Research Guides: Art and Art History: Citation Help

Citation Linker: Finding a Specific Article

If you are looking for a specific article and you know its TITLE, the PUBLICATION it appeared in and other citation information, you can enter that information into our Citation Linker to see if Wayne State has acess to a copy of it.

Citation Linker [Library Site Link]
Does the WSU Library System have online access to your article? Find out here.

Citation Help

Chicago and Turabian style manuals in print, in the libraries

A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago style for students and researchers
by Kate L. Turabian, University of Chicago Press, 2007
LOCATION:
Purdy-Kresge Library Reserve LB 2369.T8 2007

The Chicago Manual of Style
University of Chicago Press, 2003, 15th edition
LOCATIONS:
Undergraduate Library Reserve Textbooks and
Purdy-Kresge Library Reference Desk
Z 253.U69 2003

Online sources:

Citing Images using Chicago Style
A Library Guide on citing images includes a number of samples. From University of Washingon
Duke University Library Guide: Starting Your Research tab
Scroll down to see a nice list of examples using Chicago style for bibliographies and footnotes.
Purdue Owl Chicago Manual of Style 16th Edition
From Purdue's Online Writing Lab.
"covers a variety of topics from manuscript preparation and publication to grammar, usage, and documentation and has been lovingly called the “editors’ bible.”
Focuses primarily on one of the two CMS documentation styles: the Notes-Bibliography System (NB), which is used by those in literature, history, and the arts. The other documentation style, the Author-Date System, is nearly identical in content but slightly different in form..."

Citation: MLA Style

Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide
"MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page." (from their web site)

How To Cite References Using MLA Style
by Veronica Bielat Last Updated Aug 8, 2024 753 views this year

RefWorks Citation Management

Refworks This link opens in a new window
Students, faculty, and staff must use a WSU email address (ending in "@wayne.edu") when creating RefWorks accounts. If you are a WSU affiliate and are having troubles creating a RefWorks accounts, please message ask@wayne.libanswers.com for assistance.

How to use RefWorks
Newly added citation management resource. Use this guide to help you set up a RefWorks account and learn how to manage your research.

Citation Management Options: Endnote, Zotero, and MS Office

How to use Endnote Research Guide
IMPORTANT NOTES:
WSU has a license for the citation software program, Endnote. WSU students and faculty can download the program for free.

The Endnote Library Guide includes information on using Endnote Web, using Endnote with MS Word, as well as the standard Endnote software program.
Tutorials for using Endnote, and (FREE) Zotero as well as MS Word Citation and Bibliography functions
Lots of information on using these powerful citation tools.

Citation: APA Style

OwL American Psychological Association (APA) Style
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing.
How To Cite References Using APA Style
A WSU Library Lib Guide, this includes lots of information on APA citation, including citation sample sheets, and Including DOI links (Digital Object Identifiers) in your citations.

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

Art and Art History

Citation Linker: Finding a Specific Article

Citation Help

Citation: MLA Style

RefWorks Citation Management

Citation Management Options: Endnote, Zotero, and MS Office

Citation: APA Style

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

Community

Sign In

Art and Art History

Citation Linker: Finding a Specific Article

Citation Help

Citation: MLA Style

RefWorks Citation Management

Citation Management Options: Endnote, Zotero, and MS Office

Citation: APA Style

Community

Sign In