Public Health Statistics
- How to find health statisticsTechnology has markedly improved access to public health statistics. Many key health statistics are now available online at no cost, although they can often be difficult to locate. This tutorial will familiarize you with a broad array of the most important sources of online public health statistics. It will also present a structured search process for locating and evaluating health statistics online.
- American Community Survey This link opens in a new windowProvides estimates of housing, social, and economic characteristics. Issue for 1996 reports data from a limited number of sample sites sample sites will be increased every year until future issues report data for all states, as well as for cities, counties, metropolitan areas, and various population groups data presentation may be customized for viewing and saving.
- City of Detroit Health Department Health StatisticsTables summarizing health statistics for Detroit, including natality, cancer, mortality and medical procedures.
- CDC National Center for Health StatisticsBoth public and restricted datasets available. CDC Wonder tool allows for ad hoc exploration of numerous public health datasets, inlcuding AIDS, cancer, births, air quality, and Healthy People 2010 data.
- Data & Statistics about the U.S.Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
- Health Poll Database"The Health Poll database is a comprehensive database for health-related U.S. survey questions, covering eighty years of national polling. Searchable questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and trends are available on every topic related to health, from social determinants and influences on health to insurance, costs and health-care utilization."
- State of Michigan Geographic Information Systems (GIS)The Michigan GIS Open Data Portal provides a single point of entry for all State of Michigan open geospatial data. Includes interactive and static maps and a variety of Michigan geospatial datasets.
- National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new windowThe NCHS is the Nation's principal health statistics agency. The NCHS is rich source of information about America 's health offering a feature called FASTATS (or fast statistics) for quick access to health statistics along with numerous other data tools. A unique public resource for health information-a critical element of public health and health policy.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowThis resource is made possible through the partnership of the Center for Urban Studies and the University Library System. Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact.
Public Health Websites
The CDC Foundation is an independent nonprofit and the sole entity created by Congress to mobilize philanthropic and private-sector resources to support the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s critical health protection work.
A federal agency under the Department of Health and Human Services that works to protect public health and safety.
Access to thousands of health articles, videos, and tools for patients to research a variety of topics.
Portal for health news and resources maintained by the United States government.
US government website for consumers which provides reliable health and wellness information.
Provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.
Health and disease-specific information website created by the renowned Mayo Clinic.
Health and medical information provided by Merck the well known and trusted medical publisher.
MPHA is a growing and effective resource, empowering our members and engaging our partners and decision-makers to achieve a healthier Michigan.
WHO works worldwide to promote health, keep the world safe, and serve the vulnerable.
Public Health Digital Collections
The NNLM Public Health Coordination Office (NPHCO) provides access to library resources, including e-journals, e-books, databases and research through the Public Health Digital Library (PHDL). Ongoing training and article delivery are also available to members of the NPHCO. Membership in the NPHCO is available to state level Public Health Departments located in the United States.
Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, manuscripts, still images, videos, and maps. The content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich historical resources, as well as select modern resources.
Much of the information critical to the communication of public health messages is pictorial rather than text-based. Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. We welcome public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages.
Public Health Research Centers
NIAAA conducts research focused on improving the treatment and prevention of alcoholism and alcohol-related problems to reduce the enormous health, social, and economic consequences of this disease.
NIAID research strives to understand, treat, and ultimately prevent the myriad infectious, immunologic, and allergic diseases that threaten millions of human lives.
NICHD leads research and training to understand human development, improve reproductive health, enhance the lives of children and adolescents, and optimize abilities for all.
The mission of the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) is to advance science on the causes and consequences of drug use and addiction and to apply that knowledge to improve individual and public health.
The mission of the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences is to discover how the environment affects people in order to promote healthier lives.
The United States Department of Health and Human Services agency responsible for health and biomedical information and research.
NIMH provides national leadership dedicated to understanding, treating, and preventing mental illnesses through basic research on the brain and behavior, and through clinical, epidemiological, and services research.
NIMHD has a long history, beginning in 1990 as an Office and later designated a Center in 2000. The mission of NIMHD is to lead scientific research to improve minority health and eliminate health disparities. To accomplish its mission, NIMHD plans, reviews, coordinates, and evaluates all minority health and health disparities research and activities of the National Institutes of Health; conducts and supports research in minority health and health disparities; promotes and supports the training of a diverse research workforce; translates and disseminates research information; and fosters innovative collaborations and partnerships.
The NIH Clinical Center, America’s research hospital, provides a versatile clinical research environment enabling the NIH mission to improve human health by investigating the pathogenesis of disease; conducting first-in-human clinical trials with an emphasis on rare diseases and diseases of high public health impact; developing state-of-the-art diagnostic, preventive, and therapeutic interventions; training the current and next generations of clinical researchers; and, ensuring that clinical research is ethical, efficient, and of high scientific quality.
FIC promotes and supports scientific research and training internationally to reduce disparities in global health.
The mission of NCATS is to catalyze the generation of innovative methods and technologies that will enhance the development, testing, and implementation of diagnostics and therapeutics across a wide range of human diseases and conditions.
The mission of NCCIH is to define, through rigorous scientific investigation, the usefulness and safety of complementary and integrative health interventions and their roles in improving health and health care.