Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Access & Services: Fall 2022

Searching for Stuff

Homepage for searching

Have a Question?

Talk to a librarian now.

I Need Books and Articles!

Book TitlesI Need to Get a Book! I Need an Article for Class! Are There Course Reserves?

Ebooks and articles are available online whenever and wherever you need them.

Print books can be requested for pick-up. Self-service browsing and retrieval of physical books is also available. 

Your instructor may put books or other materials on Course Reserves for your class. These materials are generally available for 1-3 hour checkout, and may only be used in the library. You can search Course Reserves here.

Finding Materials

We offer a number of search tools for finding books, articles, and other materials in our libraries that you will need.


The QuickSearch box searches for books, articles, and other resources. Use the QuickSearch box here or on the library home page.


Our Summon search tool also searches for books, articles, and more. Use the Summon search box here, or see the link to Summon on the library home page.

Search here for articles, books, and more.


The catalog searches for books, DVDs, and other materials, but not articles. Use the catalog search box here or go to the catalog page to search for books.

Can't Find What You Need?

If you cannot find an article, book, or some other resource that you need for your research, we can try to get it for you from another library free of charge!

Physical borrowing requests can be made via Wayne State’s Interlibrary Services.

If we don’t own a physical item you’re looking for, hop over to MeLCat and search other Michigan libraries’ collections.

No luck in MeLCat, either? Login to your interlibrary loan (ILL) account and fill out a request form for the item.

All physical hold requests can be picked up from the Undergraduate, Shiffman Medical, or Neef Law libraries' front desks.

Any questions? Email Wayne State’s ILL team at wild@wayne.edu

Requesting Materials

If you need a book in our collections, you can make a request and we will retrieve it for you. Requests are typically ready for pick-up within 24-72 hours of making a request. Items will be held for you for ten days. Watch this brief video to learn how to request materials for pick-up.

24/7 Contactless Pickup

The Wayne State University Libraries are now offering contactless 24/7 locker pick up on the Cass side of the Purdy/Kresge Library. At this time, MeL and Interlibrary Loan materials are not available for pickup in the lockers, but may be available in the future. 

To pick up from the lockers: 

  • Find your materials in the catalog, choose request and pick “PURDY/KRESGE LOCKERS” from the pickup location dropdown menu.  
  • Next, you will receive an email from “Package Concierge,” the vendor of the lockers. This first email is a notification that you’ve been registered to access the lockers and includes your username and password. Check your junk or spam folders for this email if it does not appear in your inbox within 1 day of your request. You will also need your password from the first email. 
  • You will receive a second email from Package Concierge with a scannable barcode when the requested item is ready for pickup.  
  • Scan this barcode at the lockers when you come to pick up your material.
  • Be sure to close the locker after removing your materials to complete your transaction. 

Items will be held in the lockers for 10 days. If you have any questions about the request procedure or need access to an accessible locker, call the circulation desk at 313-577-4043 or email circulation@lists.wayne.edu

eBooks

We provide access to thousands of eBooks covering a wide variety of subjects. See our online guide for eBooks at Wayne State University to learn how to find, read, and troubleshoot issues with eBooks available to you through the library.

You can use the QuickSearch, Summon, and Catalog Search boxes on this page or on the library home page to find eBooks. 

If you have any issues finding or connecting to eBooks, contact us for help.

Article Databases

For the more advanced researcher, we offer a wide array of databases

If you are not an advanced researcher and want to learn how to use article databases to really focus your search for highly relevant materials, contact a subject specialist librarian for in-depth help.

Special Collections

Special Collections is open by appointment only

Contact Spec.Collection@wayne.edu for more information.