FYS1010

Subject Specialist Librarian

Profile Photo
Veronica Bielat
Contact:
165 TC/Purdy Library
313-577-4217
Website

What is the Deep Web?

Libraries and the Deep Web

By starting your search for information for research papers and course assignments in the library databases, you can directly access password protected materials available in the Deep Web.

 

Specialized Library Databases

Some library databases, like JSTOR, ProQuest or OmniFile, are focused on providing access to published articles and books chapters from periodical publications, like newspapers, magazines or scholarly journals across a wide spectrum of academic disciplines.

Other library resources and databases are more specialized, and provide access to a certain type of information source, or may focus on a specific academic discipline, such as Social Work or Engineering. These types of specialized resources can help you discover information that would be hidden from you in a Google search, either because it is a $$ resource, or it may be a free resource hidden from internet search results like Google because of how it is indexed.

The library Research Guides compiled by our Subject Specialist Liaison Librarians can help you discover these resources for different academic disciplines. They are linked to each course through the Library Resources link or button on the left in every Blackboard course site.

Here is a sample of specialized databases.

Using Library Resources

                             library homepage

 

 

 

 

 

 

A great place to start your research is by using the QuickSearch search box on the library's homepage and other webpages. It will find books, articles, and other licensed library resources that match your search terms.

The Menu button at the top right gets you to lots of ways to search. Once you select Menu, use the QuickLinks list on the left of the menu to discover lots of ways to search.

QuickLinks Menu

Article Databases will help you find a database in a particular subject/topic area.

Connecting to Google Scholar from the library homepage will include links to our full-text articles.

Research Guides takes you to recommended subject specific resources, like Biology, History, Political Science, Education, Communication, Fine Arts and more.

Summon takes you to a search of all of the library's full-text articles, print books and e-books.

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

You can chat online with a librarian 24/7. Just use the button below, or click on HELP on the library homepage.

You can also send us an email or call a reference desk if you need help, or make an appointment with a subject specialist librarian for in-depth help with your research. Just click the button below or HELP on the library homepage to get started.

 

Chat or Email

Ask A Librarian Logo

Reference Desks

Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094