Historian's Craft: The Radical Right Since 1945
Library Databases
Databases are library resources that help you find scholarly articles about your topic. Each database is usually about a different academic discipline. These are databases that have articles about history in them that might have articles you can use. Look at the descriptions, choose a database, and then try your keywords. it's best to try more than one, since they all have different content.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU has perpetual access to the Arts and Sciences I-XV, Hebrew Journals and Sustainability Collections.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowA searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
- America: history and life This link opens in a new windowOnline version of: America: history and life. Includes full-text of hundreds of journals originally published in paper.
- Left index. This link opens in a new windowThe Left Index is a complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. It is a good place to find significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Historically significant early Left publications such as The People (est. NY 1891), and The Class Struggle (1931-1937) along with classic texts by Marx, Lenin, Trotsky, Engels and others, are also covered.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic and minority presses in the United States
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThe database provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing political science journals. Years of Coverage: 1975 to the present.
- CRS reports This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides the public with access to research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress. By law, CRS works exclusively for Congress, providing timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation. As a legislative branch agency within the Library of Congress, CRS has been a valued and respected resource on Capitol Hill for more than a century. - from site
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowThe CQ Library is a subscription-only service that provides Web access to CQ weekly and the CQ researcher.
Websites
- Southern Poverty Law CenterTracks hate groups in the United States
- Anti-Defamation League Center on ExtremismTracks extremist movements
- FBI.govReports on extremism tracking in US
- George Washington University Project on ExtremismLeading research center on domestic and foreign extremism.
Start Here: Summon
Summon is a library search tool that searches our books, ebooks, newspapers, and scholarly articles for your keywords. It's a great place to start. Type some keywords into the box below.
Books and eBooks
- Right Wing Extremism LC Subject HeadingsList of subcategories of right wing extremism books and ebooks in the WSU library
Primary Sources
- JSTOR Independent Voices Collection"Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals...[that] were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."
- Labadie Collection at University of MichiganArchival collection of materials from anarchist, pacifist, anti-war, and other radical movements.
- Reuther Library at Wayne State UniversityArchival collection of labor history and Detroit history.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window'HathiTrust was conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and the University of California system to establish a repository for these universities to archive and share their digitized collections. Access is provided to many open access works from libraries around the country. Not all works are fully viewable.
- Internet ArchiveDigital repository of millions of digitized documents, books, videos, and audio. Also produces the WayBack machine, an archive of websites from the 1990s-present.
- ProQuest Current & Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowCurrent issues of major newspapers and access to historical newspapers.
- Bentley Historical Library at University of MichiganArchives at University of Michigan focusing on Michigan history