Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Research Workshops: Information

Library Research Workshops

research workshop logo

The Libraries have far more to offer than you may realize! Our Thursday Library Workshop Series explores resources and services that can help you with research, projects, citations and more. From online and in-person services, to new tools and apps, these workshops will teach you tips and tricks to make your work easier and more efficient. All sessions will be offered online. Visit the link below for a full list of sessions and descriptions.

Join us every Thursday at Noon on Zoom. Click here to register and get the Zoom link.

You should use your WSU Zoom account to access the workshop. Here are directions to create your WSU licensed Zoom account.

Schedule

Fall 2021 Library Research Workshop Series Schedule

Click Here to Register and Get the Link to Connect to Workshop on Zoom. You should use your WSU Zoom Account

All workshops start at Noon on Thursdays.

September 9 

Welcome to the Libraries with Veronica Bielat, Student Success Librarian

Get a fresh start on the semester and learn about all the libraries have to offer, both virtually and in-person. We'll start with a quick tour of our librarian reference and appointment services, interlibrary loan, study room reservations and technology resources including the tech bunker. We'll also do a quick intro to finding and accessing full-text scholarly articles online using the libraries. Hope to see you on Zoom for this welcome back to WSU! This live 45 minute workshop is aimed toward undergraduate and graduate students who are new to Wayne State University.

This workshop was cancelled due to technical difficulties.

See our Library Access & Services guide for information on using the libraries, accessing articles and books, technology, how to get help and more.

Feedback Survey: https://acrl.projectoutcome.org/responses/40783

September 16

Getting Started with Zotero - Manage Your References and Create Citations with Veronica Bielat, Student Success Librarian

Citations can be a pain. Learn how this Zotero can help you organize your information sources and use this free app to seamlessly integrate in-text citation and create a bibliography directly in Word, Google Docs and LibreOffice. This 45 minute live introductory workshop is appropriate for any students, faculty, or staff who work on research papers or projects.

Workshop Recording

Feedback survey: https://acrl.projectoutcome.org/responses/40923

September 23

Finding Scholarly Research Articles with Summon and More with Veronica Bielat, Student Success Librarian

Are you required to find peer-reviewed scholarly articles for your research papers and projects? Learn how to use the special tools in Summon and other library databases to easily locate quality resources. Students would benefit most from this introductory 30-minute live workshop.

Feedback survey: https://acrl.projectoutcome.org./responses/41042

 

September 30

WorldCat - Exploiting Information in the World's Libraries with Karen Liston, Subject Specialist Librarian for African American Studies, Asian Studies  Classical, Education, English Language Institute, German Studies, Global Studies, Linguistics, Near Eastern Studies, Office of International Students & Scholars, Romance Languages, Slavic Studies  

WorldCat enables access to library catalog records worldwide. We’ll explore non-English and multi-lingual Subject Headings, Tables of Contents, active links, places of publication, and holdings links as well as how to request materials. This 45 minute live workshop is for both introductory and intermediate audiences of graduate students, faculty, and staff.

October 7

We Can Get That! Using Interlibrary Services

The WSU Libraries have extensive online and print collections, but there are still materials we do not have in our collections. Learn how to use our free Interlibrary Services to request articles, books, book chapters and more. Students, faculty and staff who are unfamiliar with Interlibrary Loan services can benefit from this 30 minute live workshop.

October 14

Researcher Impact and Managing Profiles in Google Scholar and More with Clayton Hayes, Subject Specialist Librarian for Engineering, Honors College Kinesiology, Health & Sport Studies, Mathematics & Urban Studies and Urban Planning

Services like Scopus, Web of Science, and Google Scholar automatically create profiles for authors, but one author may end up with multiple profiles. This session will show you how to manage these profiles to better capture your impact. This 30 minute live introductory workshop is suitable for graduate students and faculty.

October 21

Research in the Archives with Meghan Courtney, Outreach Archivist

Archival sources allow you to include first-person perspectives and offer original analysis of the past, but they can be complicated to find! Learn some tips and tricks for finding the source you need at Wayne State's Reuther Archives. This 45 minute introductory workshop is suitable for everyone in our WSU community.

October 28

Accessing Articles and Keeping Up-to-Date: Browzine, LibKey and other apps with Amelia Mowry, Metadata Librarian and Veronica Bielat, Student Success Librarian

This session will introduce researchers to some useful tools to help them keep up to date with their areas of interest. We will demonstrate how to use apps like Browzine and set up alerts in databases for notification when new content of interest becomes available. This 30 minute live introductory workshop is great for graduate students and faculty.

November 4

Managing Your Research Photos with Tropy: Free, Open-Source Software with Alexandra Sarkozy, Subject Specialist Librarian for Nursing, Biomedical Engineering, History & Philosophy

Are you planning a trip to the archives? Do you have a drive filled with photos from a previous trip to the archives? Learn how to use Tropy, a free, open-source software (https://tropy.org)  to organize, tag, and use your research photos. This is a 45 minute live introductory workshop best suited for graduate students and faculty.

November 11

Using Styles to Format your Reference Lists in Microsoft Word with Cheryl Ball, Director of the Digital Publishing Collaborative

Tired of having to reformat the design of your reference list/bibliography when you add information to a citation? Want to automate the styling to make life easier? Learn about the Styles pane and keyboard shortcuts to make beautiful bibliographies. This 30 minute recorded introductory workshop is suitable for all students, faculty, and staff.

November 18

Roper iPoll: an Introduction with Monique Oldfield, Subject Specialist Librarian for Social Work, Sociology, Gerontology, Foundation Center, Anthropology, Criminal Justice, and Public Health (CLAS)

Learn more about the resource Roper iPoll which provides access to various polls. This unique library resource is great for assignments requiring data on attitudes, opinions, and social change. This 30 minute recorded workshop is designed for graduate students and faculty who would like to learn more about working with polling data.