Featured Resources!!
- Roper iPoll This link opens in a new windowA data source for US public opinion questions and answers from polls on important issues facing the country. Coverage from 1935 to present. The Polling results include academic, commercial and media (news) survey organizations.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new windowWant to know more about research methods and theories? Practice data analysis? Design a research project? Look no further!
- Gale Business DemographicsNow: Business & People This link opens in a new windowFind demographics, fast!
Finding Full Text
When the full text of an article is not available in a database, click the "360 Link" button 
.
The system will automatically search for full text, and return the article to you in a seperate window, if it is available online.
If you see a page that indicates the article is not available online, ie. "No full-text online holdings were found. See options below:" , click the "Request digital delivery" link below the message, and follow the instructions to obtain the article. Digital delivery sends a PDF version of the article to you. You will receive notice via email, usually within 48 hours.
If you continue to have difficulty retrieving the article, contact Ask-a-Librarian or a reference desk at one of the libraries.
Starting Points
These databases cover a wide range of topics and are often a good place to start your research.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Communication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window The CQ Library is a subscription-only service that provides Web access to CQ weekly and the CQ researcher.
- Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window A searchable, and ever-expanding, website that spotlights the day-to-day lives of average Americans, past and present A virtual library of thousands of diverse sources: award-winning reference works, primary documents, illustrations, maps A key resource supporting courses in American history and literature.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU has perpetual access to the Arts and Sciences I-XV, Hebrew Journals and Sustainability Collections.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window A Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts and the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
Find Articles
These databases are particularly good for research in Speech, Journalism, Communication issues.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new window An online collection on African American life, The African American Experience is an electronic research tool for African American history and culture. The two primary goals: to provide rock-solid information from authorities in the field, and to allow African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window The American Indian Experience offers access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images. From Pre-contact to the present day, from the Inuit of the north to the Seminoles of Florida, AIE is meant for anyone wishing to learn more about America's Native Peoples.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window With more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete is THE database for journal articles from all disciplines of business. Also includes additional full text content including financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Closed Collection - full text This link opens in a new window PQDT offers access to 3 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Over 80,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.
- ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new window The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic and minority presses in the United States
- Latino American Experience. This link opens in a new window Wide-ranging and easy to use, LAE is the first full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Its content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos.
- MEDLINEplus This link opens in a new window An extensive guide to health information resources. Includes common diseases and conditions, dictionaries, organizations, clearinghouses, publications, directories, consumer health libraries, MEDLINE and other medical databases.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window Formerly PAIS International, this database provides indexing and abstracting of articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
Search Google Scholar
Searching Google Scholar through the library's connection provides you free access to our full-text articles.
Finding a Specific Article
If you are looking for a specific article and you know its Title, the Publication it appeared in and other citation information, you can enter that information into our Citation Linker to see if Wayne State has a copy of it.