Connect with the Libraries
Have an idea for Subject of the Month?
March 2018
Wayne State and Title IX - Creating Opportunities and Protections
Selectors: Alison Stankrauff and Alison Greenlee
Title IX of the Education Amendments Act of 1972
"No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance."
Videos, March 2018
Equality, Sports, and Title IX by TED-Ed
In 1972, U.S. Congress passed Title IX, a law which prohibited discrimination against women in schools, colleges, and universities -- including school-sponsored sports. Before this law, female athletes were few and far between, and funding was even scarcer. Erin Buzuvis and Kristine Newhall explore the significance and complexity of Title IX.
Title IX at 40 by The Obama White House
Secretary of Health and Human Services Kathleen Sebelius, Former Secretary of State Madeleine Albright, Hall of Fame Basketball Coach Pat Summitt, Professional Basketball Player and 2011 WNBA MVP Tamika Catchings and Author and Chief Sponsor of the Title IX legislation, former Senator Birch Bayh talk on the 40th Anniversary of Title IX and the monumental impact that piece of legislation had on furthering equal rights for women in America.
Playing Unfair: The Media Image of the Female Athlete (WSU Access ID & Password Required)
Playing Unfair is the first video to critically examine the post-Title IX media landscape in terms of the representation of female athletes.
Websites, March 2018
- American WomenAmerican Women is a gateway--a first stop for Library of Congress researchers working in the field of American women's history.
- Faces of Title IXThe National Women's Law Center collected and recorded stories of women and girls for the 40th anniversary of Title IX.
- Know Your IXFounded in 2013, Know Your IX is a survivor- and youth-led project of Advocates for Youth that aims to empower students to end sexual and dating violence in their schools.
- National Coalition for Women and Girls in EducationThe National Coalition for Women and Girls in Education (NCWGE) is a nonprofit organization established to educate the public about issues concerning equal rights for women and girls in education, monitor the enforcement and administration of current legislation, and conduct and publish research and analysis of issues concerning equity in education.
- NCAA: Title IX Frequently Asked QuestionsAn overview of Title IX from the National Collegiate Athletic Association.
- WSU's Commission on the Status of WomenThe COSW advises Wayne State University's Office of the President and the larger campus community on issues facing women students, staff, faculty, and alumni including gender equity and equality, social justice, and intersectionality. The Commission advocates for women through programming, university service, outreach, research, and policy recommendations.
Databases, March 2018
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU has perpetual access to the Arts and Sciences I-XV, Hebrew Journals and Sustainability Collections.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowA searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1963 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Electronic Journals, March 2018
- Columbia Journal of Gender and LawThe Columbia Journal of Gender and Law publishes interdisciplinary works related to feminism and gender issues.
- Equity & Excellence in EducationThe journal publishes research articles and scholarly essays that address issues of equity and social justice in education.
- Gender and EducationGender and Education grew out of feminist politics and a social justice agenda and is committed to developing multi-disciplinary and critical discussions of gender and education.
- Journal About Women in Higher EducationNASPA Journal About Women in Higher Education (NJAWHE) focuses on issues affecting all women in higher education: students; student affairs staff; faculty, and other administrative groups.
Government Documents
Building on the Success of 35 Years of Title IX by Call Number: LAW Microform Y 4.ED 8/1:110-48Publication Date: 2008- Encouraging the Participation of Female Students in STEM Fields by Call Number: LAW Y 4.SCI 2:111-45Publication Date: 2010
- The Promotion and Advancement of Women in Sports by Call Number: LAW MICROFORM Y 4.C 73/7:S.HRG.109-532Publication Date: 2006
- Sexual Assault on Campus : What Colleges and Universities Are Doing About It by Call Number: J 28.38:SE 9Publication Date: 2005
Wayne State University Sesquicentennial
On May 18, in 1868, Wayne State University was officially founded as the Detroit Medical College. The first academic term began on Nov. 3, 1868. On April 22, 1956, the Michigan Legislature adopted Act 183 “to establish and regulate a state institution of higher learning to be known as Wayne State University.”
Throughout 2018, the WSU Libraries invite you to join us as we celebrate our University's rich history and sesquicentennial. The official celebration period will run from Jan. 1, 2018 to Nov. 1, 2018. In addition to the Subject of the Month displays, please check the University Calendar for Special Events and Exhibits.
Athletics - eBooks
WSU Access ID & Password Required
Invisible Seasons : Title IX and the Fight for Equity in College Sports by ISBN: 9780815634843Publication Date: 2017-01-03In Invisible Seasons, Belanger recalls the remarkable story of how the Michigan State University women athletes helped change the landscape of higher education athletics.
Getting in the Game : Title IX and the Women's Sports Revolution by ISBN: 0814799655Publication Date: 2010-08-09Brake provides a richer understanding and appreciation of what Title IX has accomplished, while taking a critical look at the places where the law has fallen short.
Girls and Sports by ISBN: 9780737745160Publication Date: 2010Examines both sides of issues pertaining to girl athletes, from how gender influences participation to how participation affects girls' health, and from school support for girls' sports programs to cultural implications.
Playing with the Boys : Why Separate Is Not Equal in Sports by ISBN: 9780195167566Publication Date: 2008Also available in print (UNDERGRAD GV 706.5 .M3673 2008)
An original and provocative argument to level the athletic playing field, Playing with the Boys issues a clarion call for sex-sensible policies in sports as another important step toward the equality of men and women in our society.
Campus Sexual Assault - eBooks
WSU Access ID & Password Required
Campus Action Against Sexual Assault : Needs, Policies, Procedures, and Training Programs by ISBN: 9781440838156Publication Date: 2016-05-01A practical guide to prevention of and response to sexual assault on college campuses, this invaluable resource will help ensure Title IX compliance--and can also help reduce the incidence of these all-too-prevalent events.
Campus Sexual Assault by ISBN: 9781421419053Publication Date: 2016-02-09Aimed at students, parents, faculty members, university leaders, service providers, and lawmakers, Campus Sexual Assault seeks to put an end to the silence around sexual trauma by giving voice to those closest to it and providing tools for others to hear with--and to act on.
Campus Sexual Assault : a Reference Handbook by ISBN: 9781440841392Publication Date: 2017-05-18This invaluable reference text thoroughly examines the alarming epidemic of campus sexual assault, including a discussion of laws, high-profile cases, controversies, and proposed solutions.- Confronting Sexual Harassment : What Schools and Colleges Can Do by ISBN: 0585265526Publication Date: 1997-01-01Also available in print (LC 212.82 .B73 1997)
Sexual Assault on Campus by ISBN: 9780737775600Publication Date: 2016-02-05This essential collection of essays investigates the seriousness of sexual assault on college campuses.
Sexual Harassment on College Campuses : Abusing the Ivory Power by ISBN: 0791428028Publication Date: 1996-03-01Also available in print (LC 212.862 .S49 1996)
A resource book for individuals wanting to make changes in their campus' policy and procedures with regard to sexual harassment.
Sexual Violence on Campus : Policies, Programs, and Perspectives by ISBN: 0826113745Publication Date: 2001This book puts forward constructive strategies for preventing sexual assault, managing anger, group counseling for survivors, and more.
Books in Print
- Add books using Books from the Catalog option and an ISBN number. Book covers and descriptions often "auto-magically" appear.
- If book cover is not available, try a different ISBN or use the generic blue cover.
- Descriptions can be edited.
Defining and Redefining Gender Equity in Education by Call Number: LC 1752 .D45 2002ISBN: 1931576432Publication Date: 2002-06-01Part of the Research on Women and Education series, this text is divided into three parts: defining gender equity; advancing gender equity; and redefining gender equity.
Failing at Fairness : How America's Schools Cheat Girls by Call Number: LC 212.82 .S27 1994ISBN: 0684195410Publication Date: 1994-02-14Chronicles studies that show how gender-biased education, often propagated by well-meaning teachers, affects the intellectual and social growth of girls and instructs how teachers and students can avoid this trap.
More Than Title IX : How Equity in Education Has Shaped the Nation by Call Number: LC 1752 .H39 2009ISBN: 9780742566408Publication Date: 2009-08-16More Than Title IX highlights the impact of one of the most powerful instruments of change--education. The book takes readers behind the scenes of some of the most influential moments for gender equity in education and tells the dramatic stories of the women and men who made these changes possible.
Tilting the Playing Field : Schools, Sports, Sex, and Title IX by Call Number: GV 709.18 .U6 G38 2002ISBN: 189355435XPublication Date: 2002A critical look at Title IX, Gavora asserts that the "law designed to guarantee equal opportunity has become the most explicit, government-enforced quota regime in America, putting boys and men on the losing side of a battle for athletic and educational opportunity. "
Title IX : a Brief History with Documents by Call Number: GV 709.18 .U6 W37 2007ISBN: 9780312445751Publication Date: 2007Through this rich collection of documents, Susan Ware shows how athletics, once viewed as a privilege, came to be seen as a right.
The `Woman Question' and Higher Education : Perspectives on Gender and Knowledge Production in America by Call Number: LC 1756 .W653 2008ISBN: 9781847204011Publication Date: 2008-01-31Contextualizing arguments against women's inclusion and including contemporary perspectives on gender, this book offers a rich, multi-layered examination and critical insights into understanding the near universal difficulties that women encounter as they seek to participate fully in the process of knowledge production.
Follow the WSU Libraries
To keep up with library events and happenings, follow us on:
- WSU Libraries on Facebook
This link opens in a new window
- WSU Libraries on Twitter
This link opens in a new window
- WSU Libraries on Instagram
This link opens in a new window
- WSU Libraries YouTube Channel
This link opens in a new window
