Connect with the Libraries
Have an idea for Subject of the Month?
May 2016
Selectors: Emily Brush and Brittany Hill
“Stories you read when you're the right age never quite leave you. You may forget who wrote them or what the story was called. Sometimes you'll forget precisely what happened, but if a story touches you it will stay with you, haunting the places in your mind that you rarely ever visit.”
― Neil Gaiman
Storytelling & Children
- The Role of School Librarians in Increasing the Reading Interest of Children Through StorytellingHow can we implant good values of life in an enjoyable way to children? Here the school librarian plays an important role to prevent negative effects of the development of information technology by increasing the children's book collection, introducing the children's collection, selecting appropriate books, which will provide a positive effect to the child's development.
- It's story time!: exploring the potential of multimodality in oral storytelling to support children's vocabulary learningAlthough many studies have been done on the benefits of parent/teacher-child interactions during shared storybook reading or read aloud sessions, very few have examined the potential of professional storytellers' oral discourse to support children's vocabulary learning. In those storytelling sessions conducted by professional storytellers, the process of telling a story is typically not accompanied by a book, but only by the teller's gestures, facial expressions and voice modulations. This study provides an analysis of storytellers' oral discourse recorded during two storytelling sessions for four-to-five-year-old children.
Parenting with a Story by Call Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 0814433588Publication Date: 2014-11-12Gathers 101 narratives from people around the world and from all walks of life, reflecting unexpected moments of clarity about who they are and how they should treat others. Stories help shape who we are and who we aspire to become. Share these, discuss them, and watch your child grow into the adult you’ll be proud of.
Once upon a Time by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Oversize LB 1042 .F74 2007ISBN: 9781591586630Publication Date: 2007-10-01Gives practical how-to tips on how to tell a story, and write and stage a Reader's Theater script that gets children involved with creative drama. Included are ideas on using folk and fairy tales, songs, chants and nonsense rhymes, and a reader's theater script. Also included in this handbook are 400 plus annotated children's books every storyteller should know, 100 great titles for creative drama and reader's theatre and professional books and Web sites for storytelling, creative drama and reader's theater.
Life in Storytelling by Call Number: Electonic resourceISBN: 9781306573443Publication Date: 2014-01-01A Life in Storytelling contains the reflections and lessons from one of the most noted storytellers of our times. The sections of the book are designed to provide background material for the art and craft of storytelling, the methods and uses of storytelling, sources and examples of stories, and a broad selection of over 100 stories briefly annotated.
William Alfred Boyce Storytelling Collection
The William Alfred Boyce Storytelling Collection was donated by Mrs. Iana Boyce upon the death of her husband Dr. William Boyce, a professor at Wayne State University as well as a professional storyteller (a.k.a. The Story Peddler). Boyce taught courses in Oral Interpretation of Literature, Voice and Diction, Reader's Theatre, and Storytelling - an integral part of Children's Literature. The books in this collection represent some of the best works in the world of storytelling, a tradition as old as mankind. Storytelling is not only an art, but it reveals what is most important in our lives. Read these stories aloud, share them with those around you, or study the history of storytelling through this wonderful collection located on the fourth floor of Purdy Library.
Talk That Talk: an anthology of African-American storytelling by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Boyce Juvenile 398.2089 T144ISBN: 0671671685Publication Date: 1989-11-15
Diane Goode's Book of Silly Stories and Songs by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Boyce Juvenile 808.8 D542ISBN: 0525449671Publication Date: 1992-09-30A book that emphasizes the helpful ability to laugh at oneself.
South and North, East and West by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Boyce Juvenile 398.2 So87ISBN: 1564021173Publication Date: 1992-09-01Around the world in 25 stories showing the lore & wisdom of the native peoples.
Digital Storytelling
What is digital storytelling?
"Digital storytelling at its most basic core is the practice of using computer-based tools to tell stories. There are a wealth of other terms used to describe this practice, such as digital documentaries, computer-based narratives, digital essays, electronic memoirs, interactive storytelling, etc.; but in general, they all revolve around the idea of combining the art of telling stories with a variety of multimedia, including graphics, audio, video, and Web publishing." - "About Digital Storytelling," University of Houston
Digital Storytelling by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library TR 858 .M348 2007ISBN: 0262134659Publication Date: 2007-01-01Digital effects are a part of production, and they become part of the story development process. This guide talks about how digital visual effects in film can be used to support storytelling, and argues that to consider digital visual effects as simply contributing the 'wow' factor underestimates them.
- This is me: children teaching us about themselves through Digital StorytellingIn this article, we share Zoe's story, a pre school student in transition to Kindergarten. She participated in the TIM (This is Me) project as a way to introduce herself and her learning preferences to her Kindergarten teacher. In this article, we consider the ways that teachers are able to think about Zoe's oral language in connection with classroom teaching and learning. We also consider the ways digital stories empower Zoe to be part of the process of assessing for learning.
Traditional Storytellers
Jacob Grimm. New York Public Library Digital Collections.
The Annotated Brothers Grimm by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library PT 921 .K5613 2004ISBN: 0393058484Publication Date: 2004-09-17The Annotated Brothers Grimm celebrates the richness and dramatic power of the legendary fables in the most spectacular and unusual Grimm volume in decades. Containing forty stories in new translations by Maria Tatar.
- Two Hundred Years After Once Upon a Time The Legacy of the Brothers Grimm and Their Tales in Germany"...in this essay I focus on the legacy of the Grimms’ tales in the German sociocultural context of the last twenty years. I discuss some of the more recent popular manifestations of their stories in German literature and film and then move on to an analysis of scholarly studies that, in contrast to popular culture, have grounded the legacy of the Grimms in substantial ways. In the conclusion I argue that English-speaking scholars who study the Grimms’ fairy tales should be paying more attention to the interrelationship between philology and narratology in the Grimms’ collection of folktales." - Jack Zipes
Aesop's Fables by Call Number: Undergraduate Library PA 3855 .E5 G533 2002ISBN: 0192840509Publication Date: 2003-04-10The fables of Aesop have become one of the most enduring traditions of European culture, ever since they were first written down nearly two millennia ago. Aesop was reputedly a tongue-tied slave who miraculously received the power of speech; from his legendary storytelling came the collections of prose and verse fables scattered throughout Greek and Roman literature.
Homer's the Iliad and the Odyssey by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library PA 4037 .M35 2007ISBN: 9780871139764Publication Date: 2007-12-21No one knows if there was a man named Homer, but there is no little doubt that the epic poems assembled under his name form the cornerstone of Western literature. The Iliad and The Odyssey, with their incomparable tales of the Trojan War, brace Achilles, Ulysses and Penelope, the Cyclops, the beautiful Helen of Troy, and the petulant gods, are familiar to most readers because they are so pervasive.
Hans Christian Andersen by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library PT 8119 .W85 2001ISBN: 0679455086Publication Date: 2001-04-24Beloved by generations of children and adults around the world for tales such as "The Ugly Duckling" and "The Emperor’s New Clothes," Hans Christian Andersen (1805-1875) revolutionized children’s literature. Although others before him had collected and retold folk stories and fairy tales, Andersen was the first to create the stories himself, instilling a previously stilted genre with new humor, wisdom, and pathos.
Chaucer As Children's Literature by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library PR 1872 .R53 2004ISBN: 0786417404Publication Date: 2004-03-30Although Geoffrey Chaucer is the major author for Middle English studies, he often receives little notice in studies of children's literature. This book examines in detail Chaucer stories retold for children--both the texts and the illustrations, which are excellent examples of the verbal and visual storytelling that are very important in children's literature.
Contemporary Storytellers
The Association for Library Service to Children annually presents the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year. The winner(s), is recognized for their literary and artistic achievements that demonstrate creativity and imagination to engage children in reading.
Dr. Seuss by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library PS 3513 .E2 Z787 2004ISBN: 0826414346Publication Date: 2003-12-01Published in time for the centenary of Seuss's birth in March 2004, this title celebrates one of the most influential authors and artists of the 20th century: Theodor Seuss Geisel, best known as Dr Seuss.
Dr. Seuss and Mr. Geisel by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library PS 3513 .E2 Z785 1995ISBN: 9780679416869Publication Date: 1995-04-11California journalists Neil and Judith Morgan present the authorized biography of the late Ted Geisel, a.k.a. Dr. Seuss, the phenomenally successful, beloved author and illustrator of dozens of memorable children's books, including The Cat in the Hat and Green Eggs and Ham. 16 pages of photos.
Triumph of the Imagination by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Juvenile Biography R797C4ISBN: 0791063127Publication Date: 2001-12-01Provocative biographies of prominent figures, both contemporary and historical, who have overcome adversity to achieve greatness and success. The author of the wildly popular Harry Potter books was once an impoverished single mother.
Stephen King by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Juvenile Biography K587W5ISBN: 0766012336Publication Date: 2000-01-01Stephen King, master of the macabre, knows that the scariest monsters may look just like ordinary people. Unleashing the evil in our everyday world has made King a best-selling author around the globe.
Walt Disney by Call Number: Undergraduate Library NC 1766 .U52 D5375 2006ISBN: 067943822XPublication Date: 2006-10-31From Neal Gabler, the definitive portrait of one of the most important figures in twentieth-century American entertainment and cultural history. And we see how he reshaped the entertainment industry by building a synergistic empire that combined film, television, theme parks, music, book publishing, and merchandise in a way that was unprecedented and was later widely imitated.
Roald Dahl by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library PR 6054 .A35 Z78 1994ISBN: 0374251304Publication Date: 1994-04-01A biography of the controversial children's author, from his childhood and service in World War II, through his career with the "New Yorker" and as a Hollywood screenwriter to his move to children's literature.
Storytelling Organizations
Michigan Storytelling
Here you will find information about storytelling in Michigan or including Michigan storytellers. This includes links to find local Michigan storytelling, national, & regional organizations. Other issues of interest to lovers of storytelling in Michigan also are found here.
The power of storytelling is unquestionable. We are all storytellers and we live our lives through a network of stories. The cornerstone of the International Storytelling Center is a belief in a single, immutable principle of life—storytelling. People crave, remember, and honor stories. And now, after years of scientific research in 17 different fields, analysts conclude that storytelling is our most powerful tool for effective communication.
http://www.storytellingcenter.net/
Detroit Association of Black Storytellers
This association shall promote and perpetuate the ancient art of African storytelling and the tradition of Black storytelling, using the knowledge and wisdom contributed from folklore and ancestral stories.
http://www.detroitassociationofblackstorytellers.com/
Detroit Story League
The Detroit Story League is a service organization providing storytellers for schools, libraries, retirement homes, and other organizations throughout the Metropolitan area. The DSL is for people who enjoy listening to and/or telling stories! Storytellers are teachers, librarians, writers, professional storytellers, or simply people who love to tell a good story in any place at any time!