Kim Schroeder
Kim Schroeder
Career Advisor
Email: ag1797@wayne.edu
Phone Number: 313-577-9783
Office: Third Floor of Kresge Cube 100.6
Please email Kim Schroeder if you would like one-on-one meetings. These meetings can be about creating a resume, preparing for an interview, or about career goals. Kim provides services to help students in their job search!
Resume Resources
For resume advice tailored to your specialization at SIS click the tabs above.
While you're creating your resume, you'll want to look at job postings to get an idea of the skills and job titles that are most appealing and tailor your resume to your dream job.
The other tabs provide examples for specific careers that can be helpful for your resume.
If you're creating a new resume from scratch or revising your current resume, please consider reading some of these articles.
-
Ask A Manager Resume TopicsAsk A Manger is a career advice blog, and has a variety of posts on crafting the best possible resume.
-
"Delete these eight words from your resume immediately"This article is from Yahoo Finance on words that are typically over-used in resumes.
-
Potential Library & Information Science Job TitlesFrom michellemach.com
-
ALA Employment ResourcesThe American Library Association has a variety of resources and wikis to support your job search.
-
"Remove These Words From Your Resume"Advice on words to avoid using in your resume.
Here are examples and samples of resumes relates to information science.
-
Information Manager Resume SampleExample Resume from velvetjobs.com
-
Records & Information Management Sample ResumeSample Resume from velvetjobs.com
-
Information Management ResumeSample Resume from greatsampleresume.com
Here are samples of resumes related to Archives.
-
Society of American Archivists Resume GuideResume Guide PDF from Archivists.org
-
Archivist Example ResumeArchivist Example Resume jobhero.com
Here are samples of resumes related to Libraries.
Here are samples of resumes related to School media Libraries
-
School Media Specialist Example ResumeSchool Media Specialist Example Resume from Livecareer.com
-
YALSA Job Posting ResourcesYALSA's wiki also contains information on creating resumes
Curriculum Vitae Tips
Here are some tips about how to create a curriculum vitae (CV) and how to use one when job seeking.
The next tab provides examples for you to examine how you would like your CV to look and the type of CV you would like to provide during your job search.
-
CV Resources from the University of KentUniversity of Kent has extensive resources on preparing a CV.
-
Writing a CVPurdue University's Writing Lab explains the differences between a CV and Resume and how to a write a CV.
-
How to Write a CVNational Careers Services explains how to prepare your CV and tips on how to write and improve your CV
-
CV Samples and Writing TipsAn article explaining what a CV is, how to create a CV, how to use a CV, and when to use a CV
-
What to Include in a CVA Quora answer depicting what to include in a CV and what to exclude from a CV
Here are some examples of Curriculum vitae for students to browse through.
-
Canva CV templatesTemplates provided by Canva to create your CV
-
CV Tips and SampleThis documents provides information on how to format your CV and provides samples
-
Skill-Based CVA CV that highlights the skills you have.
-
Academic CV ExampleCV Example for Academic Job seekers
-
Chronological CV ExampleMost used CV type in job seekers
Cover Letter Tips
Kim's Cover Letter Tip: "A cover letter should be tailored to the job position you want to attain."
Below are some resources in how to create a cover letter and how to improve your cover letter.
-
Ask a Manager Cover Letter QuestionsTips and examples of how to write a better cover letter for the position you want to attain.
-
CoverLettersThis site provides samples of cover letters for job seekers to use with tips on how to find a job
-
CollegeGrad: How to Write Entry-Level Cover LettersThis site provides information on what a cover letter is, how to use cover letters, and a checklist of what your cover letter should have.
-
The Muse: Cover Letters Search ResultsArticles about cover letter tips.
-
Guide to Writing a Cover LetterReddit Post from r/datascience describing how to write a cover letter curated to the job you want to attain.
Here are websites that provide examples of cover letters for librarians, archivists, and more.
-
Open Cover LettersAnonymous cover letters provided by librarians and archivists.
-
Hloom Cover Letter ExamplesDifferent examples of cover letters based on profession. This site includes cover letter examples for Computer Science, Data and Systems Administrator, and Graphic and Web Design.