Pedagogy Books
Using Children's Literature in Preschool to Develop Comprehension by Call Number: LB 1140.5 .L3 M67 2009ISBN: 9780872074743Publication Date: 2009Aimed at preschool teachers, this book includes information on language arts and reading in the preschool environment. The focus is on reading comprehension and literacy.
More Mirrors in the Classroom by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781475802160Publication Date: 2016Proponents of multicultural education often advocate for instruction with culturally relevant texts to promote inclusion, compassion, and understanding of our increasingly diverse society. Less discussion has focused on the significant body of research that suggests that culturally relevant texts have important effects on language and literacy development. By "connecting the dots" of existing research, More Mirrors in the Classroom raises awareness about the critical role that urban children's literature can play in helping children learn to read and write.
Mathematizing Children's Literature by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781625311580Publication Date: 2022Many teachers use traditional counting and shape books in math class. But what would happen if we approached any story with a math lens? How might mathematizing children's literature give learners space to ask their own questions, and make connections between stories, their lives, and the world around them?
Children's and YA Books in the College Classroom by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780786495023Publication Date: 2015This collection of new essays by educators from a number of disciplines describes how to use such works as Where the Wild Things Are, The Tale of Peter Rabbit, Swamp Thing, Percy Jackson, and Harry Potter to introduce complex concepts and spark interest in difficult subjects. The contributors describe innovative teaching strategies using dystopian fiction, graphic narratives, fairy tales and mythology.
Teaching Fairy Tales by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780814339367Publication Date: 2019Teaching Fairy Tales edited by Nancy L. Canepa brings together scholars who have contributed to the field of fairy-tale studies since its origins. This collection offers information on materials, critical approaches and ideas, and pedagogical resources for the teaching of fairy tales in one comprehensive source that will further help bring fairy-tale studies into the academic mainstream.
Children's Literature in the Reading Program by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781462535828Publication Date: 2018This indispensable teacher resource and course text, now revised and updated, addresses the "whats," "whys," and "how-tos" of incorporating outstanding children's literature into the K-8 reading program. Leading authorities provide advice on selecting texts, building core literacy and literary skills, supporting struggling readers, and maximizing engagement. This title is a copublication with the International Literacy Association.
Journals
- The Reading TeacherThe Reading Teacher (RT) provides the latest peer-reviewed, research-based best practices to literacy educators working with children up to age 12. RT’s classroom-ready articles cover topics from curriculum, instruction, and assessment to strategies for teaching diverse populations of literacy learners.
- Children's Literature in EducationChildren's Literature in Education covers classic and contemporary material, the highbrow and the popular, and ranges across works for very young children through to young adults. It features analysis of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional material, plus studies in other media such as film, TV, computer games, online works; visual narratives from picture books and comics to graphic novels; textual analysis and interpretation from differing theoretical perspectives; historical approaches to the area; reader-response work with children; ideas for teaching children's literature; adaptation, translation and publishing.
Read Write Think
The National Council of Teachers of English hosts the Read Write Think site, which includes a database of classroom resources for literacy education. Search by grade, activity type, or learning objective.
Understanding Early Literacy
Image from the Arizona Department of Education
Helpful Articles
- Using Stories Effectively with Infants and ToddlersThis journal article from the National Association for the Education of Young Children outlines how to present children with story material in a way that boosts early literacy skills.
- 25 Activities for Reading and Writing FunCompiled by the US Department of Education, this list provides lots of ideas for engaging children of all ages to promote their reading and writing skills.
- Extension Activities for Literature LessonsBrowse this list of 25 extension activity ideas for ELA teachers.
- Children's Literature That Sparks Inferential DiscussionsThis article covers findings from a study in a first-grade classroom on how students use inferential thinking in structured book discussions.