Kim Schroeder
Kim Schroeder
Career Advisor
Email: ag1797@wayne.edu
Phone Number: 313-577-9783
Office: Third Floor of Kresge Cube 100.6
Please email Kim Schroeder if you would like one-on-one meetings. These meetings can be about creating a resume, preparing for an interview, or about career goals. Kim provides services to help students in their job search!
General Interview Tips
These are great resources for general interview questions that any SIS student or alum could encounter in job (or internship) interviews.
Kim Schroeder provides services to help students with prepare for job interviews.
Tip from our SIS Student Graduate: "If you lack in-person library job experience, something to highlight from your coursework can be your experience while interviewing a professional in your career."
-
8 interview tips you’ve (probably) never heard beforeKey interview tips from Ask A Manager. These tips are especially for those that are job searching for their first professional role.
-
10 Great Questions to Ask at an Interview10 Great Questions to Ask at Interview from recruiter.com
-
Ask A Manager Posts on InterviewingAsk A Manger has a variety of posts on questions about interviewing.
Consider practicing how you'd answer the tricky questions in these articles.
-
Interview Q&A: Tell Me How You Handled A Difficult Situation at WorkFrom Livecareer.com
-
General Interview Questions ArticlesTopic from Livecareer.com
-
3 Challenging Interview QuestionsAdvice and tips on how to answer interview questions about your weaknesses. Presented by Mock Questions Youtube Channel.
-
The top interview questions designed to eliminate youCarolyn Smith details how to handle tricky interview questions.
-
Library of Interview QuestionsThe University of Arizona provides an appendix of interview questions.
When interviewing it is helpful to be aware of what an interviewer can ask and what would be inappropriate or illegal to ask.
These resource provide example questions that would be inappropriate or illegal with guidance on how you can gracefully handle these situations.
-
How to Handle Illegal or Inappropriate Interview QuestionsThe Balance Careers details interview questions that may be inappropriate or illegal and how to handle them in an interview.
-
Illegal Interview QuestionsYale University provides examples of illegal interview questions and how a job seeker can approach the questions.
-
Illegal Inappropriate Interview QuestionsProfessor Job Offer explains in an video about illegal interview questions and why they are illegal to ask.
Video interviews may need a slightly different approach than in-person or phone interviews.
Always be sure to test the software and device you will be using before the interview.
-
20 Video Interview Tips to Help You Dazzle the Hiring ManagerVideo Interview Tips from TheMuse.com
-
20 Tips for Succeeding During Your Zoom InterviewZoom Interview Tips from the Indeed Editorial Staff.
-
16 Tips for Interviewing via ZoomFrom U.S. News.
-
7 Things You Should Always Do Before a Zoom Job InterviewFrom Apartment Therapy.
-
Zoom Interviews 101Includes several useful tips on choosing clothing colors that are flattering on camera, and zoom background from owllabs.com
Phone interviews can be quite different from in person and video interviews.
Here are some great tips on how to approach phone interviews.
-
25 Phone Interview Tips to Get You to the Next RoundPhone interview tips from Indeed.com, includes video.
-
Phone Interview TipsPhone Interview tips from the interview guys.com
-
How to Prepare for a Phone InterviewHow to Prepare for a Phone Interview from Tallo.com
-
17 Phone Interview Tips to Guarantee a Follow-Up17 Phone Interview Tips to Guarantee a Follow-Up from Inc.
-
Phone Interview Success TipsFrom job-hunt.org
Interview Prep Resources by Concentrations
-
Information Technology Interview QuestionsVariety of IT related interview questions from BetterTeam.com
-
17 Must-Ask Tech Interview QuestionsFrom Robert Half Talent Solutions.
-
Information manager interview questions answersInterview Questions 24/7 presents possible questions and answers for Information Manager job interviews.
-
Data Analyst Interview Questions (Video)Youtube video from the Career Force Youtube channel.
-
The Career Force Channel (Youtube)This Youtube Channel has a variety of videos on career topics related to data science and data analysts.
-
IT Interview Questions And Answers (Video)CareerVidz Youtube Channel presents common IT interview questions.
-
5 Archivist Interview Questions with AnswersYoutube video presented by Mock Questions.
-
DCM Mock Questions and AnswersMock Questions provides 10 mock interview questions and their answers that will come up in a DCM interview.
-
Elementary Librarian Interview Questions, Answers, and TipsElementary Librarian provides an article about how to prepare for an interview to become an Elementary Librarian.
-
Top 15 School Librarian Interview QuestionsZipRecruiter provides the top 15 most common asked questions during a School Librarian interview.
-
School Librarian Interview Matrix PDFThe Association of School Librarians provides a matrix for possible question employers will ask when hiring a new or practicing School Librarian.
-
Sample Library and LIS Interview QuestionsThis google doc gives several examples of typical LIS interview questions.
-
Academic Library Interview ProcessThe ALA gives an overview to the Academic Library interview process--which can be a very different hiring experience from other fields.
-
Check out the Interview Questions Repository!The Hiring Librarians Blog provides a place for job seeking librarians to post their CVs and resumes. The blog also provides information about LIS salary information.
-
Librarian Interview Questions and TipsMy Interview Questions provides tips about how to answer librarians hiring questions for an interview.