Primary Sources
- Gale Primary Sources Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowNineteenth Century Collections Online is a digitized collection of primary sources related to the nineteenth century. Materials within the collection consist of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Four archives are available: "British Politics and Society;" "European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection;" "Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange;" and "British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture."
- Interpreting the Irish Famine, 1846-1850Primary sources including photographs, archival documents, and transcribed diaries
- Digital Irish Famine ArchiveArchive of firsthand accounts of Irish famine refugees in Canada
Topical Summaries
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowA historical reference compendium allows instant access to the texts of the Cambridge Histories series
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Daily Life Through HistoryIrish potato famine summaries available through Daily Life Through History database.
Books and Ebooks
The Graves Are Walking by ISBN: 9780805091847Publication Date: 2012-08-21A magisterial account of one of the worst disasters to strike humankind--the Great Irish Potato Famine--conveyed as lyrical narrative history from the acclaimed author ofThe Great Mortality Deeply researched, compelling in its details, and startling in its conclusions about the appalling decisions behind a tragedy of epic proportions, John Kelly's retelling of the awful story of Ireland's great hunger will resonate today as history that speaks to our own times.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by Call Number: Law Library ReservesISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05On reserve at the Neef Law Library. See also https://guides.lib.wayne.edu/chicago for formatting examples and help.
The Craft of Research, Fourth Edition by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780226239569Publication Date: 2016-10-19
Search Library Books, Ebooks, and Databases with Summon
Library Databases
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Coverage is identical to the expanded edition of the CD-ROM version.
- America: history and life This link opens in a new windowOnline version of: America: history and life. Includes full-text of hundreds of journals originally published in paper.
- Gale Primary Sources Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowNineteenth Century Collections Online is a digitized collection of primary sources related to the nineteenth century. Materials within the collection consist of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Four archives are available: "British Politics and Society;" "European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection;" "Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange;" and "British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture."
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU has perpetual access to the Arts and Sciences I-XV, Hebrew Journals and Sustainability Collections.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowA searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
Interlibrary loan
- Interlibrary loan for books, articles, and multimediaIf WSU Libraries does not have a book or article you need for your research, our staff will purchase or borrow it for you at no cost to you.
Search Google Scholar
Searching Google Scholar through the library's connection provides you free access to our full-text articles.