Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Electronic Encyclopedias and Dictionaries from the Library Catalog
Dictionary of Zoo Biology and Animal Management
This dictionary is intended as a guide to the terminology used in a wide range of animal-related programs of study including agriculture, animal care, animal management, animal production,animal welfare, veterinary nursing, wildlife conservation and zoo biology.
A Dictionary of Genetics
"Addresses the needs of students, educators, and clinical geneticists...that not only defines the latest terms but also presents important ancillary encyclopedic information." (From the publisher)
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals
This 3rd edition covers the ecology, behavior, conservation, evolution, form and function of whales, dolphins, seals, sea lions, manatees, dugongs, otters and polar bears.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
This is a revised and updated edition of one of the most authoritative and comprehensive sources on the world's animals. Similar to the first edition written by noted zoologist Bernard Grzimek and published in 1972, the second edition covers all types of animals in geographic areas around the world.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology is an authoritative newwork whose goal is to illuminate the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences.
Encyclopedia of Life
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is a project to organize and make available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth -- all known species, including their taxonomy, geographic distribution, collections, genetics, evolutionary history, morphology, behavior, ecological relationships, etc.
Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms
The National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) (National Institutes of Health) created the Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms to help everyone understand the terms and concepts used in genetic research. In addition to definitions, specialists in the field of genetics share their descriptions of terms, and many terms include images, animation and links to related terms.
Anatomy TV is a suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy. Supporting media, MRIs, X-rays, live-action movies and animations are also included to supplement the computer generated models.