Helpful tools
- Developing a search straegy using PICOThis worksheet can be used to help develop a strategy for searching using the PICO method and to keep track of keywords and synonyms used in searches. If the worksheet is downloaded, the fields can be filled out and saved for later.
- Power searchingLearn to use connectors, wildcards, and other special commands to power search in Google, Google Scholar, and library databases.
Databases
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowProvides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature, including Compendex, Georef, Knovel, NTIS, Geobase and Inspec as well as patents, standards and handbooks. A product from Elsevier.
- Environment CompleteScholarly, academic coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and related areas.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowHealth Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
- PubMed@Wayne This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)--Overview. NLM's search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases --Home page.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window"Scopus is the world's largest abstracts database of 13,450 titles from more than 4,000 international publishers with access to over 25 million abstracts (going back to 1966)." Full-text is included for some citations.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThis database is an online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).
Comparing Popular and Scholarly Health Articles
Comparing popular and scholarly health articles
Each of the following health-related news stories is based on the paired research article. Consider the following:
- Does the popular article accurately represent the source material? Why or why not?
- Do you think you could find the research article based on the information given in the popular article?
Look for the following:- Names of authors or researchers involved in the study
- The title of the publication where the research article appeared
- A link to the research article (if you're lucky!)