The AMICA Library contains works of art from the collections of prominent museums worldwide. Cultures and time periods range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works. Types of works include paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, and photographs, as well as textiles, costumes, jewelry, decorative art, books and manuscripts. This is a subscription based collection.
Links to journals licensed by WSU and available online and listed under the subject heading "Art, Architecture and Applied Arts." Most of the journals are listed under "Visual Arts." The following are a few suggested journal titles: Advertising Age; Art Bulletin; Art Journal; Communication Arts; Creativity; Design Week; Graphic Arts Monthly, Graphis; Print.
Links to journals licensed by WSU and available online and listed under the subject heading "Journalism & Communications," and the subcategory "Communication & Mass Media." The following are a few suggested journal titles: Communication Review; Convergence; Journal of visual communication and image representation; Mass communication & society; Visual Communication (London, England); Visual Communication Quarterly.
Indexes & Abstracts
IMPORTANT NOTE: The databases listed below provide citations or abstract/summaries for articles and other resources. Use the "360 Link to Full Text" to read complete articles.
Covers the period 1984 - present, continues Art Index Retrospective, adding article summary/abstract descriptions. Includes 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations, and indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions, which provide examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. Covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture.
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU currently subscribes to the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VII, IX, X and XI Collections. Expanded access due to Covid-19 will end June 30, 2022.