Featured: Japanese Woodblock Prints
UKIYO-E Search
A wonderful resource for Japanese woodblock prints, dating from the early 1700s to the present. Includes the "ability to both search for Japanese woodblock prints by simply taking a picture of an existing print AND the ability to see similar prints across multiple collections of prints."
http://ukiyo-e.org/
UKIYO-E Blog
For the latest news and information.
http://blog.ukiyo-e.org/
Relief Printing-Books
Linoleum Block Printing by Call Number: NE 1330 .K3 1972ISBN: 0486203085Publication Date: 1972-06-01
Find books on relief printing under Call Numbers NE1000-1352.
Japanese Popular Prints by Call Number: NE 1321.8 .S25 2006ISBN: 0824830830Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Japanese Woodblock Printing by Call Number: NE 1310 .S25 2002ISBN: 0824825535Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Featured Process
Relief Printing-Other Resources
- John Steins Relief Printing BlogMany posts, articles, resources, and faqs about various relief printing methods.
Processes: Relief Printing
From the Minneapolis Institute of Art's YouTube Channel
Book Arts-Books
Find books on Book Arts under Call Number N7433.
Book Art Object by ISBN: 9780981791401Publication Date: 2010-11-30There is a lot to look at - over 400 pages of images - in this survey of artists' books and book arts, from the first biennial Codex International Book Fair and Symposium: The Fate of the Art, Berkeley, Calif., 2007.
Talking the Boundless Book by Call Number: N 7433.3 .T36 1995ISBN: 1879832097Publication Date: 1995-11-01
Book Arts- Collections, Learning Centers, etc.
- Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection at SAICThis collection at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago (SAIC) includes over 6,000 artists' books. The database can be searched a number of ways, including by binding, materials, printing method, genre, etc.
- Center for Book ArtsFrom its website:
"The Center for Book Arts is committed to exploring and cultivating contemporary aesthetic interpretations of the book as an art object while invigorating traditional artistic practices of the art of the book."
Papermaking-Books
Handbook of Pulping and Papermaking by ISBN: 9780120973620Publication Date: 1996-07-22To read online, click on the title and then click "Connect to online resource".
Find books on papermaking under Call Numbers TS1080-1268.
The Art of Papermaking by Call Number: TS 1109 .T596 1983ISBN: 0871921405Publication Date: 1983-04-14
The Art and Craft of Papermaking by Call Number: TS 1124.5 .D38 1996ISBN: 1887374248Publication Date: 1999-12-31
Papermaking-Other Resources
- Hand PapermakingArticles for novice papermakers from the magazine's newsletter archives.
- Robert C. Williams Paper MuseumAt Georgia Tech's Institute of Paper Science and Technology
From the website:
"The Robert C. Williams Paper Museum is an internationally renowned resource on the history of paper and paper technology."