Connect with the Libraries
Have an idea for Subject of the Month?
August 2019
Selector: Karen Liston
The waning days of summer before the school year starts is the perfect time to renew your mind! The collection for this month includes journeys, destinations, and experiences that explore various approaches and cultural paths to spirituality, enlightenment, and tranquility. Relax and Enjoy!
Literary Pilgrimages
A Two-Spirit Journey: the autobiography of a lesbian Ojibwa-Cree elder by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780887558122Publication Date: Winnipeg, Manitoba : University of Manitoba Press,2016.A compelling, harrowing, but ultimately uplifting story of resilience and self-discovery, this is Ma-Nee Chacaby's extraordinary account of her life as an Ojibwa-Cree lesbian. Chacaby's story is one of enduring and ultimately overcoming the social, economic, and health legacies of colonialism. Her memoir provides unprecedented insights into the challenges still faced by many Indigenous people.
Siddhartha by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781497684348Publication Date: Open Road Media, 2015The enchanting story of one man's journey in search of enlightenment. First published in Germany in 1922, Siddhartha grew in popularity through the 1960s, when it became a touchstone of the American counterculture movement.
The Divine comedy of Dante Alighieri / the Italian text with a translation in English blank verse and a commentary by Call Number: [Electronic Book]Publication Date: 1918-1921The three volumes linked here are provided through HathiTrust.org
Vol. 1 (Inferno) https://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.32044011816196
Vol. 2 (Purgatorio) https://hdl.handle.net/2027/mdp.39015014742350
Vol. 3 (Paradiso) https://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.32044020507604
The Canterbury Tales by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780192833600Publication Date: New York: Oxford University Press, 1998David Wright's translation into modern verse, makes this great work of English literature accessible while preserving the wit and vivacity of Chaucer's original text.
Databases August, 2019
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowThe ALTA (American Theological Library Association) database includes all fields of religion and theology. Journals indexed are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope. Coverage includes human culture and society; world religions and religious studies, archaeology, antiquities, church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; theology, philosophy, and ethics.
Wayne State University Press
The Wayne State University Press is a distinctive urban publisher committed to supporting the core research, teaching, and service mission of WSU by generating high-quality scholarly and general-interest books of global importance.
Through its publishing program, the Press disseminates research, advances education, and serves the local community while expanding the international reputation of the Press and the University.
I Got to Keep Moving : Stories by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780814345931Publication Date: Detroit : Wayne State University Press, 2018In the twenty-five linked short stories in his collection, celebrated Detroit author Bill Harris vividly and deftly describes the inner and outer lives of a wide cast of characters as they navigate changing circumstances in the southern United States, pre- and post-Civil War. Addressing vital aspects of life--hope, family, violence, movement, and memory--I Got to Keep Moving is as mesmerizing as it is revealing. A veritable Canterbury Tales, the book follows a group of African Americans, beginning in the 1830s on a plantation in the fictional town of Acorn, Alabama, as they head north, and ending in the Midwest in the 1940s.
Pilgrim Journey : Autobiography by Call Number: UGL Stacks: PS 3525 .A318 Z46 2006ISBN: 9780916418977Publication Date: Detroit, Mich. : Lotus Press, 2006Award-winning poet Naomi Long Madgett describes the people and events that influenced her life and work. Pilgrim Journey presents Madgett's successes and her disappointments, along with her personal beliefs and values. The book also demonstrates the positive impact she has had on others through poetry, teaching, and editing and publishing books by other African American poets.
Journey to a Nineteenth-Century Shtetl by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780814334218Publication Date: Detroit : Wayne State University Press, 2008Originally published in Warsaw in 1913, this beautifully written memoir offers a panoramic description of the author's experiences growing up in Kamieniec Litewski, a Polish shtetl connected with many important events in the history of nineteenth-century Eastern European Jewry.
Picture of the Display
Streaming Videos
Sacred Journeys by Call Number: [Kanopy Streaming Video]Publication Date: PBS, 2014Sacred Journeys takes viewers on some of the most celebrated, challenging and spectacular religious pilgrimages on earth. In this landmark six-part series, we travel with American pilgrims looking to transform their lives as they visit places deeply meaningful to their faith, with privileged access to places rarely seen by viewers before. Journeys include: The Hajj, Jerusalem, Kumbh Mela, Lourdes, Osun-Osogbo, and Shikoku.
Maidentrip: A Teen's Solo Voyage Around the World by Call Number: [Kanopy Streaming Video]Publication Date: 201314-year-old Laura Dekker sets out - camera in hand - on a two-year voyage in pursuit of her dream to be the youngest person ever to sail around the world alone. Laura eventually finds herself far from land, family and unwanted attention, exploring the world in search of freedom, adventure, and distant dreams of her early youth at sea.
Labyrinth Journeys by Call Number: [Kanopy Streaming Video]Publication Date: 2016People are finding comfort and meaning in the labyrinth, an ancient symbol and structure which is more than 4,000 years old. "Labyrinth Journeys" visits labyrinths on a green roof, in a garden, at a school, a hospital, a cathedral, and two military medical facilities. Adults, teenagers and children describe how they use this pathway as a tool for healing, rehabilitation, meditation, stress reduction, spiritual awareness, and playful exploration.
Common roads - pilgrimage and backpacking in the 21st century by Call Number: [Kanopy Streaming Video]Publication Date: 2013Anthropologist and filmmaker Tommi Mendel's PhD Thesis (University of Zurich) follows two young women over a three year period - one along the Way of St. James -- a centuries old pilgrimage route -- through France and Spain, and another backpacking through Thailand, Cambodia and Laos.
The Professor: Tai Chi's Journey West by Call Number: [Kanopy Streaming Video]Publication Date: 2016a feature documentary about Tai Chi and one of its greatest masters, Cheng Man-Ching, a man who brought Tai Chi and Chinese culture to the West during the swinging, turbulent 60's. Though Cheng is an important transformational figure, his teachings have been overlooked. This documentary film tells the story of his remarkable life and features Tai Chi as a martial art and a spiritual practice.
eBooks
The psychological journey to and from loneliness : development, causes, and effects of social and emotional isolation by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780128156193Publication Date: London : Academic Press, 2019This book addresses what was termed the plague of the 21st century--loneliness. Stigmatized in our society, untold number of people walk around lonely, unable to do what is so naturally called for--make their suffering known, and approach others for company and support. This book highlights not only the experience and what can be done about it, but also the experiences that influence it (i.e., our childhood, cultural and religious influences, and our way of life).
Journey to Heaven : exploring Jewish views of the afterlife by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9789655240788Publication Date: 2015-02-17A number of the basic tenets of Jewish belief regarding the afterlife, resurrection, immortality, judgment, messianism, and the world to come are laid out in this fascinating and accessible volume.
Healing Spaces: the science of place and well-being by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780674033368Publication Date: Cambridge, Mass. : Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2009A respected neuroscientist shows how some surroundings - from hospital rooms with windows to traditional religious shrines - can greatly improve healing from illness, and shows ways to create a healthier environment.
Jade Mountains and Cinnabar Pools : The History of Travel Literature in Imperial China by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780295744469Publication Date: Seattle, WA: University of Washington Press, 2018Focusing on pre-modern travel literature written in classical Chinese, this volume traces this literary genre from the Six Dynasties through the late Ming. The author balances analysis and translated of excerprts from representative essays.
Follow the WSU Libraries
To keep up with library events and happenings, follow us on:
- WSU Libraries on Facebook
This link opens in a new window
- WSU Libraries on Twitter
This link opens in a new window
- WSU Libraries on Instagram
This link opens in a new window
- WSU Libraries YouTube Channel
This link opens in a new window
