Locate and download articles, reports, and more...
Individuals who cannot access Wayne State University's licensed resources can locate open access, scholarly material on this page.
--------------------------------------------------
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Health Equity This link opens in a new windowThe Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is the national public health agency of the United States. It is a United States federal agency, under the Department of Health and Human Services, and is headquartered in Atlanta, Georgia.
- Clinical Trials.gov This link opens in a new windowProvides patients, family members, health care professionals, and members of the public easy access to information on clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions.
- Directory of open access journals This link opens in a new windowThis service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
- MedEdPORTALMedEdPORTAL is an open-access journal of teaching and learning resources published by the Association of American Medical Colleges and indexed by MEDLINE. All material is reviewed by editorial staff and external peer reviewers. Notable resources include: Opioid, Addiction, and Pain Education and Anti-racism in Medicine.
- MERLOT Materials - ScienceMERLOT is a free online library of OER resources for faculty, students, and learners. Most materials are peer-reviewed or crowd-source reviewed by more than 25 editorial boards of subject matter experts. MERLOT is led by California State University. Notable resources include: BrainFacts.org, GetBodySmart.com, and Cardiac Case Study.
- MIT Open CoursewareMIT Open Courseware is an online publication of much of the course material from MIT. Notable sections for Shiffman Library users are Health Sciences and Technology, Biological Engineering, and Materials Science and Engineering.
- National Library of Medicine This link opens in a new windowThe National Library of Medicine within the National Institutes of Health of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, based in Bethesda, Maryland, provides an overview of its databases and electronic information sources related to biomedical and health sciences. The sources include searchable databases and databanks, bibliographic citations, archival collections, and images.
- Nordic University Health HubNordic University Health Hub is a group of 12 Nordic universities contributing to an open-source digital repository for sharing educational resources, focusing on global Health, public health and medical sciences. Notable sections include their collection on infectious disease and migration.
- OpenMichiganOpen Michigan is run by the University of Michigan Library System and University of Michigan’s Health Information Technology and Services. It is a hub for content created at University of Michigan. Notable resources include sections for M1 and M2 curriculum.
- PLOS (Public Library of Science) This link opens in a new windowLocate open access scholarly and scientific articles and data.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowFree online access to fulltext of life science research articles, provided by the U.S. National Institutes of Health.
Free medical science books
- IntechOpen is an open access publishing hub that contains peer-reviewed books. The main sections of interest to users of Shiffman Medical Library are medical books and pharmacology and toxicology books.
BookShelf by National Library of Medicine
- Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Search, read, and discover.