Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Children's Book Collections
Online Children's Book Collections (MeL Resources)
The following are subscription based digital collections made available through MeL, the Michigan Electronic Library. These are available to all residents of the State of Michigan, and can also be accessed at home, school or public library.
eBook K-8 Collection This link opens in a new window
The eBook K-8 Collection contains fiction and nonfiction books you can read online - for school and for fun. It includes picture books, homework topics, languages learning.
Digital Collections of Historical, Rare or Fragile Children's Books
19th Century Schoolbooks
The University of Pittsburgh's Nietz Old Textbook Collection provides digital editions of 141 schoolbooks and two surveys of historic schoolbooks.
Classic Books read.gov
A selection of classic children's books from the 19th and early 20th centuries, including basal readers.
Eloise Ramsey Collection of Literature for Young People
A selection of fully digitized classic children's books from the 19th and early 20th centuries, from the Wayne State library system's Ramsey Collection.
Literature for Children
Literature for Children is a collection of the treasures of children's literature published largely in the United States and Great Britain from before 1850 to beyond 1950.
Prange Digital Children's Book Collection
Contains 1,608 picture book (ehon) and approximately 2,000 comic book (manga) children's book titles published in Japan between 1945 and 1949.
Transmedia storytelling is the technique of telling a single story or story experience across multiple platforms and formats using current digital technologies.