Connect with the Libraries
Have an idea for Subject of the Month?
July 2016
Selectors: (Brittany Hill, Danielle Ager, and Mike Hawthorne)
The July display was selected in honor of the fun of being a child. Playing is important for all children to do, as this helps them develop and learn important life skills and lessons. Children from all over the world play games, and many of these games hold similarities. The library has a plethora of resources on play and childhood fun including photographs, graduate theses, videos, books, and many more. Stop by Purdy-Kresge Library to see the display.
“We are never more fully alive, more completely ourselves, or more deeply engrossed in anything, than when we are at play.” ~ Charles E. Schaefer
Digital Collections
http://digital.library.wayne.edu/digitalcollections/index.php
The Wayne State University Library System, through its digital publishing initiatives, strives to bring unique, important, or institutionally relevant content to Wayne State University’s academic community and to the larger world. Our Digital Collections represent text, images, and audiovisual material that support this mission through a diversity of projects.
The Library System's Digital Collections are created through grant-funded partnerships with a range local cultural and educational institutions; digitization of material held in our special collections and archives; and licensed materials from publishers. Our collections, provided through a handful of interrelated systems, support research, teaching and learning across multiple disciplines, in the classroom and beyond. Over 50,000 images and texts celebrate Detroit's contributions to the arts, fashion, history, architecture, interior design, medicine, and more.
Children; And Fire Escape
Children; Winter Scenes. With sleighs
Scripps William E. Children Mary Anne and Dolls
Books in Print
Developmentally Appropriate Play by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library LB 1137 .G73 2010ISBN: 9781605540375Publication Date: 2010-07-01Following the new Developmentally Appropriate Practice guidelines from the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC), this resource helps teachers enhance the depth and richness of children's play. Chapter topics include identifying and planning purposeful play, incorporating standards into play, and suggestions to reach higher levels of play.
The Case for Make Believe by Call Number: Undergraduate Library BF 717 .L56 2008ISBN: 9781565849709Publication Date: 2008-04-01In The Case for Make Believe, Harvard child psychologist Susan Linn tells the alarming story of childhood under siege in a commercialized and technology-saturated world. Although play is essential to human development and children are born with an innate capacity for make believe, Linn argues that, in modern-day America, nurturing creative play is not only countercultural--it threatens corporate profits.
Five Little Monkeys Play Hide and Seek by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Juvenile Picture Easy C461fpISBN: 0618409491Publication Date: 2004-08-23Mama's out dancing, and Lulu, the babysitter, is in charge. The Five Little Monkeys are supposed to go to bed, but they convince Lulu there's time for just one game of hide-and-seek first . . . and then another, and another . . . until they discover the ultimate hiding place. Lulu is frantic; where can those monkeys be?
Won't You Come and Play with Me? by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Juvenile 782.42164 D719wISBN: 0395846307Publication Date: 1998-03-30A list of errands in hand, a little boy sets out to town with good intentions, but how can he pass by a game of catch without joining in? Inspired by an old children's street rhyme, this simple story for the very young captures a time when the whole world is a playground, each new day a quest, and at journey's end, supper and a story wait at home.
A Child's Day by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Juvenile 411 P316cISBN: 9780152065522Publication Date: 2008-09-01Artist Ida Pearle gives readers a way to play for every letter in the alphabet. A is for act--curtains up! B is for blow--pinwheel ready! And C is for catch--butterflies beware! Ida's cut-paper collages are the perfect mix of vintage and modern, comfort and inspiration. Her images of children--on tiptoe, on a zebra, dancing, and jumping--are full of grace and flow. And her distinctive patterns and striking designs spring from page to page.
eBooks
Handbook of the Study of Play by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKS-ebraryISBN: 9781475807943Publication Date: 2015-02-05The Handbook of the Study of Play brings together in two volumes thinkers whose diverse interests at the leading edge of scholarship and practice define the current field. Because play is an activity that humans have shared across time, place, and culture and in their personal developmental timelines and because this behavior stretches deep into the evolutionary past no single discipline can lay claim to exclusive rights to study the subject. Thus this handbook features the thinking of evolutionary psychologists; ethologists and biologists; neuroscientists; developmental psychologists; psychotherapists and play therapists; historians; sociologists and anthropologists; cultural psychologists; philosophers; theorists of music, performance, and dance; specialists in learning and language acquisition; and playground designers.
Loose Parts by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebraryISBN: 9781605542744Publication Date: 2014-10-28Use loose parts to spark children's creativity and innovation. Loose parts are natural or synthetic found, bought, or upcycled materials that children can move, manipulate, control, and change within their play. Alluring and captivating, they capture children's curiosity, give free reign to their imagination, and motivate learning.
Children at Play by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebraryISBN: 0814716644Publication Date: 2007-08-01Howard Chudacoff presents a history of children's play in the United States and ponders what it tells us about ourselves. Filled with intriguing stories and revelatory insights, Children at Play provides a chronological history of play in the U.S. from the point of view of children themselves.
The Place of Play by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebraryISBN: 9789048507962Publication Date: 2009-04-10A fascinating, eclectic analysis of the changing geographies of play in contemporary society
Articles on Play
- NPR - "Scientists Say Child's Play Helps Build A Better Brain"When it comes to brain development, time in the classroom may be less important than time on the playground.
- "Let the Children Play, It's Good for Them!"A leading researcher in the field of cognitive development says when children pretend, they’re not just being silly—they’re doing science.
- "The Power of Play: A Research Summary on Play and Learning"This paper presents an overview of the scientific research that guides the educational philosophy that play is learning, discussing many overlapping forms of child-centered play, including social, object, pretend, physical, and media play. Through play, children learn to regulate their behavior, lay the foundations for later learning in science and mathematics, figure out the complex negotiations of social relationships, build a repertoire of creative problem solving skills, and so much more.
- Elaborated Role Play and Creativity in Preschool Age ChildrenElaborated role play (i.e., pretending in which children imagine and act out the part of another individual on a regular basis) is often considered an early indicator of creativity, but there is not strong research evidence of a relation between this type of pretend play and performance on creativity tasks during the preschool years.
- Use of Toys in Child-centered Play TherapyPlay therapy is a developmentally appropriate approach to counseling that allows children to use a variety of toys and materials to express themselves. Although all play therapists agree on the importance of toys, no research exists to support which toys and materials should be included in play therapy rooms. This study was conducted to discover which toys are most frequently used during play therapy for the purpose of assisting play therapists in making decisions about toy selection.
Walter P. Reuther Library
The Walter P. Reuther Library collects and facilitates access to historical documentary evidence in order to inspire academic research, serve the information needs of the community, and build knowledge at Wayne State University. The collections housed in the Reuther Library are open to anyone engaged in their research. The following images were retrieved from the Image Galleries located on the Reuther Library webpage: https://reuther.wayne.edu/.
Urban Renewal, Black Bottom, Paradise Valley, Detroit, 1963
Young children at play on Selden Street. Photograph taken as part of series on the historically
Black neighborhoods that were dismantled during the Detroit Medical Center construction clearances.
Ethnic Communities, Latin American, Schools, Children, Detroit, 1992
Students of Webster Elementary in Southwestern Detroit play games during recess.
Children Playing, Near East Side, Detroit
A candid view of a group of children at play in a neighborhood alleyway.
Part of a series of photographs taken of children in Detroit’s Near East Side. The area includes the Brush Park, Paradise Valley, and Black Bottom neighborhoods.
The Displays
Local Places to Play
"In a modern world filled with electronics, video games, computers and so many other distractions, children rarely get the chance to exercise their imaginations in a free play setting. Imaginations need to be exercised in a fun and inspiring environment but where? Detroit Kid City has you covered! We have created a custom Mini Detroit play city, where the kids run the show! Here the children have the ability to use their creative imaginations through pretend play." ~ http://www.detroitkidcity.com/
"Explore hands-on exhibits, gaze at the stars, discover new worlds in our IMAX® theatre, and take part in live stage shows. As Michigan’s STEM Hub, we inspire curious minds of all ages. The mission of the Michigan Science Center is to inspire curious minds of all ages to discover, explore and appreciate science, technology, engineering and math in a creative, dynamic learning environment." ~ http://www.mi-sci.org/
"Rich with history and natural beauty, Belle Isle Park is a Detroit gem and became Michigan's 102nd State Park in 2014 as part of a lease agreement with the City of Detroit. This 985-acre island park is situated on the Detroit River between the United States and Canada. Home to a variety of attractions, including an aquarium, conservatory, and the James Scott Memorial Fountain, this park provides a wide assortment of educational and recreational opportunities." ~ http://www.michigandnr.com/parksandtrails/Details.aspx?id=736&type=SPRK#overview
Special Collections
The Eloise Ramsey Collection - Named for its originator, Eloise Ramsey, the Eloise Ramsey Collection of Literature for Young People is a closed collection of rare books and periodicals related to children’s literature from the late 18th century to the present, and located in the Purdy/Kresge Library on the main campus of Wayne State University. The collection has been expanded over the years with award-winning titles and otherwise outstanding works; whenever possible, recent acquisitions to the collection have been duplicated in the circulating juvenile collection. Books and materials in the collection are listed in the online catalog, but are not available for checkout. For more information follow this link: http://guides.lib.wayne.edu/c.php?g=174935&p=1151857.
Millicent A. Wills Collection of Urban Ethic Materials - Begun in 1968 and dedicated in 1990 to former Detroit school teacher Millicent A. Wills, this collection consists of books that deal with urban life and ethnic diversity. Although this is a non-circulating collection, all books contained within it have been duplicated for the regular circulating juvenile books. The Wills Collection is located on the 4th floor of the Purdy Library near the juvenile collection.
William Alfred Boyce Storytelling Collection - The William Alfred Boyce Storytelling Collection was donated by Mrs. Iana Boyce upon the death of her husband Dr. William Boyce, a professor at Wayne State University as well as a professional storyteller (a.k.a. The Story Peddler). Boyce taught courses in Oral Interpretation of Literature, Voice and Diction, Reader's Theatre, and Storytelling - an integral part of Children's Literature. The books in this collection represent some of the best works in the world of storytelling, a tradition as old as mankind. Storytelling is not only an art, but it reveals what is most important in our lives. Read these stories aloud, share them with those around you, or study the history of storytelling through this wonderful collection located on the fourth floor of Purdy Library.
Kanopy Streaming
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides access to more than 26,000 films. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
- Child's Play: How Having Fun Turns Kids Into AdultsChildren play their way into adulthood. Learn why play is so important and how it literally turns kids into adults. Play is the engine that drives child development. Understanding play is key to any unit in child development or parenting education. Explore styles of play, the role of adults, the value of toys. Learn about practice play, parallel and co-operative play, sensory play, creative and symbolic play.
- Learning Through Play : 3-5 YearsChildren learn through play - but where do we look to find the learning and what do we do as adults to support these ordinary moments when children are deciding what to do next? This playlist contains eleven clips that answer both of these questions. The high impact video clips are carefully chosen to represent key forms of learning, such the difference between doing and showing, inventing strategies to maintain group play, and inventing new functions when boxes have no bottoms.
- Leadership in PlayChildren demonstrate leadership across various contexts in the following set of 10 video clips. Included in these examples you will see: a) a two-year-old girl carry out actions that attract the interest of nearby peers and spur collaboration, b) a two-year-old boy mediate an agreement between two peers to share a toy, c) a three-year-old help a younger child ride a tricycle, c) a three-year-old girl direct a pretend play script and define the roles of participants, d) a four-year-old boy persuasively convince his peers to join his plan to build a racetrack d) a four-year-old boy introduce a new classmate to the fun features on the playground, e) a five-year-old boy cleverly negotiate entry into established pretend play between two girls.
Videos in the Catalog
The David Adamany Undergraduate Library houses an extensive DVD and Video collection behind the Circulation Desk. This includes popular children's movies that bring out the child in all of us. Search what other videos the WSU Libraries own by following this link: http://elibrary.wayne.edu/search~S19
Mary Poppins by Call Number: Undergraduate Library DVD Collection DVD MARISBN: 0788847279After a banker's children lose their nanny due to her frustration with them, a change in the wind blows in a magical nanny who matches the children's qualifications, but not those of their very proper father. As Mary Poppins helps the children magically explore the world around them, their father grows increasingly disapproving of her methods, and he must eventually deal with his own distance from his children.
Where do the Children Play? by Call Number: Undergraduate Library Videos Permanent Reserves DVD WHEISBN: 0981652700Examines the disappearance of play and nature from the daily lives of children. Many children today do not know about free play in the natural world. Sprawl, congestion, and suburban development across America have moved children further and further into isolation. Explores this new environmental impact on children's mental and physical health and their development. Combines research of urban planners, health experts, educators and environmentalists to explain the realities of childhood in urban areas, suburbs, and rural areas. Includes commentary from children about their perception of play.
Babe by Call Number: Undergraduate Library DVD Collection DVD BABISBN: 0783296045A piglet destined for eventual butchering arrives at the farmyard, is adopted by an old sheep dog, and discovers a special secret to success.
Youtube Videos
These performers are wonderful for getting children moving and having a blast. Children can learn a number of developmental skills simply by dancing and singing along to music. Performers such as The Laurie Berkner Band and Jim Gill are well known in their industry for creating songs that children will be able to move, groove, and get silly to.
The Laurie Berkner Band - "The Goldfish"
Jim Gill - "Foot Notes"
Raffi - "Baby Beluga"
Children's March (Over the Hills and Far Away)
Websites
- National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)Read about the latest research on play, play based learning, why play is an important part of children's learning and development, the role of play in the classroom and ideas to share with families.
- National Institute for PlayThe National Institute for Play is a 501c(3) non-profit public benefit corporation committed to bringing the unrealized knowledge, practices and benefits of play into public life.
- International Play Association (IPA)IPA member groups initiate a wide variety of projects that promote the child’s right to play. These include seminars, conferences, study tours, research, publications, playground design, playwork training and the organization of play programs and Play Days. National groups often collaborate with other organizations which promote the well-being of children and children’s rights.
- StreetplayThis website documents and celebrates the history and experience of urban play. Follow the "A Playful World" link to find out more about games from different parts of the world.
- International GamesA list of games from several countries.
- Traditional Children's Games from Around the WorldGames We Played as Children: Around the world, children have one thing in common. They love to play games. Discover how children from Venezuela, Mexico, Korea, China, Germany, and many other countries play different versions of the same traditional games.
- Elliott Avedon Virtual Museum of GamesIn 1971, the Universiy of Waterloo in Ontario, Canada established a public museum dedicated to research and the collection, preservation, and exhibition of games and game-related objects from around the world. In 1993, the Univesity began to offer the public this Website based upon the materials in the Museum. Even though the Museum no longer exists, but the collection does, the University decided to continue to host this Website about games as an educational service to the public.
- PBS Kids GamesPBS KIDS is committed to making a positive impact on the lives of children through curriculum-based entertainment. With a 360-degree approach towards learning and reaching children, PBS KIDS leverages the full spectrum of media and technology to build knowledge, critical thinking, imagination and curiosity.