Connect with the Libraries
Have an idea for Subject of the Month?
Special Collections: Selections on Art of the Far East, December 2019
Selectors: Special Collections Team - Jan Bissett, Richard Buboltz, Rachael Clark, Alison Greenlee, Ella Hu, Cindy Krolikowski, Amelia Mowry, and Monique Oldfield
"Slow Loris", Plate No. 1, Chinese Natural History Drawings
Please visit our Special Collections displays in the lobby of the Purdy Kresge Library and the Richard and Dr. Candace Beutell Gardner Special Collections and Rare Book Room, located in the Walter P. Reuther Library.
Special Collections in the WSULS
- Chinese Painting in Hawaii in the Honolulu Academy of Arts and in private collections byPublication Date: 1965
- Chung-kuo chien chu ts'ai hua t'u an / Pei-ching wên wu chêng li wei yüan hui Pien.Publication Date: 1955
- Decorative Motives of Oriental Art byPublication Date: 1927
- Japanese Colour-Prints and their Designers byPublication Date: 1913
- Kyoto Woodcuts byPublication Date: 1978
- Tanrokuban byPublication Date: 1984
- Treasures of the Shosoin byPublication Date: 1965
- Ukiyo-e, "The Floating World"Publication Date: 1962
Charles Lang Freer, the Aesthetic Movement, Arts of Asia and the Wayne State Connection
Explore these Museums' Online Collections
Wayne State University Press
The Wayne State University Press is a distinctive urban publisher committed to supporting the core research, teaching, and service mission of WSU by generating high-quality scholarly and general-interest books of global importance.
Through its publishing program, the Press disseminates research, advances education, and serves the local community while expanding the international reputation of the Press and the University.
Follow the WSU Libraries
To keep up with library events and happenings, follow us on:
- WSU Libraries on Facebook
This link opens in a new window
- WSU Libraries on Twitter
This link opens in a new window
- WSU Libraries on Instagram
This link opens in a new window
- WSU Libraries YouTube Channel
This link opens in a new window
Picture of the Display
eBooks
Contemporary Asian Art and Exhibitions: Connectivities and World-Making by ISBN: 9781925022001
Books
- Blue and White: the Cotton Embroideries of Rural China byPublication Date: 1977
- Bright as Silver White as SnowPublication Date: 1998
- Brush and Clay: Chinese Porcelain of the Early Twentieth CenturyPublication Date: 1990
- Chinese Paintings of the Middle Qing Dynasty byPublication Date: 1987
- Treasures of Imperial Japan byPublication Date: 1994
- Twelve Centuries of Japanese Art from the Imperial CollectionsPublication Date: 1997
- When Silk was Gold: Central Asian and Chinese Textiles byPublication Date: 1997
Databases
- Amica Art Library This link opens in a new windowThe AMICA Library contains works of art from the collections of prominent museums worldwide. Cultures and time periods range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works. Types of works include paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, and photographs, as well as textiles, costumes, jewelry, decorative art, books and manuscripts. This is a subscription based collection.
- Art Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers more than 250 key international, English-language arts publications, includes periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition and award notices, exhibition listings, interviews, film reviews, and so forth.
- Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowCovers 55 years of art journalism. Besides periodicals, users have access to data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins. The Index helps users find contemporary art criticism at the time of its debut, track the body of work of an artist or movement, and find artist interviews and other commentary. Includes sources published in English as well as French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch.
