The Eloise Ramsey Collection
Named for its originator, Eloise Ramsey, the Eloise Ramsey Collection of Literature for Young People is a collection of rare books and periodicals related to children’s literature from the 17th century to the present, located in the Purdy/Kresge Library. The collection has been expanded over the years with award-winning titles and otherwise outstanding works; whenever possible, recent acquisitions to the collection have been duplicated in the circulating juvenile collection. Books and materials in the collection are listed in the online catalog and are available for use in the Gardner Special Collections and Rare Book Room.
Other Special Collections @ WSU
- Millicent A. Wills Collection of Urban Ethnic MaterialsBegun in 1968 and dedicated in 1990 to former Detroit school teacher Millicent A. Wills, this collection consists of books that deal with urban life and ethnic diversity.
- William Alfred Boyce Storytelling CollectionSome of the best works in storytelling, from the collection of a professional storyteller and WSU professor.
- Mildred Jeffrey Collection of Peace and Conflict ResolutionsFocuses on the issues of international peace, conflict resolution, human rights, environmental studies, and social justice. Though not all books in the collection are intended for young people, this collection does include a significant number of children's books and books about conflict resolution pedagogy.
Digital Collections of Historical, Rare or Fragile Children's Books
- Library of Congress Classic Books CollectionA selection of classic children's books from the 19th and early 20th centuries, including basal readers.
- Literature for ChildrenLiterature for Children is a collection of the treasures of children's literature published largely in the United States and Great Britain from before 1850 to beyond 1950.
- Prange Digital Children's Book CollectionContains 1,608 picture books (ehon) and approximately 2,000 comic books (manga) published in Japan between 1945 and 1949.
- 19th Century SchoolbooksThe University of Pittsburgh's Nietz Old Textbook Collection provides digital editions of 141 schoolbooks and two surveys of historic schoolbooks.
Children's Literature Museums
Image from the Eric Carle Picture Book Museum
United States
- The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art"The mission of The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art, a non-profit organization in Amherst, Massachusetts, is to inspire a love of art and reading through picture books. The only full-scale museum of its kind in the United States, The Carle collects, preserves, presents, and celebrates picture books and picture book illustrations from around the world."
- The Rabbit hOleThe Rabbit hOle is the first museum in the United States dedicated to the celebration of the last centruy of American children's literature. The Kansas City museum also delivers "innovative programming for children and adults, including book-making workshops, writing labs, professional opportunities for educators, exhibit-related performances, national and local author events, residencies, and a multitude of hands-on, literature-based art making activities."
- Mazza Museum"The Mazza Museum is the most diverse collection of original artwork by children’s book illustrators in the world. The museum’s goal is to promote literacy and enrich the lives of all people through the art of picture books."
- National Center for Children's Illustrated Literature"The NCCIL exhibits, tours, collects, preserves and promotes original art from the finest children's literature. Our vision is to inspire and empower children to read and be creative. Through our programming and outreach, the NCCIL actively promotes children's literacy, both art and reading, in the Abilene community and beyond."
International
- JAPAN: International Library of Children's Literature"The International Library of Children’s Literature (ILCL) is a national library dedicated to children’s books, which provides internationally linked library services for children’s literature published in Japan and abroad."
- UNITED KINGDOM: Seven Stories (The National Center for Children's Books)"Seven Stories is a registered educational charity and Arts Council accredited museum. We champion the importance of reading and its lifelong benefits for children and young people through our bespoke educational programmes and free online Collection of over one million items from an archive of children’s literature."
- GERMANY: International Youth Library"The International Youth Library is the world’s largest library for international children’s and youth literature. The IYL is dedicated to supporting international children’s and youth literature through collection, cataloguing, and outreach efforts. The library’s mission is the preservation of cultural diversity as it is manifested in the world’s literature. The Library devotes itself to this task through an annual programme of exhibitions, author readings, workshops, panel discussions, presentations, conferences, and an international literature festival."