This pocket-sized book contains virtually all health-related terms likely to occur in a conversation between a health worker and a Spanish-speaking patient, including common colloquialisms and slang terms not found in similar dictionaries.

A comprehensive handbook on the structure of the Spanish language. Keeping technical terminology to a minimum, it provides a detailed yet clear point of reference on all the intricacies of Spanish grammar, covering word order, parts of speech, verb use, syntax, gender, number, alphabet, and pronunciation.

A concise and user-friendly reference guide, this book sets out the complexities of Spanish in short, readable sections, and explanations are clear and free from jargon.

A concise introduction to Spanish grammar, designed for English-speaking undergraduates. Exercises, which include paired and group activities, are suitable for both classroom use and self-study. Each unit is split into two levels, basic and intermediate, making this grammar the perfect accompaniment to any first or second year undergraduate course.

Divided into two parts. Part A covers traditional grammatical categories such as word order, nouns, verbs and adjectives. Part B is carefully organized around language functions and notions such as: Giving and seeking information, putting actions into context, and expressing likes, dislikes and preferences. This is the ideal reference grammar for learners of Spanish at all levels, from elementary to advanced. No prior knowledge of grammatical terminology is assumed and a glossary of grammatical terms is provided.

This guide offers a thirty day revision program that is guaranteed to improve your exam grade. This short revision guide focuses on three key strategies for improving your exam results: 1) Eliminating basic errors and slips of the pen; 2) Increasing and consolidating your vocabulary; 3) Moving on from school-book Spanish.

A handy guide for anyone who needs a fast review of the subject. Comprehensive, yet concise coverage, this review covers the material that students must know to read, write, and speak Spanish.

With a focus on writing as a craft, this book offers a rich selection of original materials including narrative texts, expository essays, opinion pieces and newspaper articles. Each chapter covers a specific kind of writing and is designed to help tackle the material in small units.

Designed for those with no previous experience speaking Spanish, this guide provides nurses, other medical professionals, and students with the tools to communicate with Spanish-speaking patients.

Now in its fourth edition, this widely used textbook is designed for students or professionals in medical fields who have little or no formal background in Spanish. In addition, rich cultural notes explain Latino customs and communication styles.

Spanish for Pediatric Medicine features a quick-reference design that enables the user to rapidly identify and explore common medical situations. English and Spanish equivalents are shown side-by-side for quick reference.

The U.S. Census Bureau's estimate of 132.8 million Hispanics by 2050 makes it crucial for pharmacy professionals to be able to communicate basic medication information to Spanish speakers and to confirm the patient's understanding. Students using this text will learn to communicate basic and more complex information to their patients while learning to enjoy some of the subtleties of the Spanish language and of Hispanic cultures.

With no prior knowledge of Spanish, and this book at your fingertips, you can confidently conduct patient medical history interviews, perform physical examinations, and give medical instructions to Spanish-speaking patients. Carefully constructed to elicit one-word "yes" or "no" answers, Medical Spanish empowers you to obtain, and give, the information you need, without struggling to understand an unfamiliar language or risking errors due to miscommunication.

A language reference for English speaking medical caregivers who need to communicate effectively with Spanish speakers in emergency situations. Translations of a wide array of medical emergencies include phonetic pronunciations of words and phrases and relevant questions that require only "yes" or "no" answers. Diagrams of the human body labeled in Spanish and pages of commonly used words and phrases further facilitate communication and ultimately quicken response time.