Research Guides: OER Social Work: Home

What is OER?

It is openly licensed, which means it can be retained, reused, remixed, revised and redistributed (the “5 Rs”)

It is available without cost to the student

The content can be customized by you to meet your instructional goals

MI ExplOER
This asynchronous online course provides an introduction to OER for higher education. You will receive a Certificate upon successful completion. These modules should take less than 3 hours to complete.

Open Social Work Education (OSWE)
Resources hosted in the OER Commons.
Open Textbooks for Social Work Education
Maintained by LaSalle and Portland State Universities.

OER Repositories
OER Book Repositories
Canvas Commons
Search Social Work or topics in the Canvas Commons to locate resources created and shared by Social Work instructors and programs from WSU and other institutions.
Open Textbook Library
One of the best places to get started on your search. University of Minnesota's Open Textbook Library has curated a selection of quality open textbooks, and provides faculty reviews for many of the titles.

Are library subscriptions available to currently enrolled WSU students, faculty, and staff.

Include books, book chapters, articles, streaming media, learning guides, and other types of materials.

Accessible through permalinks in Canvas or any other web portal.

May have restrictions on simultaneous users.

Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods provides access to 1000+ books, encyclopedias, and journal articles, as well as innovative features, such as the Methods Map visual browse tool using a custom taxonomy of 700+ methods terms.

SAGE Research Methods Instructor Resources
Sample Assignments such as "Write a Research Proposal" and a faculty user guide.

AVON This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online idelivers more than 77,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Includes an app to create interactive lessons using video, with Canvas integrated gradebook functions.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
This resource is made possible through the partnership of the Center for Urban Studies and the University Library System. Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact.

Includes resources for instructors including Lecture Launchers and Training Modules.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
ICPSR is a serves member colleges and universities by providing access to a large archive of machine-readable social science data, training facilities in basic and advanced techniques of quantitative social analysis, and resources that facilitate the use of advanced computer technology by social scientists. The primary mission of the ICPSR Web site is to provide to the social science research community efficient search capabilities to facilitate quick and easy access to data.

ICPSR Teaching Resources
Includes data driven learning guides and teaching modules.