Links to online archival catalogs and digitized primary source collections related to the early Atlantic world.

Free and open collections of primary source collections on slavery.

Contains links to digital humanities projects and digitized primary resources on Atlantic slavery from global libraries, museums, and archives.

The SlaveVoyages website is a collaborative digital initiative that compiles and makes publicly accessible records of the largest slave trades in history. Search these records to learn about the broad origins and forced relocations of more than 12 million African people who were sent across the Atlantic in slave ships, and hundreds of thousands more who were trafficked within the Americas. Explore where they were taken, the numerous rebellions that occurred, the horrific loss of life during the voyages, the identities and nationalities of the perpetrators, and much more.

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) aggregates digitized materials from libraries, archives, universities, and museums around the U.S. into a searchable hub. This search is for materials in the subject category "slave records". There are many more ways to search DPLA.

Over 18,000 digitized records related to the slave trade and colonial Louisiana.

Over 700,000 pages of freely available digitized documents from Harvard's Widener Library about 17th and 18th century North America.

This website is a digital archive for hundreds of historical images, paintings, lithographs, and photographs illustrating enslaved Africans and their descendants before c. 1900.

Over 5,000 documents digitized from Oberlin College Library's collection related to slavery.

Founded in 1846 and located at Brown University since 1901, The John Carter Brown Library welcomes individuals and communities from around the world to research, learn, and share knowledge about the early Americas through its collections.

Digital repository for digitized media including books, archives, streaming media, podcasts, and websites.

over 165,000 digitized items from the Library of Congress

Papers of the American Slave Trade, Records of the U.S. Customhouses, Port of Savannah Slave Manifests, 1790-1860 consists of inbound and outbound cargo manifests for the port of Savannah, Georgia.

History Vault’s collections on Slavery and Southern plantations candidly document the realities of slavery at the most immediate grassroots level in Southern society, providing some of the most revealing documentation in existence on the functioning of the slave system. Ledgers, correspondence, petitions, photographs, diaries, legal documents, and other materials illuminate this large and momentous chapter in history by documenting the far-reaching impact of slavery on plantations, the American South, and the nation. The events in this category include documentation on the Nat Turner rebellion, the Compromise of 1850 and the Fugitive Slave Act, the Secession Crisis of 1860-1861, and Civil War battles such as the Battle of Gettysburg.

Stretching from Jamaica and the Bahamas to Trinidad and Tobago, Colonial Caribbean makes available materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes from The National Archives, UK. Covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870, this extensive resource includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.

Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across North America and the UK, this resource allows students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice.