Connect with the Libraries
Have an idea for Subject of the Month?
September 2018
Selector: Monique Oldfield and Mike Hawthorne
150 years of distinguished faculty
Interdisciplining Digital Humanities by ISBN: 9780472072545Publication Date: 2015-01-05Interdisciplining Digital Humanities sorts through definitions and patterns of practice over roughly sixty-five years of work, providing an overview for specialists and a general audience alike. It is the only book that tests the widespread claim that Digital Humanities is interdisciplinary. By examining the boundary work of constructing, expanding, and sustaining a new field, it depicts both the ways this new field is being situated within individual domains and dynamic cross-fertilizations that are fostering new relationships across academic boundaries. It also accounts for digital reinvigorations of "public humanities" in cultural heritage institutions of museums, archives, libraries, and community forums.
The Big Book of Exit Strategies by ISBN: 9781938584244Publication Date: 2016-04-12Praise for Jamaal May: "Linguistically acrobatic [and] beautifully crafted. . . . [Jamaal May's] poems, exquisitely balanced by a sharp intelligence mixed with earnestness, makes his debut a marvel."--Publishers Weekly Following Jamaal May's award-winning debut collection,Hum(2013), these new poems explore parallel landscapes of the poet's interior and an insidious American condition.
Driving Detroit by ISBN: 9780812244298Publication Date: 2012-08-08For most of the twentieth century, Detroit was a symbol of American industrial might, a place of entrepreneurial and technical ingenuity where the latest consumer inventions were made available to everyone through the genius of mass production.
eBooks
Arsenal of Democracy by ISBN: 9780814339510Publication Date: 2013-10-01Throughout World War II, Detroit's automobile manufacturers accounted for one-fifth of the dollar value of the nation's total war production, and this amazing output from "the arsenal of democracy" directly contributed to the allied victory. In fact, automobile makers achieved such production miracles that many of their methods were adopted by other defense industries, particularly the aircraft industry. In Arsenal of Democracy: The American Automobile Industry in World War II, award-winning historian Charles K. Hyde details the industry's transition to a wartime production powerhouse and some of its notable achievements along the way. Hyde examines several innovative cooperative relationships that developed between the executive branch of the federal government, U.S. military services, automobile industry leaders, auto industry suppliers, and the United Automobile Workers (UAW) union, which set up the industry to achieve production miracles.
Architecture in Michigan by ISBN: 9780814317198Publication Date: 1982-09-01Architecture in Michigan, a pictorial survey of Michigan architecture from 1831 to the present, explores the architecture of Detroit and many other cities, towns, and villages. Here is Romantic Michigan, before the Civil War, with dozens of examples of Greek, Gothic, and Italian villas from Grosse lIe to Grass Lake, Tecumseh, and Ypsilanti, as well as Gothic churches. Then there is Glorious Michigan of the exuberant 1870s and 1880s, when architects evoked the Paris of the Second Empire and the doctrine of John Ruskin cast its peculiar spell. And Discreet Michigan, when the wealthy, following the lead of the Vanderbilts in New York, revived the Renaissance as the proper style for Michigan dynasties. And finally Modern Michigan, with Albert Kahn, the greatest factory architect in history, Eliel and Eero Saarinen, the talented Finns, the time when the buildings of modern Michigan began to acquire an international reputation. The expanded text of this unique book dips deep into Michigan history, covering every generation since Michigan entered the Union in 1837.
Wide Awake in Someone Else's Dream by ISBN: 9780814333822Publication Date: 2008-02-01Wide Awake in Someone Else's Dream is a collection of traveling poems written in Russia, Israel, Germany, and China that take the reader on a contemplative journey through both the geography of these countries and their cultures as well as through the inward mind of the narrator. As Liebler travels the world, he wrestles with themes of self-discovery, spirituality, identity, and change, and renders poems in his signature raw and defiant style. Thoughtful and direct, these poems look toward beauty and contemplation in a bitter world that has become fraught with mistrust and misunderstanding. Wide Awake in Someone Else's Dream is divided into four sections, the first three of which are set in specific locales--Russia, Germany, and Jerusalem. The final section is not limited to a single geographic location but still finds Liebler traveling through different lands and the resultant emotions of dislocation, alienation, and vulnerability that his surroundings provoke. Throughout this collection Liebler's poems touch on issues of political upheaval, exploitation, and corruption and look at the personal and spiritual transformation left in their wake. This ability to give readers a glimpse of a bleak global reality translated by a hopeful eye has earned Liebler's poems comparisons to the richly imagistic and spiritual work of George Trakl. In all, this collection is characterized by its calm and powerful voice, which has a musical sensibility in its spare and straightforward presentation. Fans of Liebler's work and general readers of poetry will enjoy Wide Awake in Someone Else's Dream.
Of Mice and Metaphors by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781506305615Publication Date: 2016-03-08In Of Mice and Metaphors, Second Edition, psychoanalyst and child treatment specialist Jerrold R. Brandell introduces a variety of dynamic strategies for therapists to understand and incorporate a child's own creative story-narrative into an organic and reciprocal treatment process leading to therapeutic recovery and healing. Engaging case histories encompassing a wide spectrum of childhood problems and emotional disorders are used to illustrate complex, effective strategies that include actual clients' stories and the author's response to their narratives.
Special Collection honoring WSU the memory and work of WSU faculty Dr. Jeheskel Shoshani
The Jeheskel (Hezy) Shoshani Library Endowed Collection (formerly known as the Elephant Research Foundation Library, or ERFL) is a diverse collection of information and display resources about elephants and their relatives, both past and present.
The collection of more than 1,100 items continues to grow. It contains published materials, archival material gathered and created by Shoshani during his research, and biological samples.
Subjects Include:
- Elephants
- Mammoths
- Biology
- Conservation
- Endangered Species
- Circuses
Faculty Publications by Wayne State University Press
- Faculty Publications WSU Press listThis is a short list of faculty publication put out by WSU Press
The Wayne State University Press is a distinctive urban publisher committed to supporting the core research, teaching, and service mission of WSU by generating high-quality scholarly and general-interest books of global importance.
Through its publishing program, the Press disseminates research, advances education, and serves the local community while expanding the international reputation of the Press and the University. Please click the Wayne State Press icon to see the list WSU Faculty publications published by the press.
Wayne State University Sesquicentennial
On May 18, in 1868, Wayne State University was officially founded as the Detroit Medical College. The first academic term began on Nov. 3, 1868. On April 22, 1956, the Michigan Legislature adopted Act 183 “to establish and regulate a state institution of higher learning to be known as Wayne State University.”
Throughout 2018, the WSU Libraries invite you to join us as we celebrate our University's rich history and sesquicentennial. The official celebration period will run from Jan. 1, 2018 to Nov. 1, 2018. In addition to the Subject of the Month displays, please check the University Calendar for Special Events and Exhibits.
Databases to find facutly research impact
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThis database is an online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).
- Scopus This link opens in a new window"Scopus is the world's largest abstracts database of 13,450 titles from more than 4,000 international publishers with access to over 25 million abstracts (going back to 1966)." Full-text is included for some citations.
Dissertations and Theses - from WSU and beyond
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global provides expanded access to international scholarly works from Europe and China in addition to the more than three million citations and one million full-text theses and dissertations found in the general ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.
- Digital Commons @ Wayne State University This link opens in a new windowDigital Commons is a service of the Wayne State University libraries. It provides a repository for Wayne State University research and scholarly output selected and deposited by the individual university departments and centers, and includes the full-text of WSU theses and dissertations.
ORCID ID
- ORCID IDA persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher. Used to ensure your work is recognized.
Picture of the Display
Follow the WSU Libraries
To keep up with library events and happenings, follow us on:
- WSU Libraries on Facebook
This link opens in a new window
- WSU Libraries on Twitter
This link opens in a new window
- WSU Libraries on Instagram
This link opens in a new window
- WSU Libraries YouTube Channel
This link opens in a new window
