- Ethnic NewswatchFull-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic and minority presses in the United States
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
- Hispanic American periodicals index This link opens in a new windowHispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) includes information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Topics include: current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, from: articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowIndependent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowAfrican American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998, provides online access to 280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
- African American News & IssuesAddressing current and historical realities affecting our community.
- Black America WebBlack America Web provides visitors with relevant news and information produced by original writers and the Black press, and tools that help site visitors make informed decisions that affect their daily lives.
- Good Black NewsWe believe in bringing you positive news and stories of interest about black people all over the world, and truly hope you will help spread the word so we can build and grow our vision together.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowIndependent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
- The Michigan ChronicleFull text online from August 2006 - present.
- News OneNews One is your destination for news and information for and about Blacks in America. Filled with original stories, diverse opinions, photos, videos and polls, let News One be your daily stop and make your voices heard!
- Bay Area ReporterThe longest continuously-published and highest circulation LGBT newspaper in the United States of America.
- Gender: Identity and Social ChangeEssential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
- The Guardian - WomenArticles about women with topics including politics, sex, equality, and more.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowIndependent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
- LGBT News, Video & AnalysisThe latest LGBT news, videos, and analysis from ABC News.
- Pride SourcePublisher of the print newspaper Between The Lines.
- Women's eNews"Women’s eNews reports the stories of women and girls to create a more equitable world."
- artdaily.orgThe first online art newspaper (1996) is chock full of art news and images from around the globe.
- Art in AmericaIncludes several articles online monthly. The library subscribes to the monthly print publication, which is located in Purdy Kresge Library.
- artnetIncludes up to date information on galleries, artists, events, including auctions.
- ARTnewsMerged with Art in America. Now has strong online presence. Publishes the magazine quarterly now.
- The Art NewspaperProvides the latest news and views from the international art world.
- ArtsJournal"The site is a digest of some of the best arts and cultural journalism in the English-speaking world. Each day ArtsJournal features link to stories culled from more than 200 English-language newspapers, magazines and publications featuring writing about arts and culture." (from their web site)
- MutualArt.com"...includes the world's largest online archive of over 150,000 art related articles from over 250 quality magazines, newspapers and journals, as well as providing a conduit for galleries, museums, auction houses, art fairs and publishers..."
(NOTE: paid membership provides full access to all articles, etc.) - Vernissage TV: The Window to the Art World"VernissageTV (VTV) takes you to opening receptions (vernissages) of exhibitions and events. Online, worldwide, on demand. VernissageTV provides insight to the social side of the art world. For you, Vernissage TV is talking with artists in a relaxed style." fromt heir web site
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThe Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue daily news and advice columns, current job listings, articles published since September 1989, discussion forums and career-building tools such as an online CV's, salary databases, and more.
- Teachers College RecordTeachers College Record includes full-text access to all articles for the past ten years plus all articles that have already appeared in print for the current year.
How to: Search a Database for Newspaper Sources
Depending on the database, you may need to refine your results to search for newspaper sources only. In most databases, this can be done by:
- If not on campus, log on with your Access ID and Password when redirected to the EZ Proxy webpage
- Click "Advanced Search" near the search bar
- Look for "Content Type" or "Source Type" or "Publication Type" options
- Click on or check a box that says "Newspaper" or "Newspaper & Periodicals"
- Continue your search terms using the search bar
However, most of the links within this guide will lead you directly to Newspaper refined results of the database.