Intaglio & LithographySerigraphy & Photo ProcessesRelief Printing, Papermaking, & Book Arts
Databases & Electronic ResourcesBooks
African ArtContemporary ArtEgyptian Art
This is the "Welcome/Art News" page of the "Art and Art History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art and Art History  

Last Updated: Aug 19, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.wayne.edu/artarthistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Welcome/Art News Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Art Research - eBook

For online access, click on the book's title below.

Local Art News

  • Motown Review of Art Blog
    "A blog about visual art (and sometimes other aspects of culture) in Detroit and environs."
    By Vince Carducci - Kresge Artists Fellowship recipient.

  • Michigan Modern Project
    Michigan Modern is a project being undertaken by Michigan’s State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) to document the state’s Modern design heritage from 1940-1970.
    The web site is full of information and images related to notable architects, architectural firms and designers who did work of importance in Michigan.
    It will identify the Michigan-based architects and designers that championed the Modern Movement and capture their oral histories. (from their web site)

Art World News

  • artdaily.org
    The first online art newspaper (1996) is chock full of art news and images from around the globe.
  • ArtsJournal
    "The site is a digest of some of the best arts and cultural journalism in the English-speaking world. Each day ArtsJournal features link to stories culled from more than 200 English-language newspapers, magazines and publications featuring writing about arts and culture." (from their web site)
  • The Art Newspaper
    Provides the latest news and views from the international art world.
  • MutualArt.com
    "...includes the world's largest online archive of over 150,000 art related articles from over 250 quality magazines, newspapers and journals, as well as providing a conduit for galleries, museums, auction houses, art fairs and publishers..."
    (NOTE: paid membership provides full access to all articles, etc.)
  • Vernissage TV: The Window to the Art World
    "VernissageTV (VTV) takes you to opening receptions (vernissages) of exhibitions and events. Online, worldwide, on demand. VernissageTV provides insight to the social side of the art world. For you, Vernissage TV is talking with artists in a relaxed style." fromt heir web site

 

Welcome!

Welcome to the guide for Art and Art History

I hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for your research in Art and Art History.  I have assembled a core collection of resources available through the Wayne State University Library System, as well as high quality, freely available web resources. This guide is a collaborative work-in-progress, developed with the suggestions and feedback from students and faculty.

I am available by appointment to assist students and faculty with research related to Art and Art History. You may also contact me to schedule research workshops for classes or to suggest items for purchase.

Diane Sybeldon

Librarian Liaison for Art and Art History

 

New Books in WSU Libraries

Loading Loading...
blank padding

University Art Collection

WSU's art collection includes close to 6,000 works of art.
The work of regional and Michigan artists from the mid to late twentieth century form the core of the collection, including a large number of pieces by Detroit's Cass Corridor artists.

University Art Collection
http://artcollection.wayne.edu/

Art at the Adamany
The Undergraduate Library displays numerous works from the collection. Here is a guide to their location:

http://artcollection.wayne.edu/publications/art_at_the_adamany_web_2014.pdf 

      

    Local Art Galleries and Museums

    • Art Detroit Now gallery links
      The "Find a Gallery" provides links to contemporary art at local galleries and museums.
      "Art Detroit Now was founded in 2006 by representatives of the leading contemporary arts organizations in metro-Detroit. Over the last three years, our group has worked, as one, to collaborate on exhibitions, programs and events and to increase awareness of the great art and artists that we have in our region..."

    Department of Art & Art History

    Departmental Homepage
    http://art.wayne.edu/

    Visual Resources Collection
    http://art.wayne.edu/vrc.php

    General Contact Information
    James Pearson Duffy Department of Art and Art History
    150 Art Building
    Detroit, MI  48202
    (313) 577-2980
    Fax (313) 577-3491
    art@wayne.edu

        

      Librarian Liaison

      Profile Image
      Diane Sybeldon
      Contact Info
      1210 Undergraduate Library
      5155 Gullen Mall
      Wayne State University
      Detroit, MI 48202
      Phone: 313-577-4480
      Fax: 313-577-5265
      Send Email
       

      Mobile Access

      Scan to access the mobile version of this guide with your Smartphone.

      Need Help?

      Chat or Email

      Ask A Librarian Logo

      JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

      Reference Desks

      Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
      Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
      Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
      Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip