Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chat or Email
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094
Welcome to the guide for Social Sciences Data!
This guide serves as a useful starting place for information on Social Sciences Data. The Library has assembled a core collection of resources available through the Wayne State University Library System, in addition to some high quality, freely available web resources. This guide is a collaborative work-in-progress, developed with the suggestions and feedback from students and faculty.
Below are some general social science statistical resources that may serve as great starting points for research or inquiry for any subject. For more specific sources, check out the subject sections, which can be accessed using the colored tabs at the top of the page.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
ICPSR is a serves member colleges and universities by providing access to a large archive of machine-readable social science data, training facilities in basic and advanced techniques of quantitative social analysis, and resources that facilitate the use of advanced computer technology by social scientists. The primary mission of the ICPSR Web site is to provide to the social science research community efficient search capabilities to facilitate quick and easy access to data.
Social Science Data Analysis Network
The Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) is a university-based organization that creates demographic media, such as user guides, web sites, and hands-on classroom computer materials that make U.S. census data accessible to policymakers, educators, the media, and informed citizens.
Henry A. Murray Research Archive
The Henry A. Murray Research Archive is the endowed, permanent repository for quantitative and qualitative research data at the Institute for Quantitative Social Science, and provides physical storage for the entire IQSS Dataverse Network. (Click on "Find Data" to begin search.)
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world’s leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from public opinion surveys.
A data source for US public opinion questions and answers from polls on important issues facing the country. Coverage from 1935 to present. The Polling results include academic, commercial and media (news) survey organizations.
30 Resources to Find the Data You Need
List from the Flowing Data blog, highlighting data sources from Universities, News Sources, Geographic Data, Sports, World, Government & Politics, and General Sources, as well as tips on getting data from an API and through web page scraping. FlowingData explores how statisticians, designers, and computer scientists are using data to help us understand more about ourselves and our surroundings.
Pew Research Center
"The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues."
Social Sciences Citation Index
Over 2,474 journals across 50 social science disciplines, as well as 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals, to 1956.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
A statistical reference and guide to over 250 statistical publications and sources from government and private organizations.
Access official statistics collected and published by more than 100 Federal agencies without having to know in advance which agency produces them.
United States Census Bureau
"The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. We honor privacy, protect confidentiality, share our expertise globally, and conduct our work openly. We are guided on this mission by our strong and capable workforce, our readiness to innovate, and our abiding commitment to our customers." Click on "American FactFinder" for easy access to Census information.
Federal Electronic Research and Review Extraction and Tabulation Tool (FERRETT)
A tool for social scientists provided by the Federal government, DataFerrett is a unique data mining and extraction tool. DataFerrett allows you to select a databasket full of variables and then recode those variables as you need. You can then develop and customize tables. Selecting your results in your table you can create a chart or graph for a visual presentation into an html page. Save your data in the databasket and save your table for continued reuse.
Infographic Directories & Software
Looking at Infographics with a critical eye
Infographics can be used for educating, promoting, informing, interacting, or selling.
Begin your evaluation of infographics by asking the following questions:
Who created this?
What is their purpose? (to entertain, inform, persuade?)
What are their sources of data?
Are those sources reliable?
Free InfoGraphic Tools
Canva Infographic Creator
Free account support resources for 2 projects
Create up to 10 infographics in free account.
Unlimited charts with free account, download as jpg or pdf.
Free account provides 5 infographics
Create up to 3 projects with a free account.