William Alfred Boyce Storytelling Collection
The William Alfred Boyce Storytelling Collection was donated by Mrs. Iana Boyce upon the death of her husband Dr. William Boyce, a professor at Wayne State University as well as a professional storyteller (a.k.a. The Story Peddler). Boyce taught courses in Oral Interpretation of Literature, Voice and Diction, Reader's Theatre, and Storytelling - an integral part of Children's Literature. The books in this collection represent some of the best works in the world of storytelling, a tradition as old as mankind. Storytelling is not only an art, but it reveals what is most important in our lives. Read these stories aloud, share them with those around you, or study the history of storytelling through this wonderful collection located on the fourth floor of Purdy Library.
South and North, East and West by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Boyce Juvenile 398.2 So87ISBN: 1564021173Publication Date: 1992-09-01A collection of twenty-five traditional tales from countries around the world, including Iran, Brazil, and Greece.
Favorite Folktales from Around the World by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Boyce Juvenile 398.2 F279ISBN: 0394751884Publication Date: 1988-08-12The world's best folktales, chosen by the internationally known storyteller Jane Yolen. Over 150 tales are compiled from Iceland to Syria, Cuba to Papua.
Stories from the Global Community
Beautiful Painted Arrow by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Boyce Juvenile 398.20972 M574ISBN: 1852303107Publication Date: 1992-04-01Joseph Rael, whose name, Tsluu teh koy ay, given to him as a child at Picuris Pueblo, means "Beautiful Painted Arrow," is widely regarded as one of the great Native American holy men of our time.
Storytellers by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Boyce Juvenile 398.20975 St76ISBN: 0820312673Publication Date: 1991-03-01Storytellers, a rich collection of more than 250 authentic folktales, confirms the oral tradition of the South. Rising out of a shared rural past, the legends and myths, the jests and trickster tales presented here are as diverse and inventive as the tellers themselves.
West Indian Folk-Tales by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Boyce Juvenile 398.209729 Sh54w 1966ISBN: 0192741276Publication Date: 1988-06-30These twenty-one stories are a wonderful mixture of early tales from the Arawak and the Carib people, the original inhabitants of the Caribbean, and from the Ashanti people of West Africa.
Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People's Ears by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Juvenile 398.2 Aa72wISBN: 0803760892Publication Date: 1975-01-01In this Caldecott Medal winner, Mosquito tells a story that causes a jungle disaster.
The Arabian Nights Entertainments by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Boyce Juvenile 398.4 Ar11 L2ISBN: 0486222896Publication Date: 1969-06-0126 magical tales of beautiful princesses, genies who emerge from bottles, and talking birds in: "Aladdin and the Wonderful Lamp," "Sinbad the Sailor," "Noureddin and the Fair Persian," "Merchant of Bagdad," and more.
Irish Hero Tales by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Boyce Juvenile 398 .209415 Sc85irISBN: 0853428689Publication Date: 1989-01-01These tales capture all the magic and mystery of Irish stories and bring Ireland's dim and distant past to life.
East o' the Sun and West o' the Moon by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Boyce Juvenile 398.209481 As16eaISBN: 0486225216Publication Date: 1970-06-01Contains scores of classic Norwegian tales made even more attractive by 77 illustrations by famed children's artists.
Folklore Resources
Need help locating folklore resources in the library catalog? This is a good starting point and some examples are listed below.
A to Z World Superstitions and Folklore by Call Number: Electronic BookPublication Date: 2009A to Z World Superstitions and Folklore : 175 Countries : Spirit Worship, Curses, Mystical Characters, Folk Tales, Burial and the Dead, Animals, Food, Marriage, Good Luck, Bad Luck, Totems and Amulets and Ancestor Spirits.
Theorizing Folklore from the Margins by ISBN: 9780253056085Publication Date: 2021The study of folklore has historically focused on the daily life and culture of regular people, such as artisans, storytellers, and craftspeople. But what can folklore reveal about strategies of belonging, survival, and reinvention in moments of crisis? The curated works in Theorizing Folklore from the Margins offer clear and feasible suggestions for how to ethically engage in the study of folklore with marginalized populations. By focusing on issues of critical race and ethnic studies, decolonial and antioppressive methodologies, and gender and sexuality studies, contributors employ a wide variety of disciplines and theoretical approaches.
Companion to Folklore by Call Number: Electronic BookPublication Date: 2012A Companion to Folklore presents an original and comprehensive collection of essays from international experts in the field of folklore studies. Unprecedented in depth and scope, this state-of-the-art collection uniquely displays the vitality of folklore research across the globe.
Newslore by Call Number: Electronic BookPublication Date: 2011Newslore is folklore that comments on and hinges on knowledge of current events. These expressions come in many forms: jokes, urban legends, digitally altered photographs, mock news stories, press releases or interoffice memoranda, parodies of songs, poems, political and commercial advertisements, movie previews and posters, still or animated cartoons, and short live-action films.
Storytelling Performances
- International Storytelling CenterCheck out the International Storyteller Center's YouTube page to explore over 100 videos of live storytelling performances!
Many Stories but One World - Diane Ferlatte
Diane Ferlatte discusses how storytelling can travel from community to community, and help us to understand each other and our cultures
“The Deaf Tree” ASL Story
"The Deaf Tree" is a traditional Deaf Community story that highlights some of the best elements of American Sign Language storytelling.
Tales from the Longhouse - Perry Ground
Perry Ground tells several stories from "The People Who Built the Longhouse."
The Courage of Dajan Tigh - Rukhsana Khan
Rukhsana Khan shares the Persian story of a boy named Dajan Tigh who faces many tests to win the love of a beautiful princess.
Storytelling Resources
The Story Performance Handbook by Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 0585352623Publication Date: 2000-01-01Provides adults with a straight forward sequence of progressive learning experiences, designed to enable them to develop basic skill in reading aloud & storytelling, while experiencing growth in confidence at every step along the way.
- Guide to Storytelling ResourcesShort list of links to storytelling associations, relevant articles, and videos of storyteller performances.
- StoryCorpsStoryCorps is committed to the idea that everyone has an important story to tell and that everyone’s story matters. Our mission: to help us believe in each other by illuminating the humanity and possibility in us all — one story at a time. Since our founding in 2003, we’ve helped nearly 700,000 people across the country have meaningful conversations about their lives. These recordings are collected in the U.S. Library of Congress and in our online archive which is now the largest single collection of human voices ever gathered.
- Telling Stories That Matter: A Toolkit for Exploring Your Potential as a StorytellerThis toolkit is designed to inspire meaningful conversations with the people involved in and affected by your work. It will help you discover how people have been affected by conflict, continuity, and change.