Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Education Resources for Chemistry
5R's of Open
The 5 Rs of Open Educational Resources
Open Educational Resources (OER) differ from traditional educational resources in their licensing and permissions. Namely, the “open” aspect of OER can be defined by David Wiley’s 5R Framework.
- Retain the right to make, own, and control copies of the content
- Reuse the right to use the content in a wide range of ways (e.g., in a class, in a study group, on a website, in a video)
- Revise the right to adapt, adjust, modify, or alter the content itself (e.g., translate the content into another language)
- Remix the right to combine the original or revised content with other open content to create something new (e.g., incorporate the content into a mashup)
- Redistribute the right to share copies of the original content, your revisions, or your remixes with others (e.g., give a copy of the content to a friend)
*This material was created by David Wiley and published freely under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license at: http://opencontent.org/blog/archives/3221
Open Textbooks Are...
What is an open textbook?
Freely accessible textbooks, generally accessed online. Open Textbooks are part of the larger Open Educational Resources model, an effort to make high-quality learning materials freely available in electronic formats.
In general, open textbooks exhibit the following characteristics:
- Developed by teams of authors, paid by academic departments or supported by grants.
- Students pay nothing for online access, but may pay for print or specific electronic formats such as ePub.
- Can be modified by the instructor or the students
An e-textbook becomes "open" when its copyright-holder grants usage rights to the public through an "open license." which typically includes the right afforded by the 5 R's of open: the right to retain, reuse, revise, remix and redistribute.
Where can I find open textbooks?
Open Textbook Library
One of the best places to get started on your search. University of Minnesota's Open Textbook Library has curated a selection of quality open textbooks, and provides faculty reviews for many of the titles.
OER Searchable Repositories
A list of repositories that allows you to search for OER content by discipline, type, level and other criteria.
Mason OER Metafinder
A real-time, simultaneous search across 22* different sources of open educational materials from George Mason University.
Videos, lesson plans, texts and more. Most Creative Commons licensed. Includes resources like Khan Academy. Includes post-secondary materials.
Michigan Colleges Online (OER Commons Hub)
A growing set of high-quality OER curated by the Michigan Community College Association and its member colleges.
Merlot II (Multimedia Education Resource for Learning and Online Teaching)
Merlot II is a free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services. You can search by learning material type and collection. Create an account to create your own collections in Merlot, and use the content builder to create mash-ups of existing materials for your classroom.
The Orange Grove
Florida's digital repository of OER, this link takes you to the listing of Higher Education resources, searchable by discpline.
OSU ecampus OER
Listing of open textbooks, courses and learning objects.
The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.