Connect with the Libraries
Have an idea for Subject of the Month?
March 2019
Ellis Island, NYC Postcard circa 1930 from the Library of Congress
Selector: Michelle LaLonde
Immigration is very much in the news today--and has been a controversial issue throughout American history. This research guide will explore voluntary immigration to the United States, its history, and the law regarding immigration. The guide will also cover related concepts, including the process of people choosing to leave their own nation ("emigration"), the involuntary moving away by large groups of people from their home countries ("refugees"), and humanitarian laws allowing refugees to migrate to other countries ("asylum"). This guide will also provide some comparison to immigration-related laws and policies of other nations.
Databases (March 2019)
-
CRS reports This link opens in a new windowReports prepared by the Congressional Research Service for Members of Congress. Suggested search terms include: "asylum", "emigration", "immigration", and/or "refugee".
-
Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new windowBrill's database on foreign law includes a comparative law section on "Citizenship, Emigration, Immigration, & Nationality". *Requires sign on with WSU user name & password.
-
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowImmigration-related topics include: Children of Undocumented Immigrants, Human Trafficking, Immigration, Refugees in the United States, Sanctuary Cities, Undocumented Immigrants, and US Borders. *Requires sign on with WSU user name & password.
-
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowDetailed immigration statistics and tables are covered under the "Population: International Migration" category. *Requires sign on with WSU user name & password.
-
International Committee of the Red Cross This link opens in a new windowInternational humanitarian law, including the Geneva Convention, is available here under the "War & Law" link.
-
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law This link opens in a new windowImmigration-related issues are available under the subject of "International Humanitarian Law", "law of Treaties", and "Use of force, war, peace, and neutrality". *Requires sign on with WSU user name & password.
-
United Nations Official Document System This link opens in a new windowOfficial repository for documents published by the United Nations. The full text of documents dating back to 1992 is accessible in PDF in all official languages of the United Nations - Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish. ODS is the UN's Official Document Search System. You can search for UN documents by keywords, then narrow your search.
Electronic Journals, (March 2019)
-
European Journal of Migration and Law
Publication Date: 1999 - -
Georgetown Immigration Law Journal
by
Publication Date: 1985 -Academic journal focusing on emigration and immigration law of the United States.
-
Immigration and Nationality Law Review
Publication Date: 1976 -Long-running American journal, focusing on U.S. immigration and asylum law.
-
International Journal of Migration, Health and Social Care
Publication Date: 2005 -Published in association with the University of Kent, this journal focuses on the intersection between health, social work, and immigrant / refugee communitities.
-
Journal on Migration and Human Security
by
Publication Date: 2013 -
eBooks
-
The Ashgate research companion to migration law, theory and policy [electronic resource]
by
Publication Date: 2012*WSU Access ID & password required -
Deportation in the Americas : histories of exclusion and resistance
by
Publication Date: 2018*WSU Access ID & password required -
Immigration law [electronic resource] : a primer
by
Publication Date: 2009*WSU Access ID & password required
-
Outside justice [electronic resource] : immigration and the criminalizing impact of changing policy and practice
by
Publication Date: 2013*WSU Access ID & password required
Websites (March 2019)
-
e-CFR: Code of Federal Regulations: Title 8, Aliens and NationalityThe regulatory code of U.S. federal law that deals with immigration and naturalization through the Department of Homeland Security and the Department of Justice.
-
Freedom House DetroitLocal nonprofit organization that helps provide asylum seekers with shelter, legal assistance, and job training.
-
Government of Canada, "Immigration and Citizenship"Canadian government site with information for visiting, studying, working, or immigrating to the country.
-
International Institute of Metropolitan Detroit: Immigration Legal ServicesNonprofit organization in Detroit that provides free or low-cost legal services in non-employment related immigration matters.
-
National Park Service, Ellis IslandPart of the Statue of Liberty National Monument, Ellis Island was the historic facility in New York Harbor that processed more than 12 million newly-arrived immigrants to the United States. Ellis Island is now also home to the National Museum of Immigration.
-
United Nations, "Refugees and Migrants"The United Nations' official website that covers issues for migrants and refugees. Contains information on Compacts, news, and supporting documents generated during the Compact-making process.
-
United States Census Bureau, "Foreign Born"Official site on demographics about foreign-born populations within the United States; includes definitions, links to statistical data, news, and related sites.
-
United States Code, Title 8--Aliens and NationalityA collection of the United States' statutory laws regarding immigration and naturalization, hosted by the House of Representatives' official website.
-
United States Customs and Immigration ServicesThe official website of the U.S. government's immigration services. Contains official forms, practice tests, and statutory / regulatory law relating to immigration.
-
USA.gov, Immigration & CitizenshipAn official U.S. government site that helps answer questions regarding issues including U.S. residency, obtaining "green" cards, and the requirements for obtaining U.S. citizenship.
-
Wayne State University Law School: Asylum & Immigration ClinicPage describes the types of services available for immigrants and asylum-seekers, and contact information for appointments with clinic staff.
Films & Videos (March 2019)
-
CBC, "How is Canada's Immigration System Different from the U.S?"Short video (produced by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation) describing the differences between the immigration policies of Canada and the United States. *Total time: 2:32 minutes.
-
-
Climate refugees : The global human impact of climate change
by
Publication Date: 2016Movie depicting how climate change can lead to people leaving their home regions or nations, and find new places to live. Available via Kanopy Streaming Service. *WSU Access ID & password required.
-
Frontline, “Separated: Children at the Border” (July 31, 2018)Recent episode of PBS' "Frontline" series; total time: 54:53 minutes. Other related episodes of that deal with immigration to the U.S. include: “Immigration Battle” (October 20, 2015) and “Lost in Detention” (October 18, 2011).
-
Harvest of Loneliness : the Bracero Program byPublication Date: 2010Available online via Films On Demand streaming service. *Requires WSU user name and password to access.
-
"The History of Immigration to the United States"Produced by "Business Insider", this excellent short animated video tracks immigration to the United States from 1790 to the present with maps and counters, using data provided by the U.S. Census, Homeland Security, and the Ellis Island Museum. *Total time: 3:45 minutes.
-
Remittance
by
Publication Date: 2015Available via Kanopy Streaming Service. *Requires WSU user name and password to access.
Podcasts
-
Frontline, "The Boy in the Caravan"A collaboration between PBS's "Frontline" program and PRI"s "The World", this episode follows a teenager from El Salvador trying to migrate to the United States.
-
Frontline, "Muzamil's Day"This episode--intended for older children--has a Somali boy in a refugee camp answering questions from American children.
Follow the WSU Libraries
To keep up with library events and happenings, follow us on:
Picture of the Display
Books in Print
-
Adapting Police Services to New Immigration
by
Call Number: HV 7936 .P8 C844 2004ISBN: 1593320434Publication Date: 2004 -
At America's Gates
by
Call Number: E 184 .C5 L523 2003Publication Date: 2003With the Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882, Chinese laborers became the first group in American history to be excluded from the United States on the basis of their race and class. The landmark law changed the course of U.S. immigration history, but we know little about its consequences for the Chinese in America or for the United States as a nation of immigrants. This book explores how Chinese exclusion laws transformed Chinese American lives, immigration patterns, identities, and families and recast the United States into a "gatekeeping nation." -
-
The Child in International Refugee Law
by
Call Number: KZ 6530 .P63 2017Publication Date: 2017In increasing numbers,children are attempting to find international protection, and are forced to navigate complex administrative and legal processes. Drawing on an extensive analysis of jurisprudence of common law nations, this book assesses the extent these challenges under international refugee law and international law on the rights of the child. The result is the first comprehensive study in which these two mutually reinforcing legal regimes can interact to strengthen the protection of refugee children. -
Controlling Immigration
by
Call Number: JV 6271 .C66 2004Publication Date: 2004This work provides a systematic, comparative study of immigration policy and policy outcomes in industrialized democracies. This edition includes in-depth examinations of the USA, Great Britain, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, and Japan, Canada, Australia, the Netherlands, and South Korea. Each national profile addresses why certain immigration control measures were chosen, and the reasons these measures usually failed to achieve their stated objectives. New portions discuss the growing trend of migration of highly skilled professional workers. -
Encyclopedia of North American Immigration
by
Call Number: JV 6465 .P68 2005Publication Date: 2005The transformation of the culture of the North American continent since the 15th century is one of the great historical events of the past 500 years. The Encyclopedia of North American Immigration is a solid, comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia consisting of more than 300 A-to-Z entries on events, themes, people, places, and legislation related to immigration. This reference provides straightforward and concise information on the groups, policies, and events that defined the world's greatest migration of peoples and their reception in North America. Each article includes an extensive, up-to-date bibliography that will provide every reader with the necessary resources for further research. -
Forging Diaspora
by
Call Number: E 184 .C97 G875 2010Publication Date: 2010Cuba's geographic proximity to the United States and U.S. imperial designs following the War of 1898 led to the creation of a unique relationship between Afro-descended populations in the two countries. This book shows that the cross-national relationships nurtured by Afro-Cubans and black Americans helped shape the political strategies of both groups as they attempted to overcome a shared history of oppression and enslavement. Drawing on archival sources in both countries, this volume illustrates the hidden histories of cultural interaction. -
Immigration and Integration in Canada in the Twenty-First Century
by
Call Number: JV 7225.2 I55 2008Publication Date: 2008This book looks at the social, cultural, economic, and political integration of new comers and minorities and establishes measures for assessing the success of integration practices. It presents overviews of issues related to integration. -
Immigration and Women
by
Call Number: JV 6602 .P43 2011Publication Date: 2011Immigration and Women is a national portrait of immigrant women who live in the United States today, featuring the voices of these women as they describe their contributions to work, culture, and activism. Through an examination of U.S. Census data and interviews with women across nationalities, we hear the words of these women as they describe the often confusing terrain where they are starting new lives. The authors recommend changes for public policy to address the constraints these women face, insisting t new policy must be attentive to the diverse profile of today's immigrating woman. -
Immigration Law and Procedure in a Nutshell
by
Call Number: KF 4819.85 .W45 2017Publication Date: 2017This compact, comprehensive title offers a thorough overview of the history, constitutional basis, statutory structure, regulatory provisions, administrative procedure, and ethical principles related to immigration law and practice. Updated to reflect developments since the 2016 Presidential election, it is valuable both as a teaching and a practice reference. -
The International Legal of Protection of Persons in Humanitarian Crises
by
Call Number: KZ 6471 .C83 2017Publication Date: 2017Behind the images of devastating natural disasters or massive forced displacements resulting from armed conflicts, is the suffering faced by individuals and families. Several recent large-scale events have prompted an increasing debate regarding the international legal mechanisms to protect persons in humanitarian crises. The International Legal Protection of Persons in Humanitarian Crises argues that an acquis humanitaire is identifiable through existing and emerging international, regional and national laws, policies and practices for the protection of persons caught up in humanitarian crises. -
Kurzban's immigration law sourcebook : a comprehensive outline and reference tool
by
Call Number: KF 4819 .K87 2018/19Publication Date: 2018/19A comprehensive, one volume reference work for attorneys or academics. Contains all related federal regulations, statutes, and forms needed in U.S. immigration law practice.
-
The Law of Refugee Status
by
Call Number: KZ 6530 .H38 2014Publication Date: 2014The Law of Refugee Status is generally regarded as the seminal text on interpreting the refugee definition set by the UN's 1951 Refugee Convention. Its groundbreaking analysis served as the bedrock for not only much judicial reasoning and academic literature in law and related fields. This edition also undertakes an analysis of the jurisprudence of leading common law and select civil law nations. The authors provide responses to the most difficult questions of refugee status in a clear and direct way. The result is a comprehensive and global analysis of the central question in asylum law: who is a refugee? -
Operation Gatekeeper
by
Call Number: JV 6483 .N47 2002Publication Date: 2002By 1994 American anti-immigration rhetoric had reached a fevered pitch, while migrants entered the U.S. nightly. In response, the INS launched "Operation Gatekeeper," the centerpiece of the Clinton administration's unprecedented effort to "regain control" of our borders. This book details the administration's dramatic overhaul of the San Diego-Tijauna border (the busiest land crossing in the world.) -
The Oxford Handbook of American Immigration and Ethnicity
by
Call Number: JV 6450 .O94 2016Publication Date: 2016The Oxford Handbook of American Immigration and Ethnicity explores how Americans think of themselves. Since the 1965 Immigration Act opened the gates to newer groups, historical writing on immigration and ethnicity has evolved over the years to include numerous immigrant sources and to provide analyses of American immigration and ethnicity. This handbook brings together thirty leading scholars in the field to examine topics including pan-ethnicity, whiteness, intermarriage, bilingualism, religion,naturalization, census categorization, immigration legislation, ethnicity-related crime and gang formation. -
Public Attitudes Toward Immigration in the United States, France, and Germany
by
Call Number: JV 6455 .F47 2000Publication Date: 2000Public Attitudes toward Immigration in the United States, France, and Germany explores the causes of public opposition to immigration and support for anti-immigrant political movements in the three industrialized Western countries. The book evaluates the effects of cultural marginality, economic self-interest, and contact with immigrants. -
Religion and Immigration
by
Call Number: BL 2525 .R456 2003Publication Date: 2003Since its inception, the United States has defined itself as a nation of immigrants and a land of religious freedom. But following September 11, 2001 American openness to immigrants and openness to other beliefs have come into question. "Religion and Immigration" provides comparative perspectives on Protestants, Catholics, Muslims and Jews entering the American scene. -
Stories of Gay and Lesbian Immigration
by
Call Number: HQ 76.8 .A8 H37 2002Publication Date: 2002This book examines the Australian government's innovative immigration program for same-sex couples. Covering the early 1980s to 2000, it analyzes the Australian government's reasons for recognizing the validity of same-sex couples and scrutinizes the emotional and social implications of government policies for these couples. Issues covered include HIV/AIDS, proving homosexuality, migration stress, dealing with bureaucracy, financial dependency, and failure in relationships.
Special Collections in the WSULS
-
Emigration to America. Hints to emigrants from Europe, who intend to make a permanent residence in the United States, on subjects economical and political affecting their welfare: drawn up especially for their use, in July last. By the Shamrock society of
by
Call Number: E 165 .S50Publication Date: 1817Advice book for people considering emigrating from Ireland to the United States in the 1810's.