest, export controls, stem cell research oversight committee, and handles inquiries and investigations regarding allegations of scientific misconduct.

Responsible for the identification, protection, marketing and licensing of intellectual property (e.g., patents, unique biological or other materials, and copyrights) developed by WSU faculty, and negotiates material transfer, non-disclosure and sponsored research agreements when they relate directly to WSU inventions.

A 12 city block business community of entrepreneurs, investors, mentors, service providers and corporate partners creating an internationally recognized entrepreneurial village in the heart of the Woodward Technology Corridor.

On C&IT’s website, researchers can find information about the core computing and networking services that support their academic and administrative activities, such as e-mail, calendars, online file storage, Internet and networks, telephone and data services, free and discounted software (Microsoft, Adobe, SAS, SPSS/PASW, and Stata), computer purchase information, the WSU Pipeline portal, Self-services on the Web, the Blackboard course system, and so on. C&IT also provides specialized services for researchers (listed separately): Grid and High Performance Computing, Internet2 Advanced Networking, MiLR Research Network, and Research Consulting Services.

WSU researchers with projects requiring high performance computing can use our scalable, Grid-enabled computing system. Examples of grid or distributed computing implementations in the areas of research and education include scientific simulations that require intensive calculations, large medical-image storage and processing, computer-aided drug discovery, and Big Science or eScience projects with huge data management and storage needs. This website contains more information about the WSU Grid, its infrastructure, and applying online for an account.

WSU’s membership in the Internet2 advanced networking consortium offers researchers countless opportunities for participation and collaboration. The Internet2 Network addresses researchers’ bandwidth-intensive requirements, such as collabor¬ative applications, distributed research experiments, and grid-based data analysis.

The Michigan LamdaRail (MiLR) is a very-high-speed, special-purpose data network in research and higher education, operated by the Merit Network in Ann Arbor. MiLR provides researchers low-cost, 10 Gbps Ethernet connections between WSU, MSU, and UM campuses and to national and international research and education connection points in Chicago.