Connect with the Libraries
Have an idea for Subject of the Month?
April 2018
Selector: Jim Van Loon
The Subject of the Month for April features not one but two topics to appeal to your inner rocket scientist:
- Astronomy: a course of study currently offered by the Department of Physics and Astronomy in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and
- Aeronautical Engineering: studies of which were offered by the College of Engineering until the early 1960s
Aeronautical Engineering at WSU
Notable graduates of WSU's Aeronautical Engineering program
Image source: https://engineering.wayne.edu/alumni/recognition/hall-of-fame.php
Aero-Engg Videos
Aero-Engg Electronic Journals ( WSU Access ID & Password Required)
Advances in aerospace engineering [electronic resource]. ISSN: 2314-7520. Hindawi. Full text available from DOAJ: 2014 to present.
Aerospace science and technology [electronic resource]. ISSN: 1626-3219. Elsevier. Full text available from ScienceDirect: 01/31/1997 to present.
Aircraft engineering and aerospace technology [electronic resource]. ISSN: 1758-4213. Emerald Group. Full text available from ProQuest Central: 01/01/1997 to 1 year ago.
IEEE transactions on aerospace and electronic systems [electronic resource]. ISSN: 1557-9603. IEEE/IET. Full text available from IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL): 1965 to present.
Journal of aerospace engineering [electronic resource]. ISSN: 1943-5525. ASCE. Full text available from ASCE Library: 01/01/1988 to present.
Progress in aerospace sciences [electronic resource]. ISSN: 1873-1724. Pergammon. Full text available from ScienceDirect: 12/31/1995 to present.
Databases ( WSU Access ID & Password Required)
- arXiv.org e-Print archive This link opens in a new windowarXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowProvides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature, including Compendex, Georef, Knovel, NTIS, Geobase and Inspec as well as patents, standards and handbooks. A product from Elsevier.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
- SAE Digital Library This link opens in a new windowAn easy-to-use information management system that contains thousands of full-text SAE Technical Papers with coverage dating back to 1906.
Follow the WSU Libraries
To keep up with library events and happenings, follow us on:
- WSU Libraries on Facebook
This link opens in a new window
- WSU Libraries on Twitter
This link opens in a new window
- WSU Libraries on Instagram
This link opens in a new window
- WSU Libraries YouTube Channel
This link opens in a new window
Wayne State University Sesquicentennial
On May 18, in 1868, Wayne State University was officially founded as the Detroit Medical College. The first academic term began on Nov. 3, 1868. On April 22, 1956, the Michigan Legislature adopted Act 183 “to establish and regulate a state institution of higher learning to be known as Wayne State University.”
Throughout 2018, the WSU Libraries invite you to join us as we celebrate our University's rich history and sesquicentennial. The official celebration period will run from Jan. 1, 2018 to Nov. 1, 2018. In addition to the Subject of the Month displays, please check the University Calendar for Special Events and Exhibits.
Dan Zowada Memorial Observatory
The Dan Zowada Memorial Observatory is a state-of-the-art 20-inch robotically-controlled remote observatory in the high desert of Rodeo, NM at an altitude of 4128 feet. This location has some of the clearest and darkest skies in the nation.
The observatory is named in honor of Michigan amateur astronomer, Dan Zowada, who tragically died of cancer at the age of 54; the facility was kindly donated to Wayne State University by the 419 Foundation of Russ and Stephanie Carroll.
Further information on the observatory can be found at go.wayne.edu/Zowada.
WSU Planetarium
The Wayne State University planetarium (http://planetarium.wayne.edu/about/index.php) is proud to feature a new state-of-the-art Spitz High Definition Digital System for presentation of modern planetarium shows. Learn about the planets, our Solar System, stars, galaxies, and other wonders of the Universe. Be dazzled by one of our amazing fulldome films.
Astronomy e-Books (WSU Access ID & Password Required)
Celestial sleuth [electronic resource] : using astronomy to solve mysteries in art, history and literature, by
For a general audience interested in solving mysteries in art, history, and literature using the methods of science, 'forensic astronomy' is a thrilling new field of exploration. Astronomical calculations are the basis of the studies, which have the advantage of bringing to readers both evocative images and a better understanding of the skies. Weather facts, volcano studies, topography, tides, historical letters and diaries, famous paintings, military records, and the friendly assistance of experts in related fields add variety, depth, and interest to the work. The chosen topics are selected for their wide public recognition and intrigue, involving artists such as Vincent van Gogh, Claude Monet, Edvard Munch, and Ansel Adams; historical events such as the Battle of Marathon, the death of Julius Caesar, the American Revolution, and World War II; and literary authors such as Chaucer, Shakespeare, Joyce, and Mary Shelley. This book sets out to answer these mysteries indicated with the means and expertise of astronomy, opening the door to a richer experience of human culture and its relationship with nature. Each subject is carefully analyzed. As an example using the study of sky paintings by Vincent van Gogh, the analytical method would include: - computer calculations of historical skies above France in the 19th century - finding and quoting the clues found in translations of original letters by Van Gogh - making site visits to France to determine the precise locations when Van Gogh set up his easel and what celestial objects are depicted. For each historical event influenced by astronomy, there would be a different kind of mystery to be solved. As an example: - How can the phase of the Moon and time of moonrise help to explain a turning point of the American Civil War - the fatal wounding of Stonewall Jackson at Chancellorsville in 1863? For each literary reference to astronomy, it was determined which celestial objects were being described and making an argument that the author is describing an actual event. For example, what was the date of the moonlit scene when Mary Shelley first had the idea for her novel "Frankenstein?" These and more fun riddles will enchant and delight the fan of art and astronomy.
ISBN: 9781461484028Publication Date: 2013-10-03
Gravitational-Wave Physics and Astronomy by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebraryISBN: 9783527408863Publication Date: 2011-10-17
Modern Astrodynamics by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebraryISBN: 9780123735621Publication Date: 2006-10-19
Statistics, Data Mining, and Machine Learning in Astronomy by
As telescopes, detectors, and computers grow ever more powerful, the volume of data at the disposal of astronomers and astrophysicists will enter the petabyte domain, providing accurate measurements for billions of celestial objects. This book provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to the cutting-edge statistical methods needed to efficiently analyze complex data sets from astronomical surveys such as the Panoramic Survey Telescope and Rapid Response System, the Dark Energy Survey, and the upcoming Large Synoptic Survey Telescope. It serves as a practical handbook for graduate students and advanced undergraduates in physics and astronomy, and as an indispensable reference for researchers. Statistics, Data Mining, and Machine Learning in Astronomy presents a wealth of practical analysis problems, evaluates techniques for solving them, and explains how to use various approaches for different types and sizes of data sets. For all applications described in the book, Python code and example data sets are provided. The supporting data sets have been carefully selected from contemporary astronomical surveys (for example, the Sloan Digital Sky Survey) and are easy to download and use. The accompanying Python code is publicly available, well documented, and follows uniform coding standards. Together, the data sets and code enable readers to reproduce all the figures and examples, evaluate the methods, and adapt them to their own fields of interest. Describes the most useful statistical and data-mining methods for extracting knowledge from huge and complex astronomical data sets Features real-world data sets from contemporary astronomical surveys Uses a freely available Python codebase throughout Ideal for students and working astronomers
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-Ebook Central Academic CompleteISBN: 9780691151687Publication Date: 2014-01-12
Theoretical Astrophysics by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebraryISBN: 9783527669783Publication Date: 2013-07-26
Aero-Engg eBooks (WSU Access ID & Password Required)
Advances in Intelligent and Autonomous Aerospace Systems by
Research advances in embedded computational intelligence, communication, control, and new mechanisms for sensing, actuation, and adaptation hold the promise to transform aerospace. The result will be air and space vehicles, propulsion systems, exploration systems, and vehicle management systems that respond more quickly, provide large-scale distributed coordination, work in dangerous or inaccessible environments, and augment human capabilities. Advances in Intelligent and Autonomous Aerospace Systems seeks to provide both the aerospace researcher and the practicing aerospace engineer with an exposition on the latest innovative methods and approaches that focus on intelligent and autonomous aerospace systems. The chapters are written by leading researchers in this field, and include ideas, directions, and recent results on intelligent aerospace research issues with a focus on dynamics and control, systems engineering, and aerospace design. The content on uncertainties, modeling of large and highly non-linear complex systems, robustness, and adaptivity is intended to be useful in both the sub-system and the overall system level design and analysis of various aerospace vehicles.A broad spectrum of methods and approaches are presented, including: * Bio-Inspiration * Fuzzy Logic * Genetic Algorithms * Q-Learning * Markov Decision Processes * Approximate Dynamic Programming * Artificial Neural Networks * Probabilistic Maps * Multi-Agent Systems * Kalman, particle, and confidence filtering
ISBN: 9781600868979Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Aerospace Sensors by
Modern air and space craft demand a huge variety of sensing elements for detecting and controlling their behavior and operation. These sensors often differ significantly from those designed for applications in automobile, ship, railway, and other forms of transportation, and those used in industrial, chemical, medical, and other areas. This book offers insight into an appropriate selection of these sensors and describes their principles of operation, design, and achievable performance along with particulars of their construction. Drawn from the activities of the International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC), especially its Aerospace Technical Committee, the book provides details on the majority of sensors for aircraft and many for spacecraft, satellites, and space probes. It is written by an international team of twelve authors representing four countries from Eastern and Western Europe and North America, all with considerable experience in aerospace sensor and systems design. Highlights include: OCo coverage of aerospace vehicle classification, specific design criteria, and the requirements of onboard systems and sensors; OCo reviews of airborne flight parameter sensors, weather sensors and collision avoidance devices; OCo discussions on the important role of inertial navigation systems (INS) and separate gyroscopic sensors for aerospace vehicle navigation and motion control; OCo descriptions of engine parameter information collection systems, including fuel quantity and consumption sensors, pressure pick-ups, tachometers, vibration control, and temperature sensors; and OCo descriptions and examples of sensor integration."
ISBN: 9781606500613Publication Date: 2011-03-01
Damage Growth in Aerospace Composites by
This book presents novel methods for the simulation of damage evolution in aerospace composites that will assist in predicting damage onset and growth and thus foster less conservative designs which realize the promised economic benefits of composite materials. The presented integrated numerical/experimental methodologies are capable of taking into account the presence of damage and its evolution in composite structures from the early phases of the design (conceptual design) through to the detailed finite element method analysis and verification phase. The book is based on the GARTEUR Research Project AG-32, which ran from 2007 to 2012, and documents the main results of that project. In addition, the state of the art in European projects on damage evolution in composites is reviewed. While the high specific strength and stiffness of composite materials make them suitable for aerospace structures, their sensitivity to damage means that designing with composites is a challenging task. The new approaches described here will prove invaluable in meeting that challenge.
ISBN: 9783319040042Publication Date: 2015-01-07
Elements of Space Technology by
This book is written for an introductory course in space technology. It is intended for senior or graduate level aerospace engineering students and professional engineers seeking a thorough understanding of the aerospace aspects of space systems. As such it focuses on the primary physics and engineering fundamentals necessary to understand and design space based systems. The book does not include the basics of spacecraft electronics, because this is covered in many systems and electronics books and is typically covered in follow-up courses.
ISBN: 0124929400Publication Date: 1999-04-16
Emerging Space Markets by
This book analyzes the commercial space activities and commercialization processes of the last fifteen years and maps the future challenges that NewSpace companies will face developing commercial space markets. What is new and what has happened in these markets up till now? Is there a business case for private companies for commercial space? What are the targeted commercial space markets? Who are the future customers for commercial space transportation markets? How can NewSpace companies attract investors? Can we learn lessons from traditional space industries or other companies in other areas? In what way have the last fifteen years made a difference in the evolution of space markets? Is there a future for in-situ resource mining, space debris services, in-orbit satellite servicing and sub-orbital transportation? What are the lessons learned from ISS commercialization? In addition the reader will find a synopsis of several space transportation programs, commercial space markets, future Moon and Mars missions, in-situ resource exploitation concepts, space debris mitigation projects and sub-orbital commercial markets. Major lessons learned are identified, related to the attraction of first time customers and long term R&D funding, managing technological and market risks and developing new markets and applications.
ISBN: 9783662556672Publication Date: 2017-10-30
Introduction to Aerospace Materials by
The structural materials used in airframe and propulsion systems influence the cost, performance and safety of aircraft, and an understanding of the wide range of materials used and the issues surrounding them is essential for the student of aerospace engineering.Introduction to aerospace materials reviews the main structural and engine materials used in aircraft, helicopters and spacecraft in terms of their production, properties, performance and applications. The first three chapters of the book introduce the reader to the range of aerospace materials, focusing on recent developments and requirements. Following these introductory chapters, the book moves on to discuss the properties and production of metals for aerospace structures, including chapters covering strengthening of metal alloys, mechanical testing, and casting, processing and machining of aerospace metals. The next ten chapters look in depth at individual metals including aluminium, titanium, magnesium, steel and superalloys, as well as the properties and processing of polymers, composites and wood. Chapters on performance issues such as fracture, fatigue and corrosion precede a chapter focusing on inspection and structural health monitoring of aerospace materials. Disposal/recycling and materials selection are covered in the final two chapters. With its comprehensive coverage of the main issues surrounding structural aerospace materials,Introduction to aerospace materials is essential reading for undergraduate students studying aerospace and aeronautical engineering. It will also be a valuable resource for postgraduate students and practising aerospace engineers. Reviews the main structural and engine materials used in aircraft, helicopters and space craft in terms of their properties, performance and applications Introduces the reader to the range of aerospace materials, focusing on recent developments and requirements, and discusses the properties and production of metals for aerospace structures Chapters look in depth at individual metals including aluminium, titanium, magnesium, steel and superalloys
ISBN: 9780857095152Publication Date: 2012-05-23
Introduction to Space Systems by
The definition of all space systems starts with the establishment of its fundamental parameters: requirements to be fulfilled, overall system and satellite design, analysis and design of the critical elements, developmental approach, cost, and schedule. There are only a few texts covering early design of space systems and none of them has been specifically dedicated to it. Furthermore all existing space engineering books concentrate on analysis. None of them deal with space system synthesis - with the interrelations between all the elements of the space system. Introduction to Space Systems concentrates on understanding the interaction between all the forces, both technical and non-technical, which influence the definition of a space system. This book refers to the entire system: space and ground segments, mission objectives as well as to cost, risk, and mission success probabilities. Introduction to Space Systems is divided into two parts. The first part analyzes the process of space system design in an abstract way. The second part of the book focuses on concrete aspects of the space system design process. It concentrates on interactions between design decisions and uses past design examples to illustrate these interactions. The idea is for the reader to acquire a good insight in what is a good design by analyzing these past designs.
ISBN: 9781461437581Publication Date: 2012-08-15
Morphing Aerospace Vehicles and Structures by
Morphing Aerospace Vehicles and Structures provides a highly timely presentation of the state-of-the-art, future directions and technical requirements of morphing aircraft. Divided into three sections it addresses morphing aircraft, bio-inspiration, and smart structures with specific focus on the flight control, aerodynamics, bio-mechanics, materials, and structures of these vehicles as well as power requirements and the use of advanced piezo materials and smart actuators. The tutorial approach adopted by the contributors, including underlying concepts and mathematical formulations, unifies the methodologies and tools required to provide practicing engineers and applied researchers with the insight to synthesize morphing air vehicles and morphing structures, as well as offering direction for future research.
ISBN: 9780470972861Publication Date: 2012-04-09
Aero-Engg Conference Proceedings (WSU Access ID & Password Required)
2017 IEEE International Conference on Aerospace and Signals (INCAS) by ISBN: 9781538632802Publication Date: 2017- 2017 International conference of Electronics, Communication and Aerospace Technology (ICECA) by ISBN: 9781509056873Publication Date: 2017
