Spanish Studies Databases
- Hispanic American periodicals index This link opens in a new windowIndexes more than 500 journals about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
- Latino American Experience. This link opens in a new windowFull-text database which focuses on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Rich in thematic resources and approach.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic and minority presses in the United States. Although fulltext is primarily English (with some Spanish), the 315 publications included reflect a variety of ethnic heritages, with both national and regional coverage. (1990 - present)
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThis large and comprehensive database covers current scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, and folklore. Citations (frequently with links to online fulltext) include items in both English and many other languages.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles about languages and linguistics.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge fulltext collection of back issues of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFulltext database that provides access to journals published by university presses in the humanities and social sciences.
- Portal de Revistas Cientificas de la Universidad Complutense MadridThe full text of over 60 open access scholarly journals from the Universidad Complutense Madrid are provided free of charge here. You can search across all titles, or browse individual issues of these titles from a variety of disciplines.
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. English and some other languages.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowOver 36 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes materials in many languages, as well as manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- Hathi TrustCreated by a consortium of research libraries, this digital repository includes alot of public domain archival material. Many of the links lead to publicly accessible full-text, and digitized content searching to the University of Michigan's contributions is very powerful, with full-text only an hour's drive or an interlibrary loan request away.
- Portals to the World (Library of Congress, Washington DC)Online portal to languages, literatures, libraries, search engines and more from countries all over the world.
- Country Studies (Library of Congress, Washington DC)Historical, social, economic, and political analyses of individual countries.
General Best Bets
These "Best Bets" are large academic databases and include citations on most topics. Skip to the boxes below for more subject-specific options, such as History, Humanities, Newspapers, Social Sciences, etc.
- ArticleFirst This link opens in a new windowThis database contains the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals, mostly in the English language. Many entries link to the full-text of articles. Include the name of a language or country to get articles about it.
- Biography Resource CenterThe Biography Resource Center is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Closed Collection - full text This link opens in a new windowPQDT offers access to 3 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Over 80,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.
- ISI Web of KnowledgeArts & Humanities, Science, and Social Science Citation Indexes are all searched through this single interface, with links to full-text from most citations.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA large and in-depth database that includes the full-text of back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines.
- OCLC FirstSearch electronic collections online This link opens in a new windowFull-text searching for a growing journal collection in a variety of subject areas.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowAn excellent database for gathering pro and con viewpoints on current controversial topics.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals published primarily by university presses.
- ProQuest Multisearch This link opens in a new windowSearch across multiple ProQuest databases at one time.
- FirstSearch (All FirstSearch databases) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive parent database of databases. Enables the user to search nearly any topic from academic and professional journals within each database. Choose any subject or topic to be searched once the database is chosen. Includes journal database (ECO).
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowOver 36 million records of items catalogued in libraries around the world. This database contains books, journal titles, electronic resources, videos, recordings, etc.
History
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowEvery significant English- and foreign-language title printed in the UK during the 18th century, and thousands of important works from the 18th century Americas.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowDigital facsimile page images of almost every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere, from 1473-1700.
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present.
- Humanities & social sciences index retrospective, 1907-1984. This link opens in a new windowImportant journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907, including content from H.W. Wilson’s International Index.
- Iter bibliography This link opens in a new windowAn index to literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal articles, essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
- Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowIndexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Currently includes the years 1963 through 1982. The complete database will eventually cover the years 1890 through 1982, and will reflect the history of 20th century America.
Humanities (Literature, Art, Music, Film, etc.)
- ARTFL project, University of Chicago This link opens in a new windowThe Subscription and Public Databases, as well as the ARTFL Reference Collection, all contain specialized reference tools.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowArts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
- British Humanities Index This link opens in a new windowAn international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, including language and literature.
- FIAF international film archive database This link opens in a new windowIndexes film and television periodicals from the 1970's to the present.
- Iter Italicum This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. An essential tool for classical, medieval, and Renaissance scholars.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive database which covers the modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
- Music index. This link opens in a new windowIndex of 725 international music periodicals from over 40 countries and in 23 languages. Covers all styles and genres of classical and popular music, sorted by subject and geographic location.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowAudio tracks of classical music, historical recordings, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music.If you are prompted for a user name, Wayne's maximum number of users has been reached, and you will have to try again later.
- RILM abstracts of music literature This link opens in a new windowThis index to international music is produced by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale. It includes all data from the RILM printed year 1969 to the present.
- Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new windowUse this directory to find indexes for print sources of journals. Also useful for finding subjects in journal issues that are not online and determining the ISSN of a given journal title. Indicates whether or not a journal is scholarly or peer-reviewed ("refereed").
- Visual Resources Collection This link opens in a new windowOver 100,000 images relevant to the study of art, architecture, history, literature, anthropology, etc. Users can create and save presentations and slideshows for classroom use, embed images and presentations in Blackboard, and search images from the popular photo-sharing site Flickr.
- WSU General Art Collection This link opens in a new windowOne of the largest and most important image archives for the teaching of art history, this collection includes important works from over one hundred museums, including the Louvre, the Musée d'Orsay, the Uffizi, the Prado, the Kunsthistorisches Museum in Vienna, the National Museums in Athens, Rome, and Stockholm, and museums in Berlin. Users can easily create presentations and slideshows with these images.
Newspapers
- New York Times Historical Full-Text This link opens in a new windowConsidered "the U.S. newspaper of record," the New York Times includes international news. Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Note that advertisements can also provide important insights into history.
- New York Times - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.
Social Sciences (Law, Political Science, etc.)
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new windowA large archive of machine-readable social science data, training facilities in basic and advanced techniques of quantitative social analysis, and resources that facilitate the use of advanced computer technology by social scientists.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowA broad range of news, business, legal and reference information.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes of statistical information from the U.S. government, state and private sources, and international organizations. Some full-text and weblinks are provided.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts of articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1963 to the present.
- Legal scholarship network This link opens in a new windowDatabase of published research papers in pdf format in various area of law.
- United Nations Official Document System This link opens in a new windowOfficial full-text repository for documents published by the United Nations dating back to 1992 in all official languages of the United Nations - Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish. The UN Documentation database includes documents back to 1992 and the UN Resolutions database includes resolutions back to 1946.
- Urban studies abstracts This link opens in a new windowBibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies all over the world, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other relevant topics.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations with abstracts of journal articles appearing political science journals from 1975 to the present.
What's an "Academic" Article?
Most databases have a box to check if you want only "Academic" or "Peer-Reviewed" articles. Sometimes you have to decide whether an article fits your Professor's requirements for academic articles. The resources below can help you decide.
- Popular, Trade, or Scholarly? [Handout]A guide to the differences in audience, content and purpose of Popular, Trade and Scholarly publications.
How to Write an Abstract
Although this page from Purdue's OWL is entitled "Writing Report Abstracts," it works just as well for papers:
WSU's College of Liberal Arts and Sciences also has an excellent page on writing Abstracts for students who submit their work to be showcased at the annual Rushton Undergraduate Conference:
Liaison Librarian
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Subjects: Education, Language and Area Studies
Need Help?
Chat or Email
Reference Desks
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094