Details the services San Jose Public Library has implemented in California to support their patrons experiencing homelessness. The library partnered with community agencies and the university to provide social workers, legal professionals, and other social service agencies to their patrons. It does also present programs that are beneficial to patrons. The conclusion provides information about the resources used for the city project and its reception.

Thesis paper published through the University of Minnesota. It discusses public libraries and their work in community outreach with examples of common practices; specifically, it covers how social workers in the public library support specialized needs for patrons like those who experience homelessness. 5 out of the 7 libraries surveyed had a social worker on site. The study supports social workers being on staff in addition to library staff training to better understand their patrons and social work practices.

Study records the benefits of social work and active available services in a public library. It indicates from the results that the library is seen as a safe, neutral space that is approachable to patrons. Students training in social work assisted the library in a small city to implement services. In order to meet the increasingly divergent and specific needs of patrons, social workers can aid libraries to provide the best service. Social work includes referrals to other services but it also includes working directly with patrons.

Provides perspective of public library staff and how frequently they deal with patrons, assisting mental health needs. The literature review references studies on statistics related to mental health. It educates readers about substance abuse and recovery management for individuals struggling with mental health concerns. The survey pulled from librarians across the country and the results stated the perceptions of staff workers. They perceived many people walking into the library as homeless alongside symptoms of mental health concerns. Library staff survey results also indicate the “somewhat” level of confidence in knowledge of mental health practices. Some library staff were interested in building on their previous knowledge, but if staff motivations are low it could hinder service for vulnerable patrons.

Presents a needs assessment and review of public library practices related to patrons with psychosocial needs. It explains how social workers are implemented in public library settings. It also addresses the gaps in knowledge library staff have regarding working with vulnerable patrons or patrons in crisis. The author provides conclusions on ways to integrate social work practices in the library through a social worker and additional training for staff.

This article presents the new needs for public library patrons from a needs assessment of a large metropolitan public library system. The author describes the rising frequency of patrons experiencing psychosocial needs and how social workers can help library staff by intervening in situations or by assisting references questions they cannot fulfill. The needs assessment for the study provided examples of ways to implement social workers in the library: running trainings and fostering community partnerships.

The study reviews perspectives of library staff working with patrons in crisis. It explains the changing needs of patrons and reviews staff working with those experiencing homelessness, dealing with symptoms of mental illnesses, or those struggling with substance abuse. It is a limited sample study but it does pose important points as to how library staff do not feel equipped to manage more vulnerable patron needs. Librarians see themselves as support for these types of patron needs but if a social worker was on staff, they could provide the best services for those scenarios.

Specifically reviews the academic library’s role in the main text, but in the literature review it provides background of the connections between the librarian and social worker professions. The review gives insight into how adding social worker services to the library fulfills the social justice role of their missions. It presents the experiences of the San Jose Public Library and San Francisco Public Library providing social worker services. The results of survey reviews pointed to high patron satisfaction with the new services. The author does explain the importance of meeting these new demands of service for both public and academic libraries. It is becoming more of a crucial service point for libraries to maintain.

This article provides insight into the role of librarians in the community and the necessary services they end up having to provide. It gives background on typical interactions librarians may experience and how it may be better suited to have social workers or community coordinators more frequently employed. It provides insight into the topic of possible benefits to the community in hiring social workers while training library staff in some of those skills as well.