What are picture books?
"The phrase "picture book" is commonly used to describe a book, most often written for children, in which the content is conveyed through the use of words and pictures in combination or through pictures alone. A picture book differs from an illustrated book in that the pictures it contains form an essential part of the structure of the book. Due to physical factors in the bookbinding process, picture books are conventionally 32 pages long." - Enoch Pratt Free Library
Picture Book Timeline
Explore the Picturing Books Picture Book Timeline!
Look through examples of noteworthy picture books and their creators from the 1700s to the twenty-first century.
Before 1800 - Before 1900 - 1900s - 1910s
Books about Picture Books
Children's Picturebooks by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781786275738Publication Date: 2020Children's picturebooks are the very first book we encounter and play a major role in introducing us to both art and language. But what does it take to create a successful picturebook for children? Children's Picturebooks, Second Edition is the revised edition of a bestselling title that carries invaluable insight into a highly productive, dynamic sector of the publishing world. Featuring interviews with leading illustrators and publishers from across the world, it remains essential reading for students and aspiring children's book illustrators and writers.
Reading Picture Books with Children by ISBN: 9781580897914Publication Date: 2020A new, interactive approach to storytime, The Whole Book Approach was developed in conjunction with the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art and expert author Megan Dowd Lambert's graduate work in children's literature at Simmons College, offering a practical guide for reshaping storytime and getting kids to think with their eyes. Traditional storytime often offers a passive experience for kids, but the Whole Book approach asks the youngest of readers to ponder all aspects of a picture book and to use their critical thinking skills.
Pictured Worlds: Masterpieces of Children's Book Art by 101 Essential Illustrators from Around the World by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781419738982Publication Date: 2023The illustrated children's book came of age in the 18th century alongside the rising middle-class demand for economic and social advancement. Inspired by philosopher John Locke's prescient insights into child development, London publisher John Newbery established the first commercial market for illustrated "juveniles" in the West, and the impact of the model he set for books tailored to the interests and capabilities of young readers has spanned the globe, spurring higher literacy rates, cultural enfranchisement, and a better life for generations of children.
Reading Picture Books with Infants and Toddlers by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781003168812Publication Date: 2023Reading picture books with infants and toddlers facilitates their early language development, with far-reaching benefits for their later reading abilities and academic achievement. While the importance of reading books with children aged from 3 to 5 years is widely recognised, the benefits of reading with much younger children from 0-3 years, who are still engaged in learning their first language, are less well understood. This book will explore the seemingly simple practice of reading picture books with infants and toddlers aged 0-3 years, from a range of perspectives.
Picture Books for Older Readers
- The Multidimensionality of Children's Picture Books for Upper Grades"Picture books are multifaceted and can enhance motivation in the learning process and can be used to integrate aspects of multiple curricula for intermediate and secondary students. In the hands of educators, picture books serve a much greater function than aesthetic reading; they can be a vehicle for the construction of knowledge and for solidifying concepts in a learning environment for older students."
- Picture Books For Older Readers - Lethbridge Public LibraryThe books on this list are great for reading together with the teens or preteens in your family, or for use in a classroom setting. They cover folktales, historical figures and social issues – not to mention silly poems and stories that are just plain fun!
The Caldecott Award
Image courtesy of Mazza Museum
"The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children."
- The Randolph Caldecott MedalExplanation from the Association for Library Services to Children on how the Caldecott Medal came to be.
- Caldecott Medal Books @ WSUThese Caldecott Award and Honor books are available in the Wayne State University Library System.
- January 2016 Subject of the Month - The Caldecott MedalA celebration and exploration of the Caldecott Medal through artwork, books, videos, timelines, and more.
Reading the Art in Caldecott Award Books by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781442239241Publication Date: 2014A practical and easy-to-use reference handbook explaining what makes the art in Caldecott Medal and Honor books distinguished.
Searching for Picture Books
- NoveList K-8 PlusFind just the right book by subject, age level, awards won, Lexile Reading levels, Common Core standards; even books made into movies, and much more.
- Children's Picture Book Database at Miami UniversityA collection of picture book abstracts searchable by topics, concepts, and skills for building content area reading across all academic subjects. The collection contains abstracts of over 5700 picture books for children, preschool to grade three.
- Pratt Free Library Guide to Picture BooksA guide to understanding and selecting picture books from the Enoch Pratt Free Library in Baltimore, Maryland.
Pop-Up Books: Spotlight on Robert Sabuda
- Robert Sabuda - Official WebsiteRobert Sabuda, from the small Michigan town of Pinckney, says "...slowly I discovered that I was a children’s book illustrator. I began to write my own stories and illustrate those as well. Picture books were wonderful but I always hoped that one day I could create a pop-up book, too. So I pulled out my old pop-up books and taught myself how to make even better ones as a grown up!"
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Ramsey Collection 15262ISBN: 0689817517Publication Date: 2000-10-01"Robert Sabuda has created a resplendent pop-up version of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the original publication. This glorious edition is told in a shorter version of L. Frank Baum's original text, with artwork in the style of W. W. Denslow. With sparkling touches of colored foil and Emerald City eyeglasses, this classic tale is certain to find an honored place on the family bookshelf."
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Ramsey Collection 15388ISBN: 0689847432Publication Date: 2003-10-01"Alice's Adventures in Wonderland is Robert Sabuda's most amazing creation ever, featuring stunning pop-ups illustrated in John Tenniel's classic style. The text is faithful to Lewis Carroll's original story, and special effects like a Victorian peep show, multifaceted foil, and tactile elements make this a pop-up to read and admire again and again."
Wordless Picture Books
- Exploring Wordless Picture Books"Wordless picturebooks may be better defined by what they do contain – visually rendered narratives – rather than what they do not contain. This column challenges traditional ways of looking at wordless picturebooks and offers a few approaches for integrating wordless picturebooks into a wider range of classrooms, preschool through middle school."
- Engaging social imagination: The developmental work of wordless book reading"Is children’s use of social imagination visible in wordless book reading, and if so, what does it look like and how might it give us a more detailed in-process view of the reader–text transaction? Results suggest that the use of social imagination is observable in wordless book reading and that it is an integral part of the comprehension of stories."
- Reading Rockets Booklist"Sharing wordless books is a terrific way to build important literacy skills, including listening skills, vocabulary, comprehension and an increased awareness of how stories are structured. And children love them — they can really pore over the pictures and create their own story in their own words. Wordless books can also be used in ELL classrooms and with struggling readers. Explore these books with the young kids you know — and get ready for some creative storytelling!"