Liaison Librarian
Rhonda McGinnis
Contact:
Rm 134 Purdy/Kresge Library
Wayne State University Library System
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-8568
aa4207@wayne.edu
Wayne State University Library System
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-8568
aa4207@wayne.edu
Need Help?
Chat or Email
Reference Desks
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094
Electronic Indexes with Abstracts and/or Fulltext
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowWith more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete is THE database for journal articles from all disciplines of business. Also includes additional full text content including financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index to the world's economic literature (over 300 major economic journals) compiled by the American Economic Association.
Securities & Exchange Filings
- SEC Edgar DatabaseThis site maintained by the Securities and Exchange Commission provides searchable access to the financial data contained in all corporate filings made electronically with the SEC since 1994.
- Descriptions of SEC FormsFrom the S-1 to the through the 8-K and 10-Q to the 13-FE, find out who needs to file and roughly what information can be found within each type of document.
Stock & Mutual Fund Resources
- Google FinanceGoogle Finance offers a broad range of information about North American stocks, mutual funds and public and private companies along with interactive charts, news, ratios, and fundamental financial data.
- Yahoo! FinanceContains pages for companies traded on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ stock exchanges. Each page contains basic company contact information, profile, and stock data plus links to the company's homepage (where available), SEC filings, press releases, and stock quotes & analyses.
- MSN Money InvestingThis site is comparable to Yahoo! Finance and Google: Finance
- Big ChartsA wonderfully comprehensive and easy-to-use online charting Web site. It gives the end-user access to charts, reports, indicators and quotes on over 24,000 US stocks, mutual funds and major market indexes. This site also contains a historical quotes search feature, where one can find the closing price of a stock on a specified date back to 1985
- MorningstarThis site allows one to learn about investing then plan, research, and monitor a portfolio of both stock and mutual funds.
Requires a FREE registration. - About the Dow Jones AveragesProvides current and historical information on the various Dow Jones averages including the component stocks and the day's high, low, and close figures for any date since 1896. There are also timeline graphs showing the reaction of the DJIA to U.S. and world events for each decade of the Twentieth Century.
Financial & Statistical Information
- Mergent FIS Online This link opens in a new windowFully searchable data on more than 10,000 companies on the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq exchanges.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowA market research tool that provides industry overviews, key statistics, and analysis on more than 700 U.S. industries