More Guides: Women in STEM
Databases and Search Engines for Further Study of Women in STEM
Access to these databases is through Wayne State University Library. They are recommended for researching women in STEM:
Education Databases (EBSCOHost)
Also recommended:
Citation & Author Searching for Further Study
Did you find an article on this guide and you want to find more articles on the same topic? A good way to look for additional sources is to do some citation searching, which is a research strategy that helps you find sources from other sources.
Forward Citation Search: Start with an article that you like. How many researchers have cited that article since its publication? This search looks forward in time to see how this article contributed to the scholarly conversation.
- Look up the article by title in Google Scholar. Look for a link that says "Cited by xxxx" and click on it. Look through the list of articles to see if you can find more articles that are similar to the topic of the original article.
- Common databases that will also include "cited by" links include EBSCOHost databases, Web of Science, and Scopus.
Backward Citation Search: Start with an article that you like. Go to the end of the article to see a list of references. All of those references were cited in the article. This search looks backwards in time to see what led to the research in the current article.
Author Citation Search: Researchers usually focus on a narrow area of research. If you find a good article on a specific topic by a person or group, look for other articles that they wrote. Do they have a Google Scholar page that lists all of their publications? [Example]
Subject Headings (Library of Congress)
Academic libraries in the U.S. use Library of Congress subject headings. The Library of Congress offers a guide on how to search library catalogs using subject headings specific to women in science.
For example, using our library catalog's advanced search, this is how you can use Library of Congress subject headings to do a search:
A note on search terms:
Throughout this guide, we use common and Library of Congress standardized search terms that can help you locate relevant sources. These terms (used in headers, titles, abstracts, and descriptions of sources) may imply different meanings to different people.
When conducting and presenting your research, you get to decide what terms to use and how to define them. Being aware that the context of common/standardized terms can help you frame your topic in a way that feels accurate and respectful to you.
Statistics on Women in STEM
Science and Engineering Indicators. Provides reports, tables, topics, and indicators by state. Indicators are prepared under the guidance of the National Science Board by the National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES).
The State of Girls and Women in STEM
The National Girls Collaborative Project (NGCP) provides an infographic titled "State of Girls and women in STEM" that touches on a number of topics covered in this guide. Go to this page and find the button to "Download the PDF" document. The references at the bottom of the document may offer good leads on where to get statistics on girls and women in STEM. Learn more about the NGCP.
More Books
Digital Divas: Putting the Wow into Computing for Girls by
In 2007 a new program was designed by Australian researchers to excite girls' interest in IT. The program was called 'Digital Divas' and it ran in schools as part of the school curriculum. This book details the rationale and motivation for developing 'Digital Divas', the evaluation planning and framework which underpinned both the design of the program and the research, the research approach and data gathered, and the results.
Publication Date: 2016
Girl Code: Gaming, Going Viral, and Getting It Done by
A New York Public Library Best Book of 2017. Perfect for aspiring coders everywhere. Girl Code is the story of two teenage tech phenoms who met at Girls Who Code summer camp, teamed up to create a viral video game, and ended up becoming world famous.
Call Number: Available through MeLCatPublication Date: 2018
Women in Game Development: Breaking the Glass Level-cap by
From programmers to artists, designers to producers, female videogame developers endure not only the pressures of their jobs but also epic levels of harassment and hostility. This book gives voice to talented and experienced female game developers from a variety of backgrounds, letting them share the passion that drives them to keep making games.
Publication Date: 2019
After the War: Us Women in Physics
This book examines the lives and contributions of American women physicists who were active in the years following World War II, during the middle decades of the 20th century. It covers the strategies they used to survive and thrive in a time where their gender was against them.
Publication Date: 2016
Women and Physcis by
This book begins with an examination of the numbers of women in physics in English-speaking countries, moving on to examine factors that affect girls and their decision to continue in science, right through to education and on into the problems that women in physics careers face.
Publication Date: 2016
Women in Microbiology by
Each story is unique, but each woman featured in Women in Microbiology has done so much to expand our knowledge of the natural world while also making it easier for the next generation of scientists to work collaboratively and in an atmosphere where people are judged by their intellect, imagination, skill, and commitment to service regardless of gender or race.
Publication Date: 2018
