Photography Blogs
- DIA Blog: Photography"Every week DIA associate curator Nancy Barr will post about Detroit and DIA community-related photography events, exhibitions, and artists. From time-to-time, guest bloggers will join Barr. The site will also be home to announcements on upcoming online photo competitions and other photo-related and cultural offerings and events."
Librarian Liaison
Serena Vaquilar
Contact:
134 Purdy/Kresge Library
Phone: (313) 577-8368
Email: serena.vaquilar@wayne.edu
Research consultations available by appointment. Please email for times outside of appointment scheduler (above).
Phone: (313) 577-8368
Email: serena.vaquilar@wayne.edu
Research consultations available by appointment. Please email for times outside of appointment scheduler (above).
The World Through The Lens: a Primary Resource for Photography
- Gale Primary Sources Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowThe NCCO is a digitized collection of primary sources from the nineteenth century.
"The World Through the Lens" assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives from across the globe.
Library Reference Works for Photography
The concise Focal encyclopedia of photography : from the first photo on paper to the digital revolution by Call Number: TR 9 .C66 2008ISBN: 024080998XPublication Date: 2008Location: Undergraduate Library
Encyclopedia of twentieth-century photography by Call Number: TR 642 .E5 2006 OVERSIZEISBN: 1579583938Publication Date: 2006Location: Purdy-Kresge Reference
Licensed Photo Image Databases
Online Photo Collections
- CalPhotosUniversity of California, Berkeley database of images of plants, animals, fossils, people and landscapes from around the world
- Charles W. Cushman Photograph CollectionUniversity of Indiana collection of landscape photographs.
- International Center of Photography eMuseumThe print collection includes over 100,000 items including vintage photographs, slides, contact sheets, etc. The eMuseum is limited, but provides 16,000 images online.
- LIFE photo archive hosted by Google"Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google." (from their web site)
- Museum of Modern Art Photography CollectionMOMA began collecting modern photography in 1930. Holdings include more than 25,000 works.
- New York Public Library Digital GalleryOver 700,000 images digitized from the New York Public Library's collection
- VADSBritish image gallery containing images free for educational use.
- William Gedney Photographs and WritingsDuke University collection containing scenes of daily life across the United States and Europe.
Featured Web Resource
- Graphics AtlasFrom the Rochester Institute of Technology's Image Permanence Institute, this wonderful site provides an assist for photographers, printmakers and others interested in identifying various printing techniques on paper. Not always an easy task!
Featured Articles
- Photography After Conceptual ArtA Special Issue from the journal "Art History", December, 2009.
Volume 32, Issue 5, pages 825-1024.
Edited by Diarmuid Coastello and Margaret Iversen.
Indexes and Abstracts
- Art Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers more than 250 key international, English-language arts publications, includes periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition and award notices, exhibition listings, interviews, film reviews, and so forth.
- Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowThis database is a companion to Art Abstracts. It covers art journalism, from 1929-1984 "...Users can research English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Besides periodicals, users have access to data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins. (It) helps users find contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, track the body of work of an artist or movement, and find artists interviews and other commentary."
- Art bibliographies modern This link opens in a new windowModern and contemporary art, photography and design.
Full-Text Databases
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowCurrent art news and exhibit reviews in full text from over 50 newspapers. Click on News and search General News. (Availability varies by source).
- FirstSearch (All FirstSearch databases) This link opens in a new window"Parent database" offers 21 databases to search and includes citations and/or abstracts from Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Article First, MLA Bibliography and World Cat.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window"The scholarly journal archive". Provides full text access to back issues of key research journals in arts and sciences.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAccess to full text scholarly journals. (Availability varies by journal, but generally from 1996 onward).
Licensed Online Journals
Additional electronic journals can be located in the Online Journals section of the library's home page, under the Art, Architecture & Applied Arts subject heading.
- AfterimagePublished by the Visual Studies Workshop, contains media art information and cultural criticism.
- AperturePublished by the Aperture Foundation, an organization dedicated to the promotion of fine art photography.
- PDN (Photo District News)Professional photography news and reviews.
- PSA JournalOfficial journal of the Photographic Society of America.
Online Magazines
- F-StopContemporary photography from established and emerging photographers.
- 1000 Word PhotographyContemporary fine art photography from the UK.
- ahorn magazineInterviews, articles and galleries concentrating on emerging photographers.
- Colors MagazineEstablished and emerging photographers from around the world.