Wayne State University
Menu
Help
Sign In

Film Studies/Media Studies

This guide is designed to help Film Studies students in the English Department, as well as Media Studies students in the Communication Department.

Featured Resource: Kanopy Streaming

KANOPY is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides access to more than 26,000 films.
Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Link to Kanopy Streaming

WATCH THE CRITERION COLLECTION ONLINE!
The collection includes 350 films.
Since 1984, the Criterion Collection, a continuing series of important classic and contemporary films, has been dedicated to gathering the greatest award-winning early cinema, foreign cinema and Hollywood films from around the world. The foundation of the collection is the work of such masters of cinema as Renoir, Godard, Kurosawa, Cocteau, Fellini, Bergman, Tarkovsky, Hitchcock, Fuller, Lean, Kubrick, Lang, Sturges, Dreyer, Eisenstein, Ozu, Sirk, Bunuel, Powell and Pressburger. Each film is presented uncut, as its maker intended it to be seen.
Link to online films in the Criterion Collection

WATCH CALIFORNIA NEWSREEL DOCUMENTARIES ONLINE!
The California Newsreel Collection features over 160 of the best fims from their library. Included in the collection are impactul films such as Race - The Power of an Illusion, Black Gold, Frantz Fanon: Black Skin, White Mask, and others. California Newsreel produces cutting edge, social justice films that inspire, educate and engage audiences.
Link to online films in the California Newsreel collection

(The above information is from the Kanopy Streaming web site)

Online Video sites

Online Video sites